I Contain Multitudes
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

I Contain Multitudes


  • Author : Ed Yong
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2016-08-09
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062368621


I Contain Multitudes Book Description :

Joining the ranks of popular science classics like The Botany of Desire and The Selfish Gene, a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution in biology since Darwin—a “microbe’s-eye view” of the world that reveals a marvelous, radically reconceived picture of life on earth. Every animal, whether human, squid, or wasp, is home to millions of bacteria and other microbes. Ed Yong, whose humor is as evident as his erudition, prompts us to look at ourselves and our animal companions in a new light—less as individuals and more as the interconnected, interdependent multitudes we assuredly are. The microbes in our bodies are part of our immune systems and protect us from disease. In ...

We Contain Multitudes
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

We Contain Multitudes


  • Author : Sarah Henstra
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2019-05-14
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735264229


We Contain Multitudes Book Description :

An exhilarating and emotional LGBTQ story about the growing relationship between two teen boys, told through the letters written to one another. For fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and I’ll Give You the Sun. Thrown together by a zealous English teacher's classroom-mailbox assignment, notorious scrapper, Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky, and Jonathan Hopkirk, a flamboyant Walt Whitman wannabe, have to write an old-fashioned letter to each other every week. Kurl is a senior, an ex high school football player, held back a year, while Jo is a nerdy, out tenth grader with a penchant for vintage clothes and a deep love for poetry. They are an unlikely pair, but with each letter, the two begin to develop a friendship that grows into ...

I Am Large  I Contain Multitudes

I Am Large I Contain Multitudes


  • Author : Katie Heffelfinger
  • Publisher : BRILL
  • Release Date : 2011-02-15
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9789004193833


I Am Large I Contain Multitudes Book Description :

Drawing on the insights of lyric poetic theory, this book offers a fresh reading of Second Isaiah. This approach advances an argument that the tensive and conflicted divine voice is primary unifying factor in the sequence of poems....

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Score: 4.5
From 2,376 Ratings

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


  • Author : Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2012-02-21
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781442408920


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Book Description :

Fifteen-year-old Ari Mendoza is an angry loner with a brother in prison, but when he meets Dante and they become friends, Ari starts to ask questions about himself, his parents and his family that he has never asked before....

Song of myself
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Song of myself


  • Author : Walt Whitman
  • Publisher : Рипол Классик
  • Release Date : 1973
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9785876907967


Song of myself Book Description :

...

Mad Miss Mimic

Mad Miss Mimic


  • Author : Sarah Henstra
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release Date : 2015-05-05
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143192381


Mad Miss Mimic Book Description :

It's London, 1872, where 17-year-old heiress Leonora Somerville is preparing to be presented to upper upper-class society -- again. She's strikingly beautiful and going to be very rich, but Leo has a problem money can’t solve. A curious speech disorder causes her to stutter but also allows her to imitate other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back…and watch as Leo unintentionally scares off one potential husband after another. London is also a city gripped by opium fever. Leo’s brother-in-law Dr. Dewhurst and his new business partner Francis Thornfax are frontrunners in the race to patent an injectable formula of the drug. Friendly, forthright, and as a bonus devastatingly handsome...

The Red Word
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

The Red Word


  • Author : Sarah Henstra
  • Publisher : ECW Press
  • Release Date : 2018-03-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781773051949


The Red Word Book Description :

Winner of the 2018 Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction The battle of the sexes goes to college in this nervy debut adult novel by a powerful new voice A smart, dark, and take-no-prisoners look at rape culture and the extremes to which ideology can go, The Red Word is a campus novel like no other. As her sophomore year begins, Karen enters into the back-to-school revelry — particularly at Gamma Beta Chi. When she wakes up one morning on the lawn of Raghurst, a house of radical feminists, she gets a crash course in the state of feminist activism on campus. The frat known as GBC is notorious, she learns, nicknamed “Gang Bang Central” and a prominent contributor to a list of rapists compiled by female students. Despite continuing to par...

I ll Give You the Sun
Score: 4.5
From 2,868 Ratings

I ll Give You the Sun


  • Author : Jandy Nelson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2014-09-16
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101593844


I ll Give You the Sun Book Description :

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell “We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.” At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early year...

The Good Gut
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The Good Gut


  • Author : Justin Sonnenburg
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2015-04-21
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780698181021


The Good Gut Book Description :

The groundbreaking science behind the surprising source of good health Stanford University’s Justin and Erica Sonnenburg are pioneers in the most exciting and potentially transformative field in the entire realm of human health and wellness, the study of the relationship between our bodies and the trillions of organisms representing thousands of species to which our bodies play host, the microbes that we collectively call the microbiota. The microbiota interacts with our bodies in a number of powerful ways; the Sonnenburgs argue that it determines in no small part whether we’re sick or healthy, fit or obese, sunny or moody. The microbiota has always been with us, and in fact has coevolved with humans, entwining its functions with ours so deeply, ...