A Nearly Normal Life
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

A Nearly Normal Life


  • Author: Charles L. Mee
  • Release Date : 2013-05-21
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: 956968 Bytes


In the summer of 1953 the author was a carefree, athletic boy of fourteen. But after he collapsed during a school dance one night, he was suddenly bedridden, drifting in & out of consciousness, as his body disintegrated into a shadow of its former self. He had been stricken with spinal polio. When he emerged from the grip of the disease, he was confronted with a life change so enormous that it challenged all he had believed in & forced him, despite his young age, to redefine himself. His once stereotypically normal life, filled with baseball & swimming pools & dreams of girls, had been irreversibly altered. He was almost the same person he had been; he was nearly normal. His moving personal narrative is a textured portrait of life in ...

Nearly Normal
Score: 4.5
From 7 Ratings

Nearly Normal


  • Author: Cea Sunrise Person
  • Release Date : 2017-02-07
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: 4857399 Bytes


NATIONAL BESTSELLER From the author of the bestselling memoir North of Normal comes the harrowing story of a past that won’t let go, and one woman’s attempt to put her life back together after everything falls apartIn her bestselling memoir North of Normal, Cea wrote with grace about her unconventional childhood—her early years living in a tipi in Alberta with her pot-smoking, free-loving counterculture family. But her struggles do not end when she leaves her family at the age of thirteen to become a model. Honest and daring, Nearly Normal reveals the many ways that Cea’s unconventional childhood continues to reverberate through the years. At the age of thirty-seven, Cea has built a life that looks like the normal one she craved as a chi...

A Nearly Normal Life
Score: 2
From 1 Ratings

A Nearly Normal Life


  • Author : Charles L. Mee
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2013-05-21
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316400589


A Nearly Normal Life Book Description :

In the summer of 1953 the author was a carefree, athletic boy of fourteen. But after he collapsed during a school dance one night, he was suddenly bedridden, drifting in & out of consciousness, as his body disintegrated into a shadow of its former self. He had been stricken with spinal polio. When he emerged from the grip of the disease, he was confronted with a life change so enormous that it challenged all he had believed in & forced him, despite his young age, to redefine himself. His once stereotypically normal life, filled with baseball & swimming pools & dreams of girls, had been irreversibly altered. He was almost the same person he had been; he was nearly normal. His moving personal narrative is a textured portrait of life in the fifties - a ...

A Nearly Normal Life
Score: 2
From 1 Ratings

A Nearly Normal Life


  • Author : Charles L. Mee
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2013-05-21
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316400589


A Nearly Normal Life Book Description :

In the summer of 1953 the author was a carefree, athletic boy of fourteen. But after he collapsed during a school dance one night, he was suddenly bedridden, drifting in & out of consciousness, as his body disintegrated into a shadow of its former self. He had been stricken with spinal polio. When he emerged from the grip of the disease, he was confronted with a life change so enormous that it challenged all he had believed in & forced him, despite his young age, to redefine himself. His once stereotypically normal life, filled with baseball & swimming pools & dreams of girls, had been irreversibly altered. He was almost the same person he had been; he was nearly normal. His moving personal narrative is a textured portrait of life in the fifties - a ...

A Nearly Normal Life
Score: 2
From 1 Ratings

A Nearly Normal Life


  • Author : Charles L. Mee
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2013-05-21
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316400589


A Nearly Normal Life Book Description :

In the summer of 1953 the author was a carefree, athletic boy of fourteen. But after he collapsed during a school dance one night, he was suddenly bedridden, drifting in & out of consciousness, as his body disintegrated into a shadow of its former self. He had been stricken with spinal polio. When he emerged from the grip of the disease, he was confronted with a life change so enormous that it challenged all he had believed in & forced him, despite his young age, to redefine himself. His once stereotypically normal life, filled with baseball & swimming pools & dreams of girls, had been irreversibly altered. He was almost the same person he had been; he was nearly normal. His moving personal narrative is a textured portrait of life in the fifties - a ...

Nearly Normal
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

Nearly Normal


  • Author : Cea Sunrise Person
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-02-07
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781443449076


Nearly Normal Book Description :

NATIONAL BESTSELLER From the author of the bestselling memoir North of Normal comes the harrowing story of a past that won’t let go, and one woman’s attempt to put her life back together after everything falls apart In her bestselling memoir North of Normal, Cea wrote with grace about her unconventional childhood—her early years living in a tipi in Alberta with her pot-smoking, free-loving counterculture family. But her struggles do not end when she leaves her family at the age of thirteen to become a model. Honest and daring, Nearly Normal reveals the many ways that Cea’s unconventional childhood continues to reverberate through the years. At the age of thirty-seven, Cea has built a life that looks like the normal one she craved as a child...

A Nearly Normal Family
Score: 4
From 25 Ratings

A Nearly Normal Family


  • Author : M.T. Edvardsson
  • Publisher : Celadon Books
  • Release Date : 2019-06-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250204424


A Nearly Normal Family Book Description :

"...A compulsively readable tour de force." —The Wall Street Journal New York Times Book Review recommends M.T. Edvardsson’s A Nearly Normal Family and lauds it as a “page-turner” that forces the reader to confront “the compromises we make with ourselves to be the people we believe our beloveds expect.” (NYTimes Book Review Summer Reading Issue) M.T. Edvardsson’s A Nearly Normal Family is a gripping legal thriller that forces the reader to consider: How far would you go to protect the ones you love? In this twisted narrative of love and murder, a horrific crime makes a seemingly normal family question everything they thought they knew about their life—and one another. Eighteen-year-old Stella Sandell stands accused of the brutal murde...

Carolyn s Journey

Carolyn s Journey


  • Author : Carl Victor Anderson
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2006-01-01
  • Genre: Parkinson's disease
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1930374232


Carolyn s Journey Book Description :

...

Very Nearly Normal
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Very Nearly Normal


  • Author : Hannah Sunderland
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-05-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008365714


Very Nearly Normal Book Description :

‘Delightfully romantic’ ISABELLE BROOM ‘A compelling, quirky love story’ MIRANDA DICKINSON ‘An unconventional romance – real and raw’ ANNA BELL...

North of Normal
Score: 4
From 8 Ratings

North of Normal


  • Author : Cea Sunrise Person
  • Publisher : Harper Paperbacks
  • Release Date : 2015-06-23
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 006228987X


North of Normal Book Description :

Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person’s compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness—a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival. In the late 1960s, riding the crest of the counterculture movement, Cea’s family left a comfortable existence in California to live off the land in the Canadian wilderness. But unlike most commune dwellers of the time, the Persons weren’t trying to build a new society—they wanted to escape civilization altogether. Led by Cea’s grandfather Dick, they lived a pot-smoking, free-loving, clothing-optional life under a canvas tipi without running water, electricity, or heat ...

Beyond Words

Beyond Words


  • Author : Kathlyn Conway
  • Publisher : UNM Press
  • Release Date : 2013-05-15
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780826353252


Beyond Words Book Description :

“Kathlyn Conway opens primordial questions about the shattering events of illness through close readings of selected illness narratives, proposing that only writing of a daring kind can utter the knowledge of the self-telling body. Wielding her ferocious intellect and braving exposure to self and other, Conway makes original discoveries about writing and illness and, more stunningly, about writing and life. Not a book about illness, this is a book about writing and being. It is taut, brave, unequalled in our scholarship, and true. Conway joins our most powerful investigators of the human predicament of mortality, helping us to see, helping us to live.”—Rita Charon, Columbia University, Program in Narrative Medicine Published accounts of illness...

Breaking Night
Score: 4
From 70 Ratings

Breaking Night


  • Author : Liz Murray
  • Publisher : Hachette Books
  • Release Date : 2010-09-07
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781401396206


Breaking Night Book Description :

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard. Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep. When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four year...