Clark Gable
Score: 4
From 42 Ratings

Clark Gable


  • Author: Warren G. Harris
  • Release Date : 2002-03-26
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: 31557348 Bytes


Clark Gable arrived in Hollywood after a rough-and-tumble youth, and his breezy, big-boned, everyman persona quickly made him the town’s king. He was a gambler among gamblers, a heavy drinker in the days when everyone drank seemingly all the time, and a lover to legions of the most attractive women in the most glamorous business in the world, including the great love of his life, Carole Lombard.In this well-researched and revealing biography, Warren G. Harris gives an exceptionally acute portrait of one of the most memorable actors in the history of motion pictures—whose intimates included such legends as Marilyn Monroe, Joan Crawford, Loretta Young, David O. Selznick, Jean Harlow, Judy Garland, Lana Turner, Spencer Tracy, and Grace Kelly—as we...

Spymistress
Score: 3.5
From 14 Ratings

Spymistress


  • Author: William Stevenson
  • Release Date : 2011-10-11
  • Genre: Military
  • File Size: 7760105 Bytes


The New York Times Bestseller by the Author of A Man Called Intrepid• Ideal for fans of Nancy Wake, Virginia Hall, The Last Goodnight by Howard Blum, The Woman Who Smashed Codes, The Wolves at the Door by Judith Pearson, and similar works• Shares the story of Vera Atkins, legendary spy and holder of the Legion of Honor• Written by William Stevenson, the only person whom she trusted to write her biographyShe was stunning. She was ruthless. She was brilliant and had a will of iron. Born Vera Maria Rosenberg in Bucharest, she became Vera Atkins. William Stphenson, the spymaster who would later be known as “Intrepid”, recruited her when she was twenty-three. Vera spent most of the 1930s running too many dangerous espionage missions to count. Wh...

A People s History of the United States
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

A People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : eBookIt.com
  • Release Date : 2012-11-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781456610814


A People s History of the United States Book Description :

The Abridged Teaching Edition of A People's History of the United States has made Howard Zinn's original text available specifically for classroom use. With exercises and teaching materials to accompany each chapter, this edition spans American Beginnings, Reconstruction, the Civil War and through to the present, with new chapters on the Clinton Presidency, the 2000 elections, and the "War on Terrorism."...

A People s History of the United States

A People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : Aristotext
  • Release Date : 1996
  • Genre: United States
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 :


A People s History of the United States Book Description :

In this Second Edition of this radical social history of America from Columbus to the present, Howard Zinn includes substantial coverage of the Carter, Reagan and Bush years and an Afterword on the Clinton presidency. Its commitment and vigorous style mean it will be compelling reading for under-graduate and post-graduate students and scholars in American social history and American studies, as well as the general reader....

A People s History of the United States
Score: 4
From 3,952 Ratings

A People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2015-11-17
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062466679


A People s History of the United States Book Description :

"A wonderful, splendid book--a book that should be ready by every American, student or otherwise, who wants to understand his country, its true history, and its hope for the future." --Howard Fast With a new introduction by Anthony Arnove, this edition of the classic national bestseller chronicles American history from the bottom up, throwing out the official narrative taught in schools—with its emphasis on great men in high places—to focus on the street, the home and the workplace. Known for its lively, clear prose as well as its scholarly research, A People's History of the United States is the only volume to tell America's story from the point of view of—and in the words of—America's women, factory workers, African-Americans, Native Americ...

A Young People s History of the United States
Score: 4.5
From 11 Ratings

A Young People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : Seven Stories Press
  • Release Date : 2011-01-04
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781583229453


A Young People s History of the United States Book Description :

A Young People's History of the United States brings to US history the viewpoints of workers, slaves, immigrants, women, Native Americans, and others whose stories, and their impact, are rarely included in books for young people. A Young People's History of the United States is also a companion volume to The People Speak, the film adapted from A People's History of the United States and Voices of a People’s History of the United States. Beginning with a look at Christopher Columbus’s arrival through the eyes of the Arawak Indians, then leading the reader through the struggles for workers’ rights, women’s rights, and civil rights during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and ending with the current protests against continued American impe...

A People s History of American Empire
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

A People s History of American Empire


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2008-04
  • Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0805087443


A People s History of American Empire Book Description :

Adapted from the critically acclaimed chronicle of U.S. history, a study of American expansionism around the world is told from a grassroots perspective and provides an analysis of important events from Wounded Knee to Iraq, in a volume created in the format of a graphic novel. Simultaneous. 100,000 first printing....

Voices of a People s History of the United States
Score: 4.5
From 7 Ratings

Voices of a People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher : Seven Stories Press
  • Release Date : 2011-01-04
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1583229477


Voices of a People s History of the United States Book Description :

Here in their own words are Frederick Douglass, George Jackson, Chief Joseph, Martin Luther King Jr., Plough Jogger, Sacco and Vanzetti, Patti Smith, Bruce Springsteen, Mark Twain, and Malcolm X, to name just a few of the hundreds of voices that appear in Voices of a People's History of the United States, edited by Howard Zinn and Anthony Arnove. Paralleling the twenty-four chapters of Zinn's A People's History of the United States, Voices of a People’s History is the long-awaited companion volume to the national bestseller. For Voices, Zinn and Arnove have selected testimonies to living history—speeches, letters, poems, songs—left by the people who make history happen but who usually are left out of history books—women, workers, nonwhites. Z...

Voices of a People s History of the United States
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Voices of a People s History of the United States


  • Author : Howard Zinn
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2004
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39076002540297


Voices of a People s History of the United States Book Description :

Letter, poems, speeches, and essays are collected in this book that tells the story of the United States from the perspective of people left out of history books, such as women, workers, Native Americans, and Latinos....

Before Columbus
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Before Columbus


  • Author : Charles C. Mann
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2009-09-08
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416949008


Before Columbus Book Description :

Based on the startling revelations that the author presented in his adult-level 1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus, this book for young readers is a fascinating full-color journey into the world of the many advanced cultures that populated the Americas before the arrival of European explorers....

A People s History of the World
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

A People s History of the World


  • Author : Chris Harman
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2017-05
  • Genre: Civilization
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781786630810


A People s History of the World Book Description :

"From the Stone Age to the new millenium"--Cover....