Confessions of the Fox
Score: 3.5
From 6 Ratings

Confessions of the Fox


  • Author : Jordy Rosenberg
  • Publisher : One World/Ballantine
  • Release Date : 2019-03-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780399592287


Confessions of the Fox Book Description :

A New York Times Editors' Choice: "A mind-bending romp through a gender-fluid, eighteenth century London . . . a joyous mash-up of literary genres shot through with queer theory and awash in sex, crime, and revolution." NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New Yorker * HuffPost * Kirkus Reviews * Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize * "A dazzling tale of queer romance and resistance."--Time Jack Sheppard and Edgeworth Bess were the most notorious thieves, jailbreakers, and lovers of eighteenth-century London. Yet no one knows the true story; their confessions have never been found. Until now. Reeling from heartbreak, a scholar named Dr. Voth discovers a long-lost manuscript--a gender-defying exposé of Jack and Bess's ad...

Confessions of the Fox
Score: 3.5
From 6 Ratings

Confessions of the Fox


  • Author : Jordy Rosenberg
  • Publisher : One World
  • Release Date : 2018-06-26
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780399592294


Confessions of the Fox Book Description :

A New York Times Editors’ Choice: “A mind-bending romp through a gender-fluid, eighteenth century London . . . a joyous mash-up of literary genres shot through with queer theory and awash in sex, crime, and revolution.” NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New Yorker • HuffPost • Kirkus Reviews • Finalist for the Lambda Literary Award • Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize • “A dazzling tale of queer romance and resistance.”—Time Jack Sheppard and Edgeworth Bess were the most notorious thieves, jailbreakers, and lovers of eighteenth-century London. Yet no one knows the true story; their confessions have never been found. Until now. Reeling from heartbreak, a scholar named Dr. Voth discovers a long-l...

Augustine

Augustine


  • Author : Robin Lane Fox
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2015-11-05
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780141965482


Augustine Book Description :

WINNER OF THE WOLFSON PRIZE FOR HISTORY 2015 A major new interpretation of how one of the great figures of Christian history came to write the greatest of all autobiographies Augustine is the person from the ancient world about whom we know most. He is the author of an intimate masterpiece, the Confessions, which continues to delight its many admirers. In it he writes about his infancy and his schooling in the classics in late Roman North Africa, his remarkable mother, his sexual sins ('Give me chastity, but not yet,' he famously prayed), his time in an outlawed heretical sect, his worldly career and friendships and his gradual return to God. His account of his own eventual conversion is a classic study of anguish, hesitation and what he believes to ...

Critical Enthusiasm

Critical Enthusiasm


  • Author : Jordana Rosenberg
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 2011-04-20
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780199877379


Critical Enthusiasm Book Description :

Critical Enthusiasm tracks the intertwined histories of religious radicalism and economic transformation in the long eighteenth century. Rosenberg situates the rhetoric of enthusiastic rapture in the context of the major institutional transformations of early modernity: the dispossession and plunder of the globe, the rise of finance, legal reform, and the administration of racialized labor....

Foxfire

Foxfire


  • Author : Joyce Carol Oates
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 1994-08-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780593182741


Foxfire Book Description :

New York Times bestselling author Joyce Carol Oates’s strongest and most unsparing novel yet—an always engrossing, often shocking evocation of female rage, gallantry, and grit. The time is the 1950s. The place is a blue-collar town in upstate New York, where five high school girls join a gang dedicated to pride, power, and vengeance on a world that seems made to denigrate and destroy them. Here is the secret history of a sisterhood of blood, a haven from a world of male oppressors, marked by a liberating fury that burns too hot to last. Above all, it is the story of Legs Sadovsky, with her lean, on-the-edge, icy beauty, whose nerve, muscle, hate, and hurt make her the spark of Foxfire: its guiding spirit, its burning core. At once brutal and lyri...

Confessions

Confessions


  • Author : Matthew Fox
  • Publisher : Harpercollins
  • Release Date : 1996
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015037331082


Confessions Book Description :

A former priest, who has been criticized by the Vatican and who was dismissed by the Dominican Order in 1993, discusses his spiritual development during which he devoted himself to reinvigorating the positive qualities of Catholicism. $50,000 first printing. Tour....

The Life and Death of Latisha King

The Life and Death of Latisha King


  • Author : Gayle Salamon
  • Publisher : NYU Press
  • Release Date : 2018-03-20
  • Genre: Law
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781479810529


The Life and Death of Latisha King Book Description :

What can the killing of a transgender teen teach us about the violence of misreading gender identity as sexual identity? The Life and Death of Latisha King examines a single incident, the shooting of 15-year-old Latisha King by 14-year-old Brandon McInerney in their junior high school classroom in Oxnard, California in 2008. The press coverage of the shooting, as well as the criminal trial that followed, referred to Latisha, assigned male at birth, as Larry. Unpacking the consequences of representing the victim as Larry, a gay boy, instead of Latisha, a trans girl, Gayle Salamon draws on the resources of feminist phenomenology to analyze what happened in the school and at the trial that followed. In building on the phenomenological concepts of anonym...

Single

Single


  • Author : Michael Cobb
  • Publisher : NYU Press
  • Release Date : 2012-07-02
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780814772560


Single Book Description :

What single person hasn't suffered? Everyone, it seems, must be (or must want to be) in a couple. To exist outside of the couple is to assume an antisocial position that is ruthlessly discouraged because being in a couple is the way most people bind themselves to the social. Singles might just be the single most reviled sexual minorities today. Single: Arguments for the Uncoupled offers a polemic account of this supremacy of the couple form, and how that supremacy blocks our understanding of the single. Michael Cobb reads the figurative language surrounding singleness as it traverses an eclectic set of literary, cultural, philosophical, psychoanalytical, and popular culture objects from Plato, Freud, Ralph Ellison, Herman Melville, Virginia Woolf, Ba...

If I Did It

If I Did It


  • Author : OJ Simpson
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019-06
  • Genre: Murder
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1783341092


If I Did It Book Description :

...

Home Baked

Home Baked


  • Author : Alia Volz
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
  • Release Date : 2020
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780358006091


Home Baked Book Description :

A blazingly funny, heartfelt memoir from the daughter of the larger-than-life woman who ran Sticky Fingers Brownies, an underground bakery that distributed thousands of marijuana brownies per month and helped provide medical marijuana to AIDS patients in San Francisco--for fans of Armistead Maupin and Patricia Lockwood During the '70s in San Francisco, Alia's mother ran the underground Sticky Fingers Brownies, delivering upwards of 10,000 illegal marijuana edibles per month throughout the circus-like atmosphere of a city in the throes of major change. She exchanged psychic readings with Alia's future father, and thereafter had a partner in business and life. Decades before cannabusiness went mainstream, when marijuana was as illicit as heroin, they i...