Score: 4
From 25,478 Ratings

Winnie the Pooh


  • Author: A. A. Milne & Ernest H. Shepard
  • Release Date : 2009-09-03
  • Genre: Classics
  • File Size: 15042458 Bytes


Happy 90th birthday, to one of the world's most beloved icons of children's literature, Winnie-the-Pooh! The adventures of Pooh and Piglet, Kanga and tiny Roo, Owl, Rabbit, and the ever doleful Eeyore are timeless treasures of childhood. In this beautiful edition of Winnie-the-Pooh, each of Ernest H. Shepard's beloved original illustrations has been meticulously hand painted. Bright in color and elegant in design, this lovely volume of Milne's classic tales welcomes friends old and new into the most enchanted of places, the Hundred Acre Wood....

Score: 4
From 1,794 Ratings

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer


  • Author: Mark Twain
  • Release Date : 2011-02-08
  • Genre: Classics
  • File Size: 20810041 Bytes


Living along the Mississippi River in the 1840s, Aunt Polly raises three playful children—Tom, Sid, and Mary. Like most boys his age, Tom is adventurous, which is just another way of saying he gets into trouble. Yet Tom and his partner-in-crime, Huck Finn, get in over their heads when they witness a murder in a graveyard. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is an extraordinary classic of a young man’s creativity and affection, society’s hypocrisy, and the anxiety of an unpredictable world which has resonated through American culture for the past century. We can find a mischievous young child longing for an adventure somewhere within us all....

How Children Succeed
Score: 3.5
From 19 Ratings

How Children Succeed


  • Author : Paul Tough
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2012
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780547564654


How Children Succeed Book Description :

Challenges conventional views about standardized testing to argue that success is more determined by self-discipline, and describes the work of pioneering researchers and educators who have enabled effective new teaching methods....

Children and Nature

Children and Nature


  • Author : Peter H. Kahn Jr.
  • Publisher : MIT Press
  • Release Date : 2002-05-03
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0262250128


Children and Nature Book Description :

For much of human evolution, the natural world was one of the most important contexts of children's maturation. Indeed, the experience of nature was, and still may be, a critical component of human physical, emotional, intellectual, and even moral development. Yet scientific knowledge of the significance of nature during the different stages of childhood is sparse. This book provides scientific investigations and thought-provoking essays on children and nature. Children and Nature incorporates research from cognitive science, developmental psychology, ecology, education, environmental studies, evolutionary psychology, political science, primatology, psychiatry, and social psychology. The authors examine the evolutionary significance of nature during ...

The Children of Aataentsic

The Children of Aataentsic


  • Author : Bruce G. Trigger
  • Publisher : McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP
  • Release Date : 1987
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0773506276


The Children of Aataentsic Book Description :

The Children of Aataentsic is both a full-scale ethnohistory of the Huron Indian confederacy and a far-reaching study of the causes of its collapse under the impact of the Iroquois attacks of 1649. Drawing upon the archaeological context, the ethnography presented by early explorers and missionaries, and the recorded history of contact with Europeans, Bruce Trigger traces the development of the Huron people from the earliest hunting and gathering economies in southern Ontario, many centuries before the arrival of the Europeans, to their key role in the fur trade in eastern Canada during the first half of the seventeenth century....

Children and Childhood in Classical Athens

Children and Childhood in Classical Athens


  • Author : Mark Golden
  • Publisher : JHU Press
  • Release Date : 1993-02
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0801846005


Children and Childhood in Classical Athens Book Description :

"Mark Golden has produced a superb book, an important substantive and methodological contribution to the social history of ancient Athens and a model for comparable studies." -- American Historical Review...

Children of Blood and Bone
Score: 4
From 57 Ratings

Children of Blood and Bone


  • Author : Tomi Adeyemi
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
  • Release Date : 2018-03-06
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250170989


Children of Blood and Bone Book Description :

Instant New York Times Bestseller New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018 TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018 NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018 Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018 2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018 Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018 Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018 Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018 School Library Journal Best Books of 2018 With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. They...

Children s Source Monitoring

Children s Source Monitoring


  • Author : Kim P. Roberts
  • Publisher : Psychology Press
  • Release Date : 2000-06-01
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781135667467


Children s Source Monitoring Book Description :

There are many aspects of life which require us to distinguish between memories of different events, such as deciding whether you locked the door or only intended to lock the door. Source monitoring, or identifying the source of a particular memory (was the event experienced? related by someone else? or simply imagined?) is a cognitive skill that develops across the life span. In this book, the first to integrate research on children's source monitoring, readers will find an accessible overview of source-monitoring theory and findings from the research programs of leading investigators in this area. The programs of research cut across different methodologies (e.g., nomothetic, individual differences, clinical) and are applied to a wide range of issue...

Why Our Children Can t Read  and what We Can Do about it
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Why Our Children Can t Read and what We Can Do about it


  • Author : Diane McGuinness
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 1997
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0684831619


Why Our Children Can t Read and what We Can Do about it Book Description :

A neuropsychologist shows how outmoded methods for teaching reading have resulted in plummeting literacy levels and offers a new program, based on careful research, that teaches any child--including those with attention deficits--to read well. 35,000 first printing. Tour....

The Roots of Prosocial Behavior in Children

The Roots of Prosocial Behavior in Children


  • Author : Nancy Eisenberg
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 1989-08-25
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0521337712


The Roots of Prosocial Behavior in Children Book Description :

What kinds of childrearing practices foster the development of helping, sharing, and other prosocial behaviors? What roles do biology and culture play in the development of prosocial behavior? This book reviews and summarizes scholarly research that has been devoted to the development of prosocial behavior in children, and examines the various factors and influences that contribute to children's prosocial development, including the media, parents, peers, biology, culture, personal characteristics, and situational determinants. The authors argue that prosocial behavior can be learned and is modifiable, and they suggest techniques for parents, teachers and others to enhance prosocial development. They attempt to communicate the advances in the study of...

The Country of Lost Children

The Country of Lost Children


  • Author : Peter Pierce
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 1999-06-07
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0521594995


The Country of Lost Children Book Description :

This book traces the figure of the lost child in Australia's history and imagination....

The Hundred Languages of Children

The Hundred Languages of Children


  • Author : Carolyn P. Edwards
  • Publisher : Greenwood Publishing Group
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1567503101


The Hundred Languages of Children Book Description :

The city-run early childhood program of Reggio Emilia, Italy, has become recognized and acclaimed as one of the best systems of education in the world. Over the past forty years, educators there have evolved a distinctive innovative approach that supports children's well-being and fosters their intellectual development through a systematic focus on symbolic representation. Young children (from birth to age six) are encouraged to explore their environment and express themselves through many languages, or modes of expression, including words, movement, drawing, painting, sculpture, shadow play, collage, and music. Leading children to surprising levels of symbolic skill and creativity, the system is not private and elite but rather involves full-day chi...