As Good as Gone
Score: 4
From 7 Ratings

As Good as Gone


  • Author: Larry Watson
  • Release Date : 2016-06-21
  • Genre: Family
  • File Size: 2600523 Bytes


“Honest, warm, humane, and at times shocking, As Good as Gone is an achievement of empathy and dignity.” —Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July CreekCalvin Sidey is always ready to run, and it doesn’t take much to set him in motion. As a young man, he ran from this block, from Gladstone, from Montana, from this country. From his family and the family business. He ran from sadness, and he ran from responsibility. If the gossip was true, he ran from the law. It’s 1963, and Calvin Sidey, one of the last of the old cowboys, has long ago left his family to live a life of self-reliance out on the prairie. He’s been a mostly absentee father and grandfather until his estranged son asks him to stay with his grandchildren, Ann and Will, for a w...

Good as Gone
Score: 3.5
From 155 Ratings

Good as Gone


  • Author: Amy Gentry
  • Release Date : 2016-07-26
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 3373810 Bytes


A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice"So gripping you might start to question your own family’s past." —Entertainment Weekly“[One] of the most anticipated summer thrillers . . . Gentry's novel isn't primarily about the version of the self that comes from a name and a family of origin; instead, it draws our attention to the self that's forged from sheer survival, and from the clarifying call to vengeance.” —New York Times Book Review Anna’s daughter Julie was kidnapped from her own bedroom when she was thirteen years old, while Anna slept just downstairs, unaware that her daughter was being ripped away from her. For eight years, she has lived with the guilt and the void in her family, hoping against hope that Jul...

As Good as Gone
Score: 3.5
From 36 Ratings

As Good as Gone


  • Author : Larry Watson
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release Date : 2016-06-21
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781616206000


As Good as Gone Book Description :

“Honest, warm, humane, and at times shocking, As Good as Gone is an achievement of empathy and dignity.” —Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek Calvin Sidey is always ready to run, and it doesn’t take much to set him in motion. As a young man, he ran from this block, from Gladstone, from Montana, from this country. From his family and the family business. He ran from sadness, and he ran from responsibility. If the gossip was true, he ran from the law. It’s 1963, and Calvin Sidey, one of the last of the old cowboys, has long ago left his family to live a life of self-reliance out on the prairie. He’s been a mostly absentee father and grandfather until his estranged son asks him to stay with his grandchildren, Ann and Will, for a ...

Good As Gone
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Good As Gone


  • Author : Douglas Corleone
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release Date : 2013-08-20
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250017215


Good As Gone Book Description :

Former U.S. Marshal Simon Fisk now works as a private contractor, tracking down and recovering children who were kidnapped by their own estranged parents. He only has one rule: he won't touch stranger abduction cases. He's still haunted by the disappearance of his own daughter years ago when she was just a child, still unsolved, and stranger kidnappings hit too close to home. Until, that is, six-year-old Lindsay Sorkin disappears from her parents' hotel room in Paris, and the French police deliver Simon an ultimatum: he can spend years in a French jail for his actions during a past case, or he can work with them now to find Lindsay Sorkin. So, Simon sets out in pursuit of the missing child and the truth behind her disappearance. But Lindsay's captors...

Good as Gone
Score: 3.5
From 23 Ratings

Good as Gone


  • Author : Amy Gentry
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2016-07-26
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780544916074


Good as Gone Book Description :

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice "So gripping you might start to question your own family’s past." —Entertainment Weekly “[One] of the most anticipated summer thrillers . . . Gentry's novel isn't primarily about the version of the self that comes from a name and a family of origin; instead, it draws our attention to the self that's forged from sheer survival, and from the clarifying call to vengeance.” —New York Times Book Review Anna’s daughter Julie was kidnapped from her own bedroom when she was thirteen years old, while Anna slept just downstairs, unaware that her daughter was being ripped away from her. For eight years, she has lived with the guilt and the void in her family, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive....

Good as Gone

Good as Gone


  • Author : Anna Pottier
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release Date : 2015-03-14
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781459728554


Good as Gone Book Description :

After dropping out of school, 23-year-old Anna Pottier became Layton's fifth and final wife. She was 48 years his junior. As Irving's partner, she shared his world until Parkinson's and early-stage Alzheimer's changed both of their lives, and Pottier had nothing left to give....

As Good as Gone
Score: 3.5
From 36 Ratings

As Good as Gone


  • Author : Larry Watson
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release Date : 2017-06-13
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781616206956


As Good as Gone Book Description :

“Honest, warm, humane, and at times shocking, As Good as Gone is an achievement of empathy and dignity.” —Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek Calvin Sidey is always ready to run, and it doesn’t take much to set him in motion. As a young man, he ran from this block, from Gladstone, from Montana, from this country. From his family and the family business. He ran from sadness, and he ran from responsibility. If the gossip was true, he ran from the law. It’s 1963, and Calvin Sidey, one of the last of the old cowboys, has long ago left his family to live a life of self-reliance out on the prairie. He’s been a mostly absentee father and grandfather until his estranged son asks him to stay with his grandchildren, Ann and Will, for a ...

Last Woman Standing

Last Woman Standing


  • Author : Amy Gentry
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
  • Release Date : 2019-01-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780544962538


Last Woman Standing Book Description :

"In Amy Gentry's follow-up to her acclaimed debut, Good As Gone, two assaulted women make a pact to kill each other's tormentor. But in the fallout, their paranoia grows until neither is sure whom she can trust. At what cost will their vengeance come?"--...

Where She Has Gone
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Where She Has Gone


  • Author : Nino Ricci
  • Publisher : Emblem Editions
  • Release Date : 2016-03-29
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771076565


Where She Has Gone Book Description :

Set in Toronto and Italy, this powerful sequel to In a Glass House explores the sometimes forbidden aspect of desire and one’s longing for what is unrecoverable. Victor Innocente remeets his half-sister in Toronto, shortly after his father’s death. Uneasy with their new proximity in each other’s lives, they are at first restrained. But gradually what is unspoken between them comes closer to the surface, setting in motion a course of events that will take Victor back to Valle del Sole in Italy, the place of his birth. It is there, where the story had its strange beginning twenty years earlier, that he confronts his past, its secrets and its revelations. Poignant, gripping, and written in luminous, highly charged prose, Where She Has Gone is an u...

Good and Gone

Good and Gone


  • Author : Megan Frazer Blakemore
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-11-14
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062348449


Good and Gone Book Description :

Honest and emotionally charged, Good and Gone is the story of a teenage girl who must find her way back to herself as she grapples with the truth of what her boyfriend did to her. A gripping YA that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Sara Zarr. When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a road trip to find a famous musician who’s been reported missing, she’s beyond confused. Her brother hasn’t left the couch since his girlfriend broke up with him months ago—but he’ll hop in a car to find some hipster rocker? Concerned at how he seems to be rebounding, Lexi decides to go along for the ride. Besides, Lexi could use the distraction. The anger and bewilderment coursing through her after getting dumped by her pretentious bo...

Good as Gone

Good as Gone


  • Author : Anna Pottier
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release Date : 2015-03-14
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781459728554


Good as Gone Book Description :

After dropping out of school, 23-year-old Anna Pottier became Layton's fifth and final wife. She was 48 years his junior. As Irving's partner, she shared his world until Parkinson's and early-stage Alzheimer's changed both of their lives, and Pottier had nothing left to give....

Nina Todd Has Gone
Score: 3
From 4 Ratings

Nina Todd Has Gone


  • Author : Lesley Glaister
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release Date : 2013-02-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781408842645


Nina Todd Has Gone Book Description :

Nina Todd is not the sort of person you'd notice - and that's the way she likes it. She lives a quiet life: dull job, dependable boyfriend, no disruptions. When Nina meets Rupert in a hotel, it leads to an empty adulterous encounter that she'd rather forget. But it soon becomes clear that Rupert won't. Is it pure infatuation, or something more sinister? Who is Rupert, and what is the power he holds over her? And who is Nina Todd?...