A Matter of Murder


  • Author: Ann Granger
  • Release Date : 2020-07-09
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 1287237 Bytes


A MATTER OF MURDER is the seventh Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries.Two years ago, Miff Ferguson chose to opt out of the rat race. Since then he's been living rough and happily so. That is until now. For, as the first signs of winter approach, everything changes. While looking for shelter, Miff stumbles across the dead body of a young woman inside a dilapidated warehouse. Quickly realising he's not alone, and what's worse he's been spotted, Miff becomes embroiled in a game of cat-and-mouse with a killer that forces him to abandon his life on the streets and take refuge with his aunt and uncle in the village of Weston St Ambros...

Score: 4
From 102 Ratings

A Matter of Trust


  • Author: Lis Wiehl
  • Release Date : 2013-03-18
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 2000143 Bytes


When life is murder, who can you trust? One minute Mia Quinn is in her basement, chatting on the phone with a colleague at the prosecutor’s office. The next minute she hears a gunshot over the line, and Mia listens in horror as her colleague and friend Colleen bleeds to death.Mia’s a natural for heading up the murder investigation, but these days it’s all she can do to hold her life together. As a new widow with a pile of debts, a troubled teenaged son, and a four-year-old who wakes up screaming at night, she needs more time with her family, not less—and working Colleen’s case will be especially demanding. But Colleen was her friend, and she needs to keep her job. So Mia reluctantly teams up with detective Charlie Carlson to investigate. Bu...

A Matter of Murder

A Matter of Murder


  • Author : Ann Granger
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2020-07-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781472270610


A Matter of Murder Book Description :

A MATTER OF MURDER is the seventh Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries. Two years ago, Miff Ferguson chose to opt out of the rat race. Since then he's been living rough and happily so. That is until now. For, as the first signs of winter approach, everything changes. While looking for shelter, Miff stumbles across the dead body of a young woman inside a dilapidated warehouse. Quickly realising he's not alone, and what's worse he's been spotted, Miff becomes embroiled in a game of cat-and-mouse with a killer that forces him to abandon his life on the streets and take refuge with his aunt and uncle in the village of Weston St Ambro...

Ashes to Ashes Or a Matter of Murder

Ashes to Ashes Or a Matter of Murder


  • Author : Noelle Maptin
  • Publisher : iUniverse
  • Release Date : 2001-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780595211111


Ashes to Ashes Or a Matter of Murder Book Description :

Murder. That’s what Nate thought when he saw Donald’s body at the foot of the stairs. The icy look in the new widow’s eyes confirmed it for him. But the Aferton County Coroner said “accident.” Proving murder, without the autopsy denied by the coroner’s verdict, would be a challenge. But Nate was determined to prove that Donald did not die by accident. And prove it he would, if for no other reason than to show that the coroner was miserably incapable of doing his job. Losing his wife, leaving his home, and quitting his job were merely steps on Nate’s journey to catching a killer. Never in his wildest dreams, could he have known how pursuing this killer would change his life....

The Matter of a Murder of a Maid

The Matter of a Murder of a Maid


  • Author : Elizabeth A. Martina
  • Publisher : Serra Books
  • Release Date : 2020-02-15
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0983975876


The Matter of a Murder of a Maid Book Description :

Two socialite sisters in 1930s Boston take it upon themselves to help the police in crime detection. Armed with fountain pen, notepaper, a Mercedes Benz roadster, and plenty of lipstick, Kate and Betty Hadley can fulfill their dreams of living on the edge of excitement as they hunt for clues, gossip and society pages. They don't have to look for trouble. Trouble just finds them....

Murder Is a Matter of Color

Murder Is a Matter of Color


  • Author : Ronald J. Rich
  • Publisher : AuthorHouse
  • Release Date : 2011-06-28
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781456769840


Murder Is a Matter of Color Book Description :

Murder is a Matter of Color is a racially charged murder mystery , a detective story set in an unnamed city somewhere in the United States. The story contains violence, death, fear, the drug trade, sex, honor, and retribution. The plot centers on a black police officer, Detective Roy Hines, and his struggle to obtain acceptance and inner peace in a bigoted community, while attempting to overcome numerous obstacles thrown in his path. Drugs are distributed from a restaurant, one of the finer dining establishments in the city. The owner, Paul Palmer, is forced under the threat of blackmail and endangerment to his family, to cooperate with the drug dealers. The local drug lord, Neal Peterson, posing as a respectable businessman is blackmailing the owner...

Adventure Tales  5

Adventure Tales 5


  • Author : Achmed Abdullah
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release Date : 2011-10-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781434437440


Adventure Tales 5 Book Description :

The fifth issue of Adventure Tales salutes pulp legend Achmed Abdullah, popular writer in the pulp magazines in the early 20th century, with two long stories -- "Their Own Dear Land" and "The Remittance Woman." Many of his stories deal with ex­otic locales, usually Oriental. But even his Occidental tales are of interest, well written and fast paced, often with an unexpected twist or two. Also included are "The Mid-Watch Tragedy," a Jimmy Lavender detective story by Vincent Starrett, and "The Pearls of Paruki," by J. Allan Dunn. Another great issue!...

Murder in the Vatican

Murder in the Vatican


  • Author : Lucien Gregoire
  • Publisher : AuthorHouse
  • Release Date : 2008
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781434387233


Murder in the Vatican Book Description :

Murder in the Vatican is two books in one book: The Revolutionary Life of John Paul (the only existing biography of the 33-day Pope) and The CIA, Opus Dei and the 1978 Murders. Why two books in one book? Unless one understands the mystery of his life - something the Vatican prefers to keep secret - The Secret Life of John Paul - one will never understand the mystery of his unwitnessed death. This book is in its fourth edition. In that time, I have changed little of what I have said about this good man's life other than to expand my account in this new edition to include stories of his childhood and his young life as a seminarian and as a priest. Yet, the mystery of his death and the deaths of those around him has involved an investigative process tha...

Murder Is a Family Matter

Murder Is a Family Matter


  • Author : Beverley Armstrong-Rodman
  • Publisher : iUniverse
  • Release Date : 2006
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780595386178


Murder Is a Family Matter Book Description :

A fun-filled summer with an old friend-that's what Cassandra Meredith expected. An adventure-filled nightmare was what she got. Cassie and her friend Vickie become involved when a suspicious car crash kills her brother-in-law, and puts her estranged sister into a coma. The would-be sleuths soon have a list of suspects who may have killed for money or revenge. The sudden appearance of a previously unknown Brazilian half-sister muddies the water, while a handsome detective from Cassie's past heats things up. After Cassie's sister changes her will on her death bed, people begin dying at a great rate. With twenty million dollars up for grabs, too many people have a motive for murder. The reading of the will uncovers a long-kept family secret, and precipi...

Murder and Politics in Colonial Ghana

Murder and Politics in Colonial Ghana


  • Author : Richard Rathbone
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release Date : 1993
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0300055048


Murder and Politics in Colonial Ghana Book Description :

In 1943, ritual murder was committed in a large African kingdom in the south of Ghana, then a colony of Great Britain. Palace officials and close kin of a recently deceased king had reputedly killed one of his chiefs in order to smooth the king's passage into the afterlife. This riveting study tells the story of the murder, the trials and appeals of those accused of the crime, and the effect of the case on politics in Ghana and Great Britain. In recounting this fascinating case, the book also provides important insights into law and politics in the colonial Gold Coast, the clash between traditional and modern values, and the nature of African monarchy in the colonial period. Drawing on newly available oral and written evidence from Ghana and Britain,...

The Jordans Murder

The Jordans Murder


  • Author : S. Fowler Wright
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release Date : 2009-02-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781434403124


The Jordans Murder Book Description :

When London solicitor Mr. Jellipot discovers a nude body draped over a fence, its blood drained dry, he immediately consults his friend, Inspector Combridge. The Scotland Yard detective arrests the dead man's illegitimate son, Edward Higgins, who stands to inherit his father's fortune. As the trial begins, it appears that Higgins is doomed to the hangman's noose. But Mr. Jellipot has his own ideas!...