Score: 4
From 25 Ratings

The Smell of Other People's Houses


  • Author: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
  • Release Date : 2016-02-23
  • Genre: Coming of Age
  • File Size: 13091296 Bytes


“Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here “[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent. Ruth has a secret that she can’t hi...

The Art of Alfred Hitchcock


  • Author: Donald Spoto
  • Release Date : 1979-10-02
  • Genre: Film
  • File Size: 43993847 Bytes


This definitive illustrated survey of all of Alfred Hitchcock's films is a book no movie buff or Hitchcock fan can afford to be without. The monumental scope of Alfred Hitchcock's work remains unsurpassed by any other movie director, past or present. So many of his movies have achieved classic status that even a partial list—Psycho, The Birds, Rear Window, Vertigo, Spellbound—brings a flood of memories. In this essential text, reissued on the occasion of Hitchcock's centennial, internationally renowned Hitchcock authority Donald Spoto describes and analyzes every movie made by this master filmmaker. Illustrated throughout with shots from each film, The Art of Alfred Hitchcock also includes a storyboard section, a complete filmograp...

A Year of Hitchcock
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

A Year of Hitchcock


  • Author : Jim McDevitt
  • Publisher : Scarecrow Press
  • Release Date : 2009-04-01
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780810863897


A Year of Hitchcock Book Description :

Alfred Hitchcock's career spanned more than five decades, during which he directed more than 50 films, many of them indisputable classics: Notorious, Strangers on a Train, Rear Window, Vertigo, North by Northwest, and Psycho, among others. In A Year of Hitchcock: 52 Weeks with the Master of Suspense, authors Jim McDevitt and Eric San Juan provide a comprehensive examination of Hitchcock's film-to-film development, spanning from the beginning of his career in silents to his final film in 1976, including his work on two French propaganda shorts he directed during World War II and segments he directed for Alfred Hitchcock Presents. Organized into 52 chapters and arranged in chronological order, the book invites readers to spend a year with the director'...

The Art of Alfred Hitchcock

The Art of Alfred Hitchcock


  • Author : Donald Spoto
  • Publisher : New York : Hopkinson and Blake
  • Release Date : 1976
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015059163744


The Art of Alfred Hitchcock Book Description :

A detailed film-by-film analysis of the British-born director's work, from 1935's Thirty-nine Steps to 1976's Family Plot, examining his technique and recurring concerns and assessing his achievement...

Hitchcock s Villains

Hitchcock s Villains


  • Author : Eric San Juan
  • Publisher : Scarecrow Press
  • Release Date : 2013-08-08
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780810887763


Hitchcock s Villains Book Description :

The films of Alfred Hitchcock are appreciated for a variety of reasons, including the many memorable villains who menace the protagonists. Unlike so many of cinema’s wrongdoers, the Hitchcock villain was often a complex individual with a nuanced personality and neuroses the common person might not be able to relate to, but could at least understand. If such figures did not always elicit sympathy from the audience, they still possessed characteristics that were oddly appealing. And frequently, viewers found them more likable than the heroes and heroines whom they victimized. In Hitchcock’s Villains: Murderers, Maniacs, and Mother Issues, authors Eric San Juan and Jim McDevitt explore a number of themes that form the foundation of villainy in Hitch...

Alfred Hitchcock
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

Alfred Hitchcock


  • Author : Patrick McGilligan
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2010-10-19
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062028648


Alfred Hitchcock Book Description :

Alfred Hitchcock: A Life in Darkness and Light is the definitive biography of the Master of Suspense and the most widely recognized film director of all time. In a career that spanned six decades and produced more than 60 films – including The 39 Steps, Vertigo, Psycho, and The Birds – Alfred Hitchcock set new standards for cinematic invention and storytelling. Acclaimed biographer Patrick McGilligan re-examines his life and extraordinary work, challenging perceptions of Hitchcock as the “macabre Englishman” and sexual obsessive, and reveals instead the ingenious craftsman, trickster, provocateur, and romantic. With insights into his relationships with Hollywood legends – such as Cary Grant, James Stewart, Ingrid Bergman, and Grace Kelly ...

The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia

The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia


  • Author : Stephen Whitty
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2016-06-09
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781442251601


The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia Book Description :

Several decades after his last motion picture was produced, Alfred Hitchcock is still regarded by critics and fans alike as one of the masters of cinema. From silents of the 1920s to his final feature in 1976, the director’s many films continue to entertain audiences and inspire filmmakers. In The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia, film critic Stephen Whitty provides a detailed overview of the director's work. This reference volume features in-depth critical entries on each of his major films as well as biographical essays on his most frequent collaborators and discussions of significant themes in his work. For this book, Whitty draws on primary-source materials such as interviews he conducted with associates of the director—including screenwriter Ja...

Hitchcock s America

Hitchcock s America


  • Author : Jonathan Freedman
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 1999-02-25
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0195353315


Hitchcock s America Book Description :

Alfred Hitchcock's American films are not only among the most admired works in world cinema, they also offer some of our most acute responses to the changing shape of American society in the 1940s, 50s, and 60s. The authors of this anthology show how famous films such as Strangers on a Train, Vertigo, North by Northwest, and Rear Window, along with more obscure ones such as Rope, The Wrong Man, and Family Plot, register the ideologies and insurgencies, the normative assumptions and the cultural alternatives, that shaped these tumultuous decades. They argue that, just as these films occupy a visual landscape defined by the grand monuments of American civic life--Mt. Rushmore, the Statue of Liberty, the United Nations--they are also marked by their pre...

The Art of Alfred Hitchcock
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Art of Alfred Hitchcock


  • Author : Donald Spoto
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2010-08-18
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307567147


The Art of Alfred Hitchcock Book Description :

This definitive illustrated survey of all of Alfred Hitchcock's films is a book no movie buff or Hitchcock fan can afford to be without. The monumental scope of Alfred Hitchcock's work remains unsurpassed by any other movie director, past or present. So many of his movies have achieved classic status that even a partial list—Psycho, The Birds, Rear Window, Vertigo, Spellbound—brings a flood of memories. In this essential text, reissued on the occasion of Hitchcock's centennial, internationally renowned Hitchcock authority Donald Spoto describes and analyzes every movie made by this master filmmaker. Illustrated throughout with shots from each film, The Art of Alfred Hitchcock also includes a storyboard section, a complete filmography, and “A Hi...

Hitchcock
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Hitchcock


  • Author : Francois Truffaut
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2015-12-04
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501143229


Hitchcock Book Description :

Iconic, groundbreaking interviews of Alfred Hitchcock by film critic François Truffaut—providing insight into the cinematic method, the history of film, and one of the greatest directors of all time. In Hitchcock, film critic François Truffaut presents fifty hours of interviews with Alfred Hitchcock about the whole of his vast directorial career, from his silent movies in Great Britain to his color films in Hollywood. The result is a portrait of one of the greatest directors the world has ever known, an all-round specialist who masterminded everything, from the screenplay and the photography to the editing and the soundtrack. Hitchcock discusses the inspiration behind his films and the art of creating fear and suspense, as well as giving striking...

Alfred Hitchcock Presents

Alfred Hitchcock Presents


  • Author : John McCarty
  • Publisher : St Martins Press
  • Release Date : 1985-01-01
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0312017103


Alfred Hitchcock Presents Book Description :

Provides the cast, credits, and plot summary for all ten year's of Hitchcock's television series, and recounts how the shows were made...

It s Only a Movie
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

It s Only a Movie


  • Author : Charlotte Chandler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2008-12-09
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781847397096


It s Only a Movie Book Description :

IT'S ONLY A MOVIE is as close to an autobiography by Alfred Hitchcock that you could ever have. Drawn from years of interviews with her subject, his friends and the actors who worked with him on such classics as THE BIRDS, PSYCHO and REAR VIEW WINDOW, Charlotte Chandler has created a rich, complex, affectionate and honest picture of the man and his milieu. This is Hitchcock in his own voice and through the eyes of those who knew him better than anyone could....