Crudo  A Novel
Score: 3
From 4 Ratings

Crudo A Novel


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release Date : 2018-09-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780393652734


Crudo A Novel Book Description :

A New York Times Notable, Washington Post, NPR, Guardian, and Bustle Best Book of 2018 A brilliant, funny, and emphatically raw novel of love on the brink of the apocalypse, from the acclaimed author of The Lonely City. "She had no idea what to do with love, she experienced it as invasion, as the prelude to loss and pain, she really didn’t have a clue." Kathy is a writer. Kathy is getting married. It’s the summer of 2017 and the whole world is falling apart. Fast-paced and frantic, Crudo unfolds in real time from the full-throttle perspective of a commitment-phobic artist who may or may not be Kathy Acker. From a Tuscan hotel for the superrich to a Brexit-paralyzed United Kingdom, Kathy spends the first summer of her forties adjusting to the idea...

Crudo
Score: 3
From 4 Ratings

Crudo


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2018-06-28
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781509892853


Crudo Book Description :

Shortlisted for the Goldsmith's Prize, the Gordon Burn Prize and the James Tait Black Award. Dive in to a tale of love and loathing with the beach read of the summer. Kathy is a writer. Kathy is getting married. It’s the summer of 2017 and the whole world is falling apart. From a Tuscan hotel for the super-rich to a Brexit-paralysed UK, Kathy spends the first summer of her forties trying to adjust to making a lifelong commitment just as Trump is tweeting the world into nuclear war. But it’s not only Kathy who’s changing. Political, social and natural landscapes are all in peril. Fascism is on the rise, truth is dead, the planet is hotting up. Is it really worth learning to love when the end of the world is nigh? And how do you make art, let alo...

Crudo
Score: 3
From 4 Ratings

Crudo


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : Picador
  • Release Date : 2018-06-26
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781760781293


Crudo Book Description :

Shortlisted for The Goldsmiths Prize 2018 Kathy is a writer. Kathy is getting married. It's the summer of 2017 and the whole world is falling apart. From a Tuscan hotel for the super-rich to a Brexit-paralysed UK, Kathy spends the first summer of her 40s trying to adjust to making a lifelong commitment just as Trump is tweeting the world into nuclear war. But it's not only Kathy who's changing. Political, social and natural landscapes are all in peril. Fascism is on the rise, truth is dead, the planet is hotting up. Is it really worth learning to love when the end of the world is nigh? And how do you make art, let alone a life, when one rogue tweet could end it all. Olivia Laing radically rewires the novel in a brilliant, funny and emphatically raw a...

Funny Weather  Art in an Emergency

Funny Weather Art in an Emergency


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release Date : 2020-05-12
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781324005735


Funny Weather Art in an Emergency Book Description :

"One of the finest writers of the new nonfiction" (Harper’s Bazaar) explores the role of art in our tumultuous modern era. In this remarkable, inspiring collection of essays, acclaimed writer and critic Olivia Laing makes a brilliant case for why art matters, especially in the turbulent political weather of the twenty-first century. Funny Weather brings together a career’s worth of Laing’s writing about art and culture, examining their role in our political and emotional lives. She profiles Jean-Michel Basquiat and Georgia O’Keeffe, reads Maggie Nelson and Sally Rooney, writes love letters to David Bowie and Freddie Mercury, and explores loneliness and technology, women and alcohol, sex and the body. With characteristic originality and compas...

The Lonely City
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

The Lonely City


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : Picador
  • Release Date : 2016-03-01
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250039590


The Lonely City Book Description :

Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism #1 Book of the Year from Brain Pickings Named a best book of the year by NPR, Newsweek, Slate, Pop Sugar, Marie Claire, Elle, Publishers Weekly, and Lit Hub A dazzling work of biography, memoir, and cultural criticism on the subject of loneliness, told through the lives of iconic artists, by the acclaimed author of The Trip to Echo Spring. When Olivia Laing moved to New York City in her midthirties, she found herself inhabiting loneliness on a daily basis. Increasingly fascinated by the most shameful of experiences, she began to explore the lonely city by way of art. Moving from Edward Hopper’s Nighthawks to Andy Warhol’s Time Capsules, from Henry Darger’s hoarding to David Wojnar...

To the River
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

To the River


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release Date : 2011-05-05
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780857860651


To the River Book Description :

An author’s walk “from source to sea along the Ouse in Sussex is a meandering, meditative delight” drawing on history, literature, and the river itself (The Guardian, UK). In To The River, author Olivia Laing embarks on a weeklong, midsummer odyssey along the banks of the River Ouse in Sussex, England, from its source near Haywards Heath to the sea, where it empties into the Channel at Newhaven. More than sixty years after Virginia Woolf drowned herself in the River Ouse, Laing still finds inspiration and guidance in the author’s abiding presence. Through cow pastures, woods, and neighborhood streets, Laing’s meandering walk occasions a profound and haunting reflection on histories both personal and cultural, and on landscapes both physical...

The Trip to Echo Spring
Score: 3.5
From 10 Ratings

The Trip to Echo Spring


  • Author : Olivia Laing
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release Date : 2013-07-11
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780857868893


The Trip to Echo Spring Book Description :

Shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Biography Award. Why were so many authors of the greatest works of literature consumed by alcoholism? In The Trip to Echo Spring, Olivia Laing takes a journey across America, examining the links between creativity and drink in the work and lives of six extraordinary men: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Berryman, John Cheever and Raymond Carver. Beautiful, captivating and original, The Trip to Echo Spring strips away the myth of the alcoholic writer to reveal the terrible price creativity can exert....

The Wisdom of Wolves
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

The Wisdom of Wolves


  • Author : Jim Dutcher
  • Publisher : National Geographic Books
  • Release Date : 2018-03-06
  • Genre: Nature
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781426218873


The Wisdom of Wolves Book Description :

From the world-famous couple who lived alongside a three-generation wolf pack, this book of inspiration, drawn from the wild, will fascinate animal and nature lovers alike. For six years Jim and Jamie Dutcher lived intimately with a pack of wolves, gaining their trust as no one has before. In this book the Dutchers reflect on the virtues they observed in wolf society and behavior. Each chapter exemplifies a principle, such as kindness, teamwork, playfulness, respect, curiosity, and compassion. Their heartfelt stories combine into a thought-provoking meditation on the values shared between the human and the animal world. Occasional photographs bring the wolves and their behaviors into absorbing focus....

Blood and Guts in High School

Blood and Guts in High School


  • Author : Kathy Acker
  • Publisher : Grove Press
  • Release Date : 1989
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 080213193X


Blood and Guts in High School Book Description :

Janey Smith keeps a journal of her dreams and experiences as she is rejected by her father, kidnapped by thieves, and sold into prostitution...

What Red Was
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

What Red Was


  • Author : Rosie Price
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2019-08-27
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735237704


What Red Was Book Description :

For fans of My Dark Vanessa, Netflix's Unbelievable, Sally Rooney, and Susan Choi, an important novel about modern love, consent, and toxic inheritance from a brilliant new voice. A Belletrist Book Pick "[A] masterful, incisive debut... reminiscent of Donna Tartt or Edward St. Aubyn."--USA Today(four out of four stars) When Kate Quaile meets Max Rippon the first week of university, so begins a life-changing friendship. Over the next four years, the two become inseparable. But knowing Max means knowing his family: the wealthy Rippons, all generosity, social ease, and quiet repression. Until one evening at a summer party at their home, Kate's life is shattered in a bedroom while the music plays on downstairs. And she is forced to make a choice: to spea...