Score: 4
From 370 Ratings

Before She Knew Him


  • Author: Peter Swanson
  • Release Date : 2019-03-05
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 3723324 Bytes


Catching a killer is dangerous—especially if he lives next doorFrom the hugely talented author of The Kind Worth Killing comes an exquisitely chilling tale of a young suburban wife with a history of psychological instability whose fears about her new neighbor could lead them both to murder . . .Hen and her husband Lloyd have settled into a quiet life in a new house outside of Boston, Massachusetts. Hen (short for Henrietta) is an illustrator and works out of a studio nearby, and has found the right meds to control her bipolar disorder. Finally, she’s found some stability and peace.But when they meet the neighbors next door, that calm begins to erode as she spots a familiar object displayed on the husband’s office shelf. The sports trophy looks ...

Score: 4
From 179 Ratings

Eight Perfect Murders


  • Author: Peter Swanson
  • Release Date : 2020-03-03
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 3441579 Bytes


“Swanson rips us from one startling plot twist to the next… A true tour de force.” —Lisa Gardner"Fiendish good fun." —Anthony HorowitzFrom the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation because a very clever killer has started using his list of fiction’s most ingenious murders.Years ago, bookseller and mystery aficionado Malcolm Kershaw compiled a list of the genre’s most unsolvable murders, those that are almost impossible to crack—which he titled “Eight Perfect Murders”—chosen from among the best of the best including Agatha Christie...

Before She Knew Him
Score: 4
From 18 Ratings

Before She Knew Him


  • Author : Peter Swanson
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release Date : 2019-03-07
  • Genre: Boston (Mass.)
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780571340651


Before She Knew Him Book Description :

'They had a secret; the two of them; and there was no better way to start a friendship than with a secret.'When Hen and Lloyd move into their new house in West Dartford; Mass.; they're relieved to meet; at their first block party; the only other seemingly-childless couple in their neighborhood; Matthew and Mira Dolamore. Turns out they live in the Dutch Colonial immediately next door. When they're invited over for dinner; however; things take a sinister turn when Hen thinks she sees something suspicious in Matthew's study. Could this charming; mild-mannered College Professor really be hiding a dark secret; one that only Hen; whose been battling her own problems with depression and medication; could know about? Lloyd certainly doesn't seem to believe ...

Before She Knew Him
Score: 4
From 17 Ratings

Before She Knew Him


  • Author : Peter Swanson
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2019-03-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062838179


Before She Knew Him Book Description :

Catching a killer is dangerous—especially if he lives next door From the hugely talented author of The Kind Worth Killing comes an exquisitely chilling tale of a young suburban wife with a history of psychological instability whose fears about her new neighbor could lead them both to murder . . . Hen and her husband Lloyd have settled into a quiet life in a new house outside of Boston, Massachusetts. Hen (short for Henrietta) is an illustrator and works out of a studio nearby, and has found the right meds to control her bipolar disorder. Finally, she’s found some stability and peace. But when they meet the neighbors next door, that calm begins to erode as she spots a familiar object displayed on the husband’s office shelf. The sports trophy loo...

Before She Knew Him
Score: 4
From 17 Ratings

Before She Knew Him


  • Author : Peter Swanson
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release Date : 2019-03-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780571340682


Before She Knew Him Book Description :

A Sunday Times and Observer Thriller of the Month, from the bestselling author of The Kind Worth Killing and All the Beautiful Lies 'They had a secret, the two of them, and there was no better way to start a friendship than with a secret.' When Hen and Lloyd move into their new house in West Dartford, Mass., they're relieved to meet, at their first block party, the only other seemingly-childless couple in their neighborhood, Matthew and Mira Dolamore. Turns out they live in the Dutch Colonial immediately next door. When they're invited over for dinner, however, things take a sinister turn when Hen thinks she sees something suspicious in Matthew's study. Could this charming, mild-mannered College Professor really be hiding a dark secret, one that only...

Before I Knew Him

Before I Knew Him


  • Author : Anna Ralph
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2009-11-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781407011165


Before I Knew Him Book Description :

A dark and atmospheric thriller for fans of T M Logan’s LIES and Liz Lawler’s DON’T WAKE UP. Leo Fisch is a young man with a brilliant future ahead of him. He is bright, sociable and on the verge of moving in with his girlfriend, Kathryn. Outwardly, at least, he seems happy. When a sinister discovery is made in a forest near Leo's home town, a figure from childhood re-enters his life. David Caldwell is tough and aggressive – the very opposite of the company Leo now keeps. Unlikely friends, they are bound by a shared summer – and secret – they had sworn to forget. As the past and present begin to collide, the life Leo has built for himself starts to unravel. Now Leo must confront the boy he once was, and the events of that summer which thr...

I Knew Him
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

I Knew Him


  • Author : Abigail de Niverville
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019-04-15
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1950412598


I Knew Him Book Description :

In his senior year of high school, Julian has one goal: be invisible. All he wants is to study hard, play basketball, and pretend he's straight for one more year. Then, he can run away to university and finally tell the world he's bisexual. And by "the world," he means everyone but his mom and best friend. That's two conversations he never wants to have. When he's talked into auditioning for the school's production of Hamlet, Julian fears that veering off course will lead to assumptions he's not ready to face. Despite that, he can't help but feel a connection to this play. His absent father haunts him like a ghost, his ex is being difficult, and he's overthinking everything. It's driving him crazy. The decision to audition leads Julian on an entirely...

As I Knew Him
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

As I Knew Him


  • Author : Anne Serling
  • Publisher : Kensington Publishing Corp.
  • Release Date : 2014-05-01
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780806536743


As I Knew Him Book Description :

"A haunting and beautifully written memoir about the creator of The Twilight Zone." --Robert Redford "Beautifully written. . .I laughed and I cried. I plan to read it again once I catch my breath." --Carol Burnett In this intimate, lyrical memoir about her iconic father, Anne Serling reveals the fun-loving dad and family man behind the imposing figure the public saw hosting The Twilight Zone each week. After his unexpected, early death, Anne, just 20, was left stunned. But through talking to his friends, poring over old correspondence, and recording her childhood memories, Anne not only found solace, but gained a deeper understanding of this remarkable man. Now she shares her discoveries, along with personal photos, revealing letters, and scenes of h...

All the Beautiful Lies
Score: 3.5
From 9 Ratings

All the Beautiful Lies


  • Author : Peter Swanson
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2018-04-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062427076


All the Beautiful Lies Book Description :

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith. Harry Ackerson has always considered his stepmother Alice to be sexy and beautiful, in an "otherworldly" way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years. Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead and the police think it’s suicide. Devastated, Harry returns to his father’s home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help each other pick up of the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father. Shor...

Her Every Fear
Score: 3.5
From 30 Ratings

Her Every Fear


  • Author : Peter Swanson
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-01-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062427045


Her Every Fear Book Description :

Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR The author of the wildly popular The Kind Worth Killing returns with an electrifying and downright Hitchcockian psychological thriller—as tantalizing as the cinema classics Rear Window and Wait Until Dark—involving a young woman caught in a vise of voyeurism, betrayal, manipulation, and murder. The danger isn’t all in your head . . . Growing up, Kate Priddy was always a bit neurotic, experiencing momentary bouts of anxiety that exploded into full blown panic attacks after an ex-boyfriend kidnapped her and nearly ended her life. When Corbin Dell, a distant cousin in Boston, suggests the two temporarily swap apartments, Kate, an art student in London, agrees, hoping that time away in a new place will help her over...

Heifetz as I Knew Him

Heifetz as I Knew Him


  • Author : Ayke Agus
  • Publisher : Hal Leonard Corporation
  • Release Date : 2005
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1574671219


Heifetz as I Knew Him Book Description :

For the last 15 years of Jascha Heifetz's life, Ayke Agus was his closest companion. She came to him as a violin student in his master class at the University of Southern California, but he singled her out when he heard her play the piano. She became his private accompanist and ultimately his assistant and confidante. A sensitive and astute observer, Agus takes up where previous biographers left off; her book is a loving yet unblinking portrait of an aging master by his disciple....

The Little Sleep
Score: 3.5
From 12 Ratings

The Little Sleep


  • Author : Paul Tremblay
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Release Date : 2009-03-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1429919264


The Little Sleep Book Description :

The wickedly entertaining debut featuring Mark Genevich, Narcoleptic Detective Mark Genevich is a South Boston P.I. with a little problem: he's narcoleptic, and he suffers from the most severe symptoms, including hypnagogic hallucinations. These waking dreams wreak havoc for a guy who depends on real-life clues to make his living. Clients haven't exactly been beating down the door when Mark meets Jennifer Times—daughter of the powerful local D.A. and a contestant on American Star—who walks into his office with an outlandish story about a man who stole her fingers. He awakes from his latest hallucination alone, but on his desk is a manila envelope containing risqué photos of Jennifer. Are the pictures real, and if so, is Mark hunting a blackmaile...