Brazillionaires
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

Brazillionaires


  • Author: Alex Cuadros
  • Release Date : 2016-07-12
  • Genre: Economics
  • File Size: 3466858 Bytes


For readers of Michael Lewis comes an engrossing tale of a country’s spectacular rise and fall, intertwined with the story of Brazil’s wealthiest citizen, Eike Batista—a universal story of hubris and tragedy that uncovers the deeper meaning of this era of billionaires.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE FINANCIAL TIMES When Bloomberg News invited the young American journalist Alex Cuadros to report on Brazil’s emerging class of billionaires at the height of the historic Brazilian boom, he was poised to cover two of the biggest business stories of our time: how the giants of the developing world were triumphantly taking their place at the center of global capitalism, and how wealth inequality was changing societies everywhere. The b...

Brazillionaires
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Brazillionaires


  • Author : Alex Cuadros
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2016
  • Genre: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812996760


Brazillionaires Book Description :

When Bloomberg News invited the young American journalist Alex Cuadros to report on Brazil's emerging class of billionaires at the height of the historic Brazilian boom, he was poised to cover two of the biggest business stories of our time: how the giants of the developing world were taking their place at the center of global capitalism, and how wealth inequality was changing societies everywhere. The billionaires of Brazil and their massive fortunes resided at the very top of their country's economic pyramid, and whether they quietly accumulated exceptional power or extravagantly displayed their decadence, they formed a potent microcosm of the world's richest .001 percent. They held sway over the economy, government, media, and stewardship of the e...

The Gringa
Score: 2
From 1 Ratings

The Gringa


  • Author : Andrew Altschul
  • Publisher : Melville House
  • Release Date : 2020-03-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781612198231


The Gringa Book Description :

A gripping and subversive novel about the slippery nature of truth and the tragic consequences of American idealism … Leonora Gelb came to Peru to make a difference. A passionate and idealistic Stanford grad, she left a life of privilege to fight poverty and oppression, but her beliefs are tested when she falls in with violent revolutionaries. While death squads and informants roam the streets and suspicion festers among the comrades, Leonora plans a decisive act of protest—until her capture in a bloody government raid, and a sham trial that sends her to prison for life. Ten years later, Andres—a failed novelist turned expat—is asked to write a magazine profile of “La Leo.” As his personal life unravels, he struggles to understand Leonora...

Bankrupt Representation and Party System Collapse

Bankrupt Representation and Party System Collapse


  • Author : Jana Morgan
  • Publisher : Penn State Press
  • Release Date : 2011
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780271050621


Bankrupt Representation and Party System Collapse Book Description :

"Explores the phenomenon of party system collapse through a detailed examination of Venezuela's traumatic party system decay, as well as a comparative analysis of collapse in Bolivia, Colombia, and Argentina and survival in Argentina, India, Uruguay, and Belgium"--Provided by publisher....

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God


  • Author : Juliana Barbassa
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2015-07-28
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781476756271


Dancing with the Devil in the City of God Book Description :

From prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa comes a deeply reported and beautifully written account of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro as it struggles with poverty and corruption on the brink of the 2016 Olympic Games. Juliana Barbassa moved a great deal throughout her life, but Rio was always home. After twenty-one years abroad, she returned to find her native city—once ravaged by inflation, drug wars, corrupt leaders, and dying neighborhoods—undergoing a major change. Rio has always aspired to the pantheon of global capitals, and under the spotlight of the 2014 World Cup and the 2016 Olympic Games it seems that its moment has come. But in order to prepare itself for the world stage, Rio must vanquish the ...

Dinner with Edward
Score: 3.5
From 78 Ratings

Dinner with Edward


  • Author : Isabel Vincent
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release Date : 2016-05-24
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781616206048


Dinner with Edward Book Description :

A memoir of food and friendship “combining the warm-heartedness of Tuesdays with Morrie with the sensual splendor of Julie and Julia” (Booklist, starred review). Isabel Vincent first arrives at Edward’s New York apartment to check on him as a favor to his daughter. She has no idea that the nonagenarian baking a sublime roast chicken and a light-as-air apricot soufflé will end up changing her life. But their meeting comes at a moment of transition for each of them: Edward wants nothing more than to follow his late wife to the grave, while Isabel is watching her marriage unravel. As Edward and Isabel meet weekly for the glorious dinners that Edward prepares, he shares so much more than his recipes for apple galette or the perfect martini, or eve...

The Cage
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

The Cage


  • Author : Gordon Weiss
  • Publisher : Bellevue Literary Press
  • Release Date : 2012-09-04
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781934137574


The Cage Book Description :

"The Cage is a tightly written and clear-eyed narrative about one of the most disturbing human dramas of recent years. . . . A riveting, cautionary tale about the consequences of unchecked political power in a country at war. A must-read." —Jon Lee Anderson, New Yorker staff writer and author of The Fall of Baghdad In the closing days of the thirty-year Sri Lankan civil war, tens of thousands of civilians were killed, according to United Nations estimates, as government forces hemmed in the last remaining Tamil Tiger rebels on a tiny sand spit, dubbed "The Cage." Gordon Weiss, a journalist and UN spokesperson in Sri Lanka during the final years of the war, pulls back the curtain of government misinformation to tell the full story for the first time...

Tomorrow s Battlefield

Tomorrow s Battlefield


  • Author : Nick Turse
  • Publisher : Haymarket Books
  • Release Date : 2015-04-27
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781608465002


Tomorrow s Battlefield Book Description :

You won’t see segments about it on the nightly news or read about it on the front page of America’s newspapers, but the Pentagon is fighting a new shadow war in Africa, helping to destabilize whole countries and preparing the ground for future blowback. Behind closed doors, U.S. officers now claim that “Africa is the battlefield of tomorrow, today." In Tomorrow’s Battlefield, award-winning journalist and bestselling author Nick Turse exposes the shocking true story of the U.S. military’s spreading secret wars in Africa....

Reinventing Prosperity

Reinventing Prosperity


  • Author : Graeme Maxton
  • Publisher : Greystone Books
  • Release Date : 2016-10-08
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781771642521


Reinventing Prosperity Book Description :

The biggest challenges facing human wellbeing today are widening income inequality, continuing global poverty, and environmental degradation. Luckily, these problems are simple to solve — in theory. In practice, however, they are much harder to solve, because we are required to come up with solutions that are acceptable to a political majority in the rich world. Most of the commonly proposed “solutions” are simply not acceptable to most people. Many of these proposed solutions — like stopping the use of fossil fuels — require a sacrifice today in order to obtain an uncertain advantage in the far future. Therefore they are politically infeasible in the modern world, which is marked by relatively short term thinking. In Reinventing Prosperity...

Cooking with Herb

Cooking with Herb


  • Author : Cedella Marley
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2017-07-25
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780553496451


Cooking with Herb Book Description :

Cedella Marley shows how cannabis can be part of a clean, green, healthy life, and shares tips first-time users and marijuana devotees can use to enhance their wellness routines and favorite recipes with a natural “Marley high.” Cooking with Herb is more than a collection of recipes—it’s a lifestyle book reflecting the Marley Natural brand’s holistic clean living philosophy. Wellness guru Cedella Marley, the daughter of famed reggae legend Bob Marley and the face of the premium cannabis brand, grew up in Jamaica with the familiar scent of The Herb and experienced its restorative and spiritual properties firsthand. Today cannabis still plays a role in her wellness regimen, whether it’s in her hemp-based moisturizer or in a soothing morning...

Shadow Government

Shadow Government


  • Author : Tom Engelhardt
  • Publisher : Haymarket Books
  • Release Date : 2014-09-15
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781608464272


Shadow Government Book Description :

“A book about secrets and surveillance . . . [from] one of the great forces on the side of clarity, democracy, openness, and really good writing” (Rebecca Solnit, author of Hope in the Dark). In 1964, a book entitled The Invisible Government shocked Americans with its revelations of a growing world of intelligence agencies playing fast and loose around the planet, a secret government lodged inside the one they knew that even the president didn’t fully control. Almost half a century later, everything about that “invisible government” has grown vastly larger, more disturbing, and far more visible. In his new book, Tom Engelhardt takes in something new under the sun: what is no longer, as in the 1960s, a national security state, but a global s...