Elizabeth Is Missing
Score: 4
From 142 Ratings

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author: Emma Healey
  • Release Date : 2014-06-10
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 934070 Bytes


HOW DO YOU SOLVE A MYSTERY WHEN YOU CAN'T REMEMBER THE CLUES?In this darkly riveting debut novel—a sophisticated psychological mystery that is also an heartbreakingly honest meditation on memory, identity, and aging—an elderly woman descending into dementia embarks on a desperate quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared, and her search for the truth will go back decades and have shattering consequences.Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory—and her grip on everyday life. Yet she refuses to forget her best friend Elizabeth, whom she is convinced is missing and in terrible danger.But no one will listen to Maud—not her frustrated daughter, Helen, not her caretakers, not the police, and especially not Elizabeth...

Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author: Lillian de la Torre
  • Release Date : 2017-06-06
  • Genre: True Crime
  • File Size: 26914218 Bytes


The true story of the eighteenth-century English maidservant at the center of a fascinating criminal mystery. On New Year’s Day, 1753, Elizabeth Canning disappeared. An eighteen-year-old girl, she was unremarkable in every respect, from her appearance to her disposition, but she was about to become the most famous person in London. When she reappeared one month later, starving and ill, she claimed she had been abducted and held captive by a woman named Susannah Wells, who wanted Elizabeth to work for her as a prostitute. Based on Elizabeth’s testimony, Wells was arrested, tried, and convicted—but the case was just getting started.   Convinced the young woman was lying, the Lord Mayor of London set out to uncover the truth. What followed wa...

Elizabeth Is Missing
Score: 4
From 68 Ratings

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release Date : 2014-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780345808325


Elizabeth Is Missing Book Description :

WINNER 2014 – Costa Book Awards—First Novel An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into forgetfulness, as she embarks alone on a quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared. Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home,...

Elizabeth Is Missing
Score: 4
From 69 Ratings

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062309709


Elizabeth Is Missing Book Description :

HOW DO YOU SOLVE A MYSTERY WHEN YOU CAN'T REMEMBER THE CLUES? In this darkly riveting debut novel—a sophisticated psychological mystery that is also an heartbreakingly honest meditation on memory, identity, and aging—an elderly woman descending into dementia embarks on a desperate quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared, and her search for the truth will go back decades and have shattering consequences. Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory—and her grip on everyday life. Yet she refuses to forget her best friend Elizabeth, whom she is convinced is missing and in terrible danger. But no one will listen to Maud—not her frustrated daughter, Helen, not her caretakers, not the police, and especially not Elizabe...

Elizabeth is Missing
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Elizabeth is Missing


  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2014-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780241968192


Elizabeth is Missing Book Description :

NOW A MAJOR BBC DRAMA A SUNDAY TIMES TOP FIVE BESTSELLER how do you solve a mystery when you can't remember the clues? Maud is forgetful. She makes a cup of tea and doesn't remember to drink it. She goes to the shops and forgets why she went. Sometimes her home is unrecognizable - or her daughter Helen seems a total stranger. But there's one thing Maud is sure of: her friend Elizabeth is missing. The note in her pocket tells her so. And no matter who tells her to stop going on about it, to leave it alone, to shut up, Maud will get to the bottom of it. Because somewhere in Maud's damaged mind lies the answer to an unsolved seventy-year-old mystery. One everyone has forgotten about. Everyone, except Maud . . . Winner of the Costa First Novel Award Shor...

Whistle in the Dark
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Whistle in the Dark


  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2018-05-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780241327678


Whistle in the Dark Book Description :

In the award-winning Elizabeth is Missing debut novelist Emma Healey explored grandmother Maud's attempt to solve an 70-year-old mystery as she succumbed to dementia. Now, in her dazzling follow-up Whistle in the Dark, we meet Jen, mother to 15-year-old Lana - who has just been found after going missing for four desperate days. Lana can't talk about the missing days. As her daughter's life falls apart, Jen turns detective to discover what happened . . . How do you rescue someone who has already been found? Jen's fifteen-year-old daughter goes missing for four agonizing days. When Lana is found, unharmed, in the middle of the desolate countryside, everyone thinks the worst is over. But Lana refuses to tell anyone what happened, and the police think th...

Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author : Lillian de la Torre
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release Date : 2017-06-06
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781504044585


Elizabeth Is Missing Book Description :

The true story of the eighteenth-century English maidservant at the center of a fascinating criminal mystery. On New Year’s Day, 1753, Elizabeth Canning disappeared. An eighteen-year-old girl, she was unremarkable in every respect, from her appearance to her disposition, but she was about to become the most famous person in London. When she reappeared one month later, starving and ill, she claimed she had been abducted and held captive by a woman named Susannah Wells, who wanted Elizabeth to work for her as a prostitute. Based on Elizabeth’s testimony, Wells was arrested, tried, and convicted—but the case was just getting started. Convinced the young woman was lying, the Lord Mayor of London set out to uncover the truth. What followed was one o...

Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant
Score: 4
From 57 Ratings

Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant


  • Author : Roz Chast
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2014-05-06
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781620406380


Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant Book Description :

#1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her elderly mother and father, Roz held to the practices of denial, avoidance, and distraction. But when Elizabeth Chast climbed a ladder to locate an old souvenir from the “crazy closet”-with predictable results-the tools that had served Roz well through her parents' seventies, e...

Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing


  • Author : Lillian de la Torre
  • Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
  • Release Date : 2018-11-09
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781789540499


Elizabeth Is Missing Book Description :

On New Year's Day, 1753, Elizabeth Canning disappeared. An eighteen-year-old girl, she was unremarkable in every respect, from her appearance to her disposition, but she was about to become the most famous person in London. When she reappeared one month later, starving and ill, she claimed she had been abducted and held captive by a woman named Susannah Wells, who wanted Elizabeth to work for her as a prostitute. Based on Elizabeth's testimony, Wells was arrested, tried, and convicted—but the case was just getting started. Convinced the young woman was lying, the Lord Mayor of London set out to uncover the truth. What followed was one of the most celebrated criminal cases of the era. The controversy, which threatened to tear London apart, revolved ...

Amy Herbert

Amy Herbert


  • Author : Elizabeth Missing Sewell
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1846
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UCAL:B4104597


Amy Herbert Book Description :

...

Dementia and Literature

Dementia and Literature


  • Author : Tess Maginess
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2017-08-09
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781351798648


Dementia and Literature Book Description :

Dementia is an urgent global concern, often termed a widespread ‘problem’, ‘tragedy’ or ‘burden’ and a subject best addressed by health and social policy and practice. However, creative writers can offer powerful and imaginative insights into the experience of dementia across cultures and over time. This cross-disciplinary volume explores how engaging with dementia through its myriad literary representations can help to deepen and humanise attitudes to people living with the condition. Offering and interrogating a wide array of perspectives about how dementia might be ‘imagined’, this book allows us to see how different ways of being can inflect one another. By drawing on the ‘lived’ experience of the individual unique person and ...

City of Girls
Score: 4
From 22 Ratings

City of Girls


  • Author : Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2019-06-04
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780698408326


City of Girls Book Description :

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! From the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat Pray Love and The Signature of All Things, a delicious novel of glamour, sex, and adventure, about a young woman discovering that you don't have to be a good girl to be a good person. "A spellbinding novel about love, freedom, and finding your own happiness." - PopSugar "Intimate and richly sensual, razzle-dazzle with a hint of danger." -USA Today "Pairs well with a cocktail...or two." -TheSkimm "Life is both fleeting and dangerous, and there is no point in denying yourself pleasure, or being anything other than what you are." Beloved author Elizabeth Gilbert returns to fiction with a unique love story set in the New York City theater world during the 1940s. T...