America's Original Sin
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

America's Original Sin


  • Author: Jim Wallis
  • Release Date : 2016-01-12
  • Genre: Christianity
  • File Size: 3657072 Bytes


America's problem with race has deep roots, with the country's foundation tied to the near extermination of one race of people and the enslavement of another. Racism is truly our nation's original sin."It's time we right this unacceptable wrong," says bestselling author and leading Christian activist Jim Wallis. Fifty years ago, Wallis was driven away from his faith by a white church that considered dealing with racism to be taboo. His participation in the civil rights movement brought him back when he discovered a faith that commands racial justice. Yet as recent tragedies confirm, we continue to suffer from the legacy of racism. The old patterns of white privilege are colliding with the changing demographics of a diverse nation. The church has been...

Americas Original Sin

Americas Original Sin


  • Author: Arthur I. Montoya
  • Release Date : 2011-09-29
  • Genre: Social Science
  • File Size: 1297560 Bytes


Not all Founding Fathers rested after retirement from the Washington scene. Benjamin Franklin, the old Founder, retired and became an elder statesman and in his last foray into public policy, he became president of the Pennsylvania Society for the Abolition of Slavery and was asked to develop a plan for the introduction of former slaves into American society. In 1789, on behalf of the society, he wrote the following policy statement with an accompanying plan:Slavery is such an atrocious debasement of human nature that its very extirpation, if not performed with solicitous care, may sometimes open a source of serious evilsTo instruct, to advise, to qualify those who have been restored to freedom, for the exercise and enjoyment of civil liberties, to ...

America s Original Sin
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

America s Original Sin


  • Author : Jim Wallis
  • Publisher : Brazos Press
  • Release Date : 2016-01-12
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781493403486


America s Original Sin Book Description :

America's problem with race has deep roots, with the country's foundation tied to the near extermination of one race of people and the enslavement of another. Racism is truly our nation's original sin. "It's time we right this unacceptable wrong," says bestselling author and leading Christian activist Jim Wallis. Fifty years ago, Wallis was driven away from his faith by a white church that considered dealing with racism to be taboo. His participation in the civil rights movement brought him back when he discovered a faith that commands racial justice. Yet as recent tragedies confirm, we continue to suffer from the legacy of racism. The old patterns of white privilege are colliding with the changing demographics of a diverse nation. The church has bee...

America   s Original Sin

America s Original Sin


  • Author : Arthur I. Montoya
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release Date : 2011-07-12
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781462844364


America s Original Sin Book Description :

...

America s Original Sin

America s Original Sin


  • Author : Sojourners Fellowship
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1988
  • Genre: African Americans
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : LCCN:89171144


America s Original Sin Book Description :

...

The  Un Common Good
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Un Common Good


  • Author : Jim Wallis
  • Publisher : Brazos Press
  • Release Date : 2014-05-27
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781441221827


The Un Common Good Book Description :

Jim Wallis thinks our life together can be better. In this timely and provocative book, he shows us how to reclaim Jesus's ancient and compelling vision of the common good--a vision that impacts and inspires not only our politics but also our personal lives, families, churches, neighborhoods, and world. Now available in paperback with a new preface. "Personal/political, religion/politics, faith/power, ideology/pragmatism . . . Jim Wallis is a wrestler of values, ideas, and policies and how they interact to shape the world we live in. His deep, melodious voice is easy to listen to, but what he says takes a harder commitment to live by."--Bono, lead singer of U2; cofounder of ONE.org "Wallis persuades more powerfully here than ever before. . . . He lay...

The Third Reconstruction
Score: 4
From 14 Ratings

The Third Reconstruction


  • Author : William J. Barber (II)
  • Publisher : Beacon Press
  • Release Date : 2016
  • Genre: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780807083604


The Third Reconstruction Book Description :

"In the summer of 2013, Moral Mondays gained national attention as tens of thousands of citizens protested the extreme makeover of North Carolina's state government and over a thousand people were arrested in the largest mass civil disobedience movement since the lunch counter sit-ins of 1960. Every Monday for 13 weeks, Rev. Dr. William J. Barber led a revival meeting on the state house lawn that brought together educators and the unemployed, civil rights and labor activists, young and old, documented and undocumented, gay and straight, black, white and brown. News reporters asked what had happened in state politics to elicit such a spontaneous outcry. But most coverage missed the seven years of coalition building and organizing work that led up to M...

White Trash
Score: 3.5
From 127 Ratings

White Trash


  • Author : Nancy Isenberg
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2016-06-21
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101608487


White Trash Book Description :

The New York Times bestseller A New York Times Notable and Critics’ Top Book of 2016 Longlisted for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction One of NPR's 10 Best Books Of 2016 Faced Tough Topics Head On NPR's Book Concierge Guide To 2016’s Great Reads San Francisco Chronicle's Best of 2016: 100 recommended books A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2016 Globe & Mail 100 Best of 2016 “Formidable and truth-dealing . . . necessary.” —The New York Times “This eye-opening investigation into our country’s entrenched social hierarchy is acutely relevant.” —O Magazine In her groundbreaking bestselling history of the class system in America, Nancy Isenberg upends history as we know it by taking on our comforting myths abou...

The Sin of White Supremacy
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Sin of White Supremacy


  • Author : Fletcher Hill, Jeannine
  • Publisher : Orbis Books
  • Release Date : 2017-08-17
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781608337026


The Sin of White Supremacy Book Description :

How Christian supremacy gave birth to white supremacy -- The witchcraft of white supremacy -- When words create worlds -- The symbolic capital of New Testament love -- The cruciform Christ -- Christian love in a weighted world...

Breaking the Two Party Doom Loop

Breaking the Two Party Doom Loop


  • Author : Lee Drutman
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press, USA
  • Release Date : 2020
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780190913854


Breaking the Two Party Doom Loop Book Description :

"American democracy is in precarious health. Books on tyranny and fascism are now bestsellers. Parents wonder whether their children will still grow up in a democracy. Gallows political humor about the collapse of the republic creeps into ordinary conversation. No longer a shining model for the world, American democracy today strikes a more cautionary note. An anxious pessimism dominates. By every expert judgment, the United States is slipping. In late 2017, the Economist Intelligence Unit downgraded the United States from "full democracy" to "flawed democracy," giving it the same ranking as Italy. In January 2018, Freedom House downgraded its rating of American democracy to 86 (out of 100), just above Poland (85) and Greece (85), but behind Latvia (...

Tears We Cannot Stop
Score: 4
From 8 Ratings

Tears We Cannot Stop


  • Author : Michael Eric Dyson
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release Date : 2017-01-17
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250136008


Tears We Cannot Stop Book Description :

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post • Bustle • Men's Journal • The Chicago Reader • StarTribune • Blavity • The Guardian • NBC New York's Bill's Books • Kirkus • Essence “One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait." —The New York Times Book Review Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as "Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; prof...

The War Before the War
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The War Before the War


  • Author : Andrew Delbanco
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2018-11-06
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525560302


The War Before the War Book Description :

"Excellent...stunning."—Ta-Nehisi Coates The devastating story of how fugitive slaves drove the nation to Civil War A New York Times Notable Book Selection * Winner of the Mark Lynton History Prize* Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award * A New York Times Critics' Best Book For decades after its founding, America was really two nations--one slave, one free. There were many reasons why this composite nation ultimately broke apart, but the fact that enslaved black people repeatedly risked their lives to flee their masters in the South in search of freedom in the North proved that the "united" states was actually a lie. Fugitive slaves exposed the contradiction between the myth that slavery was a benign institution and the reality that a nation base...