But What If We re Wrong
Score: 3.5
From 331 Ratings

But What If We re Wrong


  • Author : Chuck Klosterman
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2016-06-07
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780399184147


But What If We re Wrong Book Description :

New York Times bestselling author Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain are we about our understanding of gravity? How certain are we about our understanding of time? What will be the defining memory of rock music, five hundred years from today? How seriously should we view the content of our dreams? How seriously should we view the content of television? Are all sports destined for extinction? Is it possible that the greatest artist of our era is currently unknown (or—weirder still—widely known, but entirely disrespected)? Is it possible that we “overrate” democracy? And perhaps most disturbing, is it possible that we’ve reached the end of knowledge? Klosterman visualizes the contemporary world ...

But What If We re Wrong
Score: 3.5
From 331 Ratings

But What If We re Wrong


  • Author : Chuck Klosterman
  • Publisher : Amberley Publishing Limited
  • Release Date : 2016-09-15
  • Genre: Philosophy
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781445663395


But What If We re Wrong Book Description :

What if everything we are most certain about turns out to be totally wrong?...

Being Wrong
Score: 3.5
From 10 Ratings

Being Wrong


  • Author : Kathryn Schulz
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2010-06-08
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061997938


Being Wrong Book Description :

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.” —Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth ...

How To Win Friends and Influence People
Score: 4
From 3,846 Ratings

How To Win Friends and Influence People


  • Author : Dale Carnegie
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2010-08-24
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 145162171X


How To Win Friends and Influence People Book Description :

You can go after the job you want—and get it! You can take the job you have—and improve it! You can take any situation—and make it work for you! Dale Carnegie’s rock-solid, time-tested advice has carried countless people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives. One of the most groundbreaking and timeless bestsellers of all time, How to Win Friends & Influence People will teach you: -Six ways to make people like you -Twelve ways to win people to your way of thinking -Nine ways to change people without arousing resentment And much more! Achieve your maximum potential—a must-read for the twenty-first century with more than 15 million copies sold!...

Bad Blood
Score: 4
From 51 Ratings

Bad Blood


  • Author : John Carreyrou
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2018-05-21
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781524731663


Bad Blood Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY: NPR, The New York Times Book Review, Time, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post • The McKinsey Business Book of the Year The full inside story of the breathtaking rise and shocking collapse of Theranos, the one-time multibillion-dollar biotech startup founded by Elizabeth Holmes—now the subject of the HBO documentary The Inventor—by the prize-winning journalist who first broke the story and pursued it to the end. “The story is even crazier than I expected, and I found myself unable to put it down once I started. This book has everything: elaborate scams, corporate intrigue, magazine cover stories, ruined family relationships, and the demise of a company once valued at ...

The Merchant of Venice
Score: 3.5
From 41 Ratings

The Merchant of Venice


  • Author : William Shakespeare
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 2003-05-01
  • Genre: Drama
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780521532518


The Merchant of Venice Book Description :

The Merchant of Venice has been performed more often than any other comedy by Shakespeare. Molly Mahood pays special attention to the expectations of the play's first audience, and to our modern experience of seeing and hearing the play. In a substantial new addition to the Introduction, Charles Edelman focuses on the play's sexual politics and recent scholarship devoted to the position of Jews in Shakespeare's time. He surveys the international scope and diversity of theatrical interpretations of The Merchant in the 1980s and 1990s and their different ways of tackling the troubling figure of Shylock....

The Visible Man
Score: 3
From 13 Ratings

The Visible Man


  • Author : Chuck Klosterman
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2012-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781439184479


The Visible Man Book Description :

Treating a delusional scientist who has been using cloaking technology from an aborted government project to render himself nearly invisible, Austin therapist Victoria Vick listens to his accounts of spying on the private lives of others, a situation with which Victoria becomes obsessed to the point that it threatens her career and marriage. 125,000 first printing....

Good to Great
Score: 4.5
From 20 Ratings

Good to Great


  • Author : James Charles Collins
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2001
  • Genre: Business
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780712676090


Good to Great Book Description :

Can a good company become a great one and, if so, how?After a five-year research project, Collins concludes that good to great can and does happen. In this book, he uncovers the underlying variables that enable any type of organization to...

The Institute
Score: 4
From 37 Ratings

The Institute


  • Author : Stephen King
  • Publisher : Scribner
  • Release Date : 2019-09-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982110567


The Institute Book Description :

A NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2019 SELECTION From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It. In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke lea...

The Book Thief
Score: 4.5
From 2,623 Ratings

The Book Thief


  • Author : Markus Zusak
  • Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Release Date : 2007-12-18
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0307433846


The Book Thief Book Description :

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF. The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul. Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read. When Death has a story to tell, you listen. It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her ...