Children of the Midnight Sun

Children of the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Tricia Brown
  • Publisher : Graphic Arts Center Publishing Co.
  • Release Date : 2006-10
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780882406176


Children of the Midnight Sun Book Description :

Children of the Midnight Sun was chosen as one of Parenting Magazine's 1998 Books of the Year and School Library Journal's Best Books of 1998. For Native children, growing up in Alaska today means dwelling in a place where traditional practices sometimes mix oddly with modern conveniences. Children of the Midnight Sun explores the lives of eight Alaskan Native children, each representing a unique and ancient culture. This extraordinary book also looks at the critical role elders play in teaching the young Native traditions. Photographs and text present the experiences and way of life of Tlingit, Athabascan, Yup'ik, and other Native American children in the villages, cities, and Bush areas of Alaska....

Children of the Midnight Sun

Children of the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Tricia Brown
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015043798019


Children of the Midnight Sun Book Description :

For Native children, growing up in Alaska today means dwelling in a place where traditional practices sometimes mix oddly with modern conveniences. "Children of the Midnight Sun" explores the lives of eight Alaskan Native children, each representing a unique and ancient culture. This extraordinary book also looks at the critical role elders play in teaching the young Native traditions. 40 color photos....

Child of the Midnight Sun

Child of the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Maud Steinberg
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release Date : 2019-05-15
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1547177896


Child of the Midnight Sun Book Description :

Child of the Midnight Sun is a compelling memoir about a young, innocent Swedish girl, and how her choices to marry for love, outside her culture and religion, impacted her life.Maud grew up in a sheltered evangelical household as a young child, while she lived with her grandparents. When she was taken away from her idyllic surroundings in northern Sweden to live with her mother and her new stepdad in Denmark, her life changed drastically. At seventeen as an au pair girl in England, she met a handsome Muslim, a medical student from Uganda, which changed her life forever. The memoir describes her joys, her struggles to fit in, and her grief of losing loved ones. It's an unusual story about a young woman's journey through a life filled with love, traum...

Under Alaska s Midnight Sun
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Under Alaska s Midnight Sun


  • Author : Deb Vanasse
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2005
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781570614514


Under Alaska s Midnight Sun Book Description :

On the longest day of the year, a young Alaskan girl stays up late and enjoys the midnight sun....

Midnight Sun
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Midnight Sun


  • Author : Trish Cook
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2017-09-07
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781444941791


Midnight Sun Book Description :

Discover a summer love story like no other: now a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne and Patrick Schwarzenegger, and perfect for fans of The Fault in our Stars and Everything, Everything. Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one evening, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie. Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way. A heartbreaking tale of love, loss and one nearly perfect summer....

Land of the Midnight Sun

Land of the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Kenneth Coates
  • Publisher : McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP
  • Release Date : 2005
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0773527575


Land of the Midnight Sun Book Description :

While the Klondike Gold Rush is one of the most widely known events in Canadian history, particularly outside Canada, the rest of the Yukon's long and diverse history attracts little attention. Important developments such as Herschel Island whaling, pre-1900 fur trading, the post-World War II resource boom, a lengthy struggle for responsible government, and the emergence of Aboriginal political protest remain poorly understood. Placing well-known historical episodes within the broader sweep of the past, Land of the Midnight Sun gives particular emphasis to the role of First Nations people and the lengthy struggle of Yukoners to find their place within Confederation. This broader story incorporates the introduction of mammoth dredges that scoured the ...

Blanket Toss Under Midnight Sun

Blanket Toss Under Midnight Sun


  • Author : Paul Seesequasis
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019-10-22
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735273313


Blanket Toss Under Midnight Sun Book Description :

A revelatory portrait of eight Indigenous communities from across North America, shown through never-before-published archival photographs--a gorgeous extension of Paul Seesequasis's popular social media project. In 2015, writer and journalist Paul Seesequasis found himself grappling with the devastating findings of Canada's Truth and Reconciliation Commission report on the residential school system. He sought understanding and inspiration in the stories of his mother, herself a residential school survivor. Gradually, Paul realized that another, mostly untold history existed alongside the official one: that of how Indigenous peoples and communities had held together during even the most difficult times. He embarked on a social media project to collec...

Midnight Sun

Midnight Sun


  • Author : Sasha Josri
  • Publisher : Partridge Publishing Singapore
  • Release Date : 2019-08-14
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781543752229


Midnight Sun Book Description :

This book was born from an idyllic love of youth. An honest love filled with firsts and dripping in honeyed romantic cliché; but if it was born in innocence – The sublimity was forged in the stark reality of loss, the hollow sound of a lonely apartment and the fragments of shattered glass. These are my words, may each page gently breathe life into the wistful dreams of anyone who has ever had the courage to rise up and open their heart once again....

Land of the Midnight Sun
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

Land of the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Alexander Armstrong
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2015-10-08
  • Genre: Travel
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473526389


Land of the Midnight Sun Book Description :

In an adventure of a lifetime, Alexander Armstrong wraps up warm and heads ever north to explore the hostile Arctic winter – the glittering landscape of Scandinavia, the isolated islands of Iceland and Greenland, and the final frontier of Canada and Alaska. Along the way he learns from the Marines how to survive sub-zero temperatures by eating for England, takes a white-knuckle drive along a treacherous 800-mile road that's a river in summer and, with great reluctance, strips off for a dip in the freezing Arctic waters - and that’s all before wrestling Viking-style with a sporting legend called Eva as part of an Icelandic winter festival. Sharing the wonder of the Arctic in his inimitable style, Land of the Midnight Sun is a brilliantly entertain...

The Siesta and the Midnight Sun
Score: 3
From 1 Ratings

The Siesta and the Midnight Sun


  • Author : Jessa Gamble
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release Date : 2011-10-11
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143185857


The Siesta and the Midnight Sun Book Description :

When a retiring worker is given a gold watch, Jessa Gamble observes, she symbolically gets back the freedom to keep her own hours. There were no mechanical timepieces before the industrial revolution. The day’s activities were dictated by the spinning Earth’s circuit around the Sun and by the seasons. Because people adjusted their lives to these natural rhythms, they may have experienced less stress than their modern counterparts. They almost certainly enjoyed more sleep. In The Siesta and the Midnight Sun, award-winning science writer Jessa Gamble explores the continuing significance of the biological clocks that governed our lives before modern technology annihilated the night. She describes experiments that show both rats and people adhere to ...