A Square Meal
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

A Square Meal


  • Author: Jane Ziegelman & Andrew Coe
  • Release Date : 2016-08-16
  • Genre: Cookbooks, Food & Wine
  • File Size: 3639826 Bytes


James Beard Foundation Book Award WinnerFrom the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the Great Depression—and how it transformed America’s culinary culture.The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country’s political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats. Before 1929, America’s relationship with food was defined by abundance. But the collapse of the economy, in both urban and rural America, left a quarter of all Americans out of work and undernourished—shattering long-held assumptions about the limitlessness of the national larder.In 1933, as women struggled to feed their families, Pre...

Time Zones, Containers and Three Square Meals a Day

Time Zones, Containers and Three Square Meals a Day


  • Author: Maria Staal
  • Release Date : 2010-12-23
  • Genre: Specialty Travel
  • File Size: 268234 Bytes


Deadly pirate attacks and a near collision with an oil tanker are just two of the dangers faced by the crews of today's container ships. 'Time Zones, Containers and Three Square Meals a Day', is the story of life on the high seas, where real adventures still exist.The author recounts her adventures on the container ship ‘MV Serenity River’ in this entertaining narrative travelogue. An unusual trip in a world that is usually hidden from view, and where working and living can become a struggle just because of the constant changing of the clocks. However, lifelong friendships are forged and dolphins play around the ship to the entertainment of everyone on board.But what happens when a hurricane force wind suddenly comes up in the middle of the Atlan...

A Square Meal
Score: 3.5
From 6 Ratings

A Square Meal


  • Author : Jane Ziegelman
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2016-08-16
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062216434


A Square Meal Book Description :

James Beard Foundation Book Award Winner From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the Great Depression—and how it transformed America’s culinary culture. The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country’s political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats. Before 1929, America’s relationship with food was defined by abundance. But the collapse of the economy, in both urban and rural America, left a quarter of all Americans out of work and undernourished—shattering long-held assumptions about the limitlessness of the national larder. In 1933, as women struggled to feed their families, ...

A Square Meal
Score: 3.5
From 5 Ratings

A Square Meal


  • Author : Jane Ziegelman
  • Publisher : Harper
  • Release Date : 2016-08-16
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0062216414


A Square Meal Book Description :

From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the Great Depression—and how it transformed America’s culinary culture. The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country’s political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats. Before 1929, America’s relationship with food was defined by abundance. But the collapse of the economy, in both urban and rural America, left a quarter of all Americans out of work and undernourished—shattering long-held assumptions about the limitlessness of the national larder. In 1933, as women struggled to feed their families, President Roosevelt reversed long-standin...

Ensuring a Square Meal

Ensuring a Square Meal


  • Author : Devasahayam Theresa W
  • Publisher : World Scientific
  • Release Date : 2018-08-20
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9789813231917


Ensuring a Square Meal Book Description :

Research on women and food security in Southeast Asia has been limited. The collection of chapters in Ensuring a Square Meal: Women and Food Security in Southeast Asia is one of the first attempts at providing a lens into the linkages between women and food security at the household, community, national, and transnational levels. More broadly, the chapters examine women's contribution in households, resource distribution to produce food, and the purchasing power to buy food. In analysing the various facets of food security in relation to gender, the analyses focus on the meanings of 'private' and 'public', and the extent to which the effects of the two spheres spill over into each other. Given women's critical role in food production and provision, t...

Ensuring a Square Meal

Ensuring a Square Meal


  • Author : Theresa W. Devasahayam
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2018
  • Genre: BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9813231904


Ensuring a Square Meal Book Description :

...

Three Squares
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Three Squares


  • Author : Abigail Carroll
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2013-09-10
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780465040964


Three Squares Book Description :

We are what we eat, as the saying goes—but we are also how we eat, and when, and where. Our eating habits reveal as much about our national identity as the food on our plates, as food historian Abigail Carroll vividly demonstrates in Three Squares. Reaching back to colonial America, when settlers enjoyed a single, midday meal, Carroll shows how later generations of Americans abandoned this utilitarian habit for more civilized, circumscribed rituals, trading in rustic pottages and puddings for complex roasts, sides, desserts, and—increasingly—processed foods. These new foodstuffs became the staples of breakfast and lunch in the late nineteenth century, and even brought with them a new eating tradition: snacking, which effectively transformed the...

97 Orchard
Score: 3.5
From 17 Ratings

97 Orchard


  • Author : Jane Ziegelman
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2010-06-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0061997900


97 Orchard Book Description :

“Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York’s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.” — Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World 97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits—shopping, cooking, and eating—of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray’s Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the histo...

The John Blake Chronicles

The John Blake Chronicles


  • Author : M. Tefler
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2017-10-05
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1549902911


The John Blake Chronicles Book Description :

You've just found the ultimate erotic science-fiction series!It's 2779 and a retired Terran Federation Marine has taken up life as a trader. Follow John Blake's adventures as he travels the galaxy on his freighter, the "Fool's Gold". This is the first book in a massive epic full of beautiful women, rampaging aliens, gunfights, space combat, and a mysterious heritage that will shake the foundations of the galaxy...A multi-award winning adult space opera by M Tefler....

Square Meals
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

Square Meals


  • Author : Jane Stern
  • Publisher : Random House Incorporated
  • Release Date : 1985-08
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0394741625


Square Meals Book Description :

Presents hundreds of recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks, all based on old pamphlets, product brochures, community cookbooks, and popular cookbooks that first appeared between 1920 and 1960...

Ensuring a Square Meal

Ensuring a Square Meal


  • Author : Devasahayam Theresa W
  • Publisher : World Scientific
  • Release Date : 2018-08-20
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9789813231917


Ensuring a Square Meal Book Description :

Research on women and food security in Southeast Asia has been limited. The collection of chapters in Ensuring a Square Meal: Women and Food Security in Southeast Asia is one of the first attempts at providing a lens into the linkages between women and food security at the household, community, national, and transnational levels. More broadly, the chapters examine women's contribution in households, resource distribution to produce food, and the purchasing power to buy food. In analysing the various facets of food security in relation to gender, the analyses focus on the meanings of 'private' and 'public', and the extent to which the effects of the two spheres spill over into each other. Given women's critical role in food production and provision, t...