Something to Say


  • Author: Lisa Moore Ramée
  • Release Date : 2020-07-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • File Size: 3474788 Bytes


From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn’t have any friends—and she’s just fine with that. She’s so good at being invisible in school, it’s almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee.Then a new student shows up at school—a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won’t quit. Jenae can’t figure out why he keeps popping up e...

Contemporary Public Speaking

Contemporary Public Speaking


  • Author : Courtland L. Bovée
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2003
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0939693607


Contemporary Public Speaking Book Description :

Contemporary Public Speaking includes all the traditional fundamentals as well as the hottest issues in public speaking today. Featuring a conversational style and an extensive photo and illustration program, this comprehensive coverage provides students with the tools they need to analyze and apply public speaking principles. Examples, exercises, and boxed features offer insights into major themes such as speaking across cultures, developing creativity, improving critical thinking, overcoming speech anxiety, focusing on ethics, and learning from real-world speaking situations. Students will also explore how to speak on the job and in small groups, develop persuasive strategies, and use audio/visual aids--from flip charts to multimedia presentations-...

Contemporary Public Speaking

Contemporary Public Speaking


  • Author : Donald Simmons
  • Publisher : Kendall Hunt Publishing Company
  • Release Date : 1994-09-01
  • Genre: Public speaking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 084039439X


Contemporary Public Speaking Book Description :

...

iSpeak  Public Speaking for Contemporary Life

iSpeak Public Speaking for Contemporary Life


  • Author : Paul Nelson
  • Publisher : McGraw-Hill Higher Education
  • Release Date : 2013-01-08
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780077826802


iSpeak Public Speaking for Contemporary Life Book Description :

iSpeak is an integrated program that helps students practice, build confidence, and achieve success in public speaking. Connect Public Speaking provides students a wealth of resources to prepare and plan speeches, while LearnSmart Ë McGraw-HillËs proven adaptive learning system Ë guides them toward mastery of key course concepts. Additionally, ConnectËs highly flexible Speech Capture tool saves instructors valuable time in managing assignments and evaluating student speeches....

The Competent Public Speaker

The Competent Public Speaker


  • Author : Sherwyn P. Morreale
  • Publisher : Peter Lang
  • Release Date : 2010
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1433108569


The Competent Public Speaker Book Description :

Based on the National Communication Association’s conceptual model for teaching and evaluating undergraduate public speeches (as developed by the author and others), Sherwyn P. Morreale offers a highly accessible, easy-to-teach, easy-to-learn approach to public speaking. The approach adopted in the text includes eight public speaking competencies – four on speech preparation and four on speech delivery – which are enhanced by emphasizing the impact of technology, ethics, culture, and diversity on public speaking. A number of unique features designed to improve teaching and learning include: – Students used as examples in each chapter so that readers can follow them as they learn about public speaking; – Tables and boxed text to reinforce th...

Public Speaking and the New Oratory

Public Speaking and the New Oratory


  • Author : Fiona Rossette-Crake
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2019-08-06
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9783030220860


Public Speaking and the New Oratory Book Description :

This book provides a research-led guide to public speaking in English, using the foundations of applied linguistics research to analyse elements of spoken presentation, including content, form, persona and audience interaction. The author also introduces and analyses case studies of what she calls 'the New Oratory', examining such modern speaking formats as the three-minute-thesis presentation, the investor pitch and TED talks, making this book a cutting-edge exploration of how public speaking is conducted in an increasingly digitalised world. It provides essential advice for non-native English speakers and speakers of English as a Second Language (ESL) whose work or study requires them to present in English, but will also be of interest to students ...

Contemporary American Speeches

Contemporary American Speeches


  • Author : Richard L. Johannesen
  • Publisher : Kendall Hunt
  • Release Date : 2000
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0787258059


Contemporary American Speeches Book Description :

Contains a collection of transcripts of contemporary American speeches, providing brief biographical information on the author of each speech, as well as critical and historical context. Includes CD-ROM with forty-two significant speeches....