Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Student Workbook

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Student Workbook


  • Author : John Pennington
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release Date : 2017-05-22
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1546871152


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Student Workbook Book Description :

The Quick Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and providing a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use them to improve student learning and organization. Students will construct and identify the following areas of knowledge. Character Identification Events Location Vocabulary Main Idea Conflict And more as appropriate to the text. This is a workbook for students to determine the above areas. This is not a study guide, cliff notes, or Teacher's guide....

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Score: 4.5
From 2,376 Ratings

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2012-02-21
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781442408920


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Book Description :

Fifteen-year-old Ari Mendoza is an angry loner with a brother in prison, but when he meets Dante and they become friends, Ari starts to ask questions about himself, his parents and his family that he has never asked before....

Just Call My Name
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

Just Call My Name


  • Author : Holly Goldberg Sloan
  • Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
  • Release Date : 2014-09-01
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781848124134


Just Call My Name Book Description :

Trust is the hardest thing to find . . . and the easiest to lose. Emily Bell has it all. She's in love with a boy named Sam Border, and his little brother has become part of her family. This summer is destined to be the best time of their lives - until a charismatic new girl in town sets her sights on Sam. Now Emily finds herself questioning the loyalty of the person she trusts the most. But the biggest threat to her happiness is someone she never saw coming. Sam's psychopathic father is planning a jailbreak. And he knows exactly where to find Emily and his sons when he escapes. The happily-ever-after of Holly Goldberg Sloan's acclaimed debut I'LL BE THERE is turned on its head in this riveting, emotional drama about friends, enemies and how those ro...

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life
Score: 4.5
From 7 Ratings

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2017-03-07
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780544583528


The Inexplicable Logic of My Life Book Description :

A “mesmerizing, poetic exploration of family, friendship, love and loss” from the acclaimed author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. (New York Times Book Review) Sal used to know his place with his adoptive gay father, their loving Mexican American family, and his best friend, Samantha. But it’s senior year, and suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and realizing he no longer knows himself. If Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he? This humor-infused, warmly humane look at universal questions of belonging is a triumph....

Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood


  • Author : Benjamin Alire S‡enz
  • Publisher : Cinco Puntos Press
  • Release Date : 2011-05-10
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781933693996


Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood Book Description :

As a Chicano boy living in the unglamorous town of Hollywood, New Mexico, and a member of the graduating class of 1969, Sammy Santos faces the challenges of "gringo" racism, unpopular dress codes, the Vietnam War, barrio violence, and poverty....

Last Night I Sang to the Monster
Score: 4.5
From 13 Ratings

Last Night I Sang to the Monster


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Cinco Puntos Press
  • Release Date : 2009-09-01
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1933693797


Last Night I Sang to the Monster Book Description :

"Sáenz' poetic narrative will captivate readers from the first sentence to the last paragraph of this beautifully written novel. . . . It is also a celebration of life and a song of hope in celebration of family and friendship, one that will resonate loud and long with teens."—Kirkus Reviews "…There is never a question of either Sáenz’s own extraordinary capacity for caring and compassion or the authenticity of the experiences he records in this heartfelt account of healing and hope."—Booklist "Offering insight into [an adolescent's] addiction, dysfunction and mental illness, particularly in the wake of traumatic events, Sáenz's artful rendition of the healing process will not soon be forgotten."—Publishers Weekly "Sáenz weaves together...

He Forgot to Say Goodbye
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

He Forgot to Say Goodbye


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2008-06-17
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416974949


He Forgot to Say Goodbye Book Description :

"I mean, it's not as if I want a father. I have a father. It's just that I don't know who he is or where he is. But I have one." Ramiro Lopez and Jake Upthegrove don't appear to have much in common. Ram lives in the Mexican-American working-class barrio of El Paso called "Dizzy Land." His brother is sinking into a world of drugs, wreaking havoc in their household. Jake is a rich West Side white boy who has developed a problem managing his anger. An only child, he is a misfit in his mother's shallow and materialistic world. But Ram and Jake do have one thing in common: They are lost boys who have never met their fathers. This sad fact has left both of them undeniably scarred and obsessed with the men who abandoned them. As Jake and Ram overcome their ...

The Book Of Echoes
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

The Book Of Echoes


  • Author : Rosanna Amaka
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2020-02-27
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473569591


The Book Of Echoes Book Description :

FOR FANS OF BERNADINE EVARISTO'S GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER: A sweeping, uplifting and inspirational story of how a boy from Brixton and a girl from Lagos reinvent their lives in modern-day London. 'So bewitching I almost felt like I time-travelled back into Brixton 1981. A gorgeous book' ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK 'Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting' OBSERVER 'Powerfully redemptive' INDEPENDENT 'Fierce and poignant' TATLER ***************** 1981: England looks forward to a new decade. But on the streets of Brixton, it’s hard to hold onto your dreams, especially if you are a young black man. Racial tensions rumble, and now Michael Watson might land in jail for a crime he did not commit. Thousands of miles away, village girl Ngozi abandons her ora...

Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Cinco Puntos Press
  • Release Date : 2012-10-30
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781935955337


Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club Book Description :

Winner of the 2013 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction! Benjamin Alire Sáenz's stories reveal how all borders--real, imagined, sexual, human, the line between dark and light, addict and straight--entangle those who live on either side. Take, for instance, the Kentucky Club on Avenida Juárez two blocks south of the Rio Grande. It's a touchstone for each of Sáenz's stories. His characters walk by, they might go in for a drink or to score, or they might just stay there for a while and let their story be told. Sáenz knows that the Kentucky Club, like special watering holes in all cities, is the contrary to borders. It welcomes Spanish and English, Mexicans and gringos, poor and rich, gay and straight, drug addicts and drunks, laughter and sadness, and eve...

Daniel s Story
Score: 4.5
From 16 Ratings

Daniel s Story


  • Author : Carol Matas
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 1993
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0590465880


Daniel s Story Book Description :

Daniel, whose family suffers as the Nazis rise to power in Germany, describes his imprisonment in a concentration camp and his eventual liberation....