Score: 5
From 9 Ratings

Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching


  • Author: Mychal Denzel Smith
  • Release Date : 2016-06-14
  • Genre: Social Science
  • File Size: 1690497 Bytes


A New York Times BestsellerAn unflinching account of what it means to be a young black man in America today, and how the existing script for black manhood is being rewritten in one of the most fascinating periods of American history. How do you learn to be a black man in America? For young black men today, it means coming of age during the presidency of Barack Obama. It means witnessing the deaths of Oscar Grant, Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, Akai Gurley, and too many more. It means celebrating powerful moments of black self-determination for LeBron James, Dave Chappelle, and Frank Ocean.In Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching, Mychal Denzel Smith chronicles his own personal and political education during these tumultuous year...

Invisible Man  Got the Whole World Watching
Score: 4.5
From 61 Ratings

Invisible Man Got the Whole World Watching


  • Author : Mychal Denzel Smith
  • Publisher : Bold Type Books
  • Release Date : 2016-06-14
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781568585291


Invisible Man Got the Whole World Watching Book Description :

A New York Times Bestseller An unflinching account of what it means to be a young black man in America today, and how the existing script for black manhood is being rewritten in one of the most fascinating periods of American history. How do you learn to be a black man in America? For young black men today, it means coming of age during the presidency of Barack Obama. It means witnessing the deaths of Oscar Grant, Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, Akai Gurley, and too many more. It means celebrating powerful moments of black self-determination for LeBron James, Dave Chappelle, and Frank Ocean. In Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching, Mychal Denzel Smith chronicles his own personal and political education during these tumultuous years, describing ...

Invisible Man  Got the Whole World Watching
Score: 4.5
From 61 Ratings

Invisible Man Got the Whole World Watching


  • Author : Mychal Denzel Smith
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2016-06-14
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781568585291


Invisible Man Got the Whole World Watching Book Description :

A New York Times Bestseller An unflinching account of what it means to be a young black man in America today, and how the existing script for black manhood is being rewritten in one of the most fascinating periods of American history. How do you learn to be a black man in America? For young black men today, it means coming of age during the presidency of Barack Obama. It means witnessing the deaths of Oscar Grant, Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, Akai Gurley, and too many more. It means celebrating powerful moments of black self-determination for LeBron James, Dave Chappelle, and Frank Ocean. In Invisible Man, Got the Whole World Watching, Mychal Denzel Smith chronicles his own personal and political education during these tumultuous years, describing ...

Stakes Is High
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

Stakes Is High


  • Author : Mychal Denzel Smith
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2020-09-15
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781568588728


Stakes Is High Book Description :

Brave, clear-eyed, and passionate, Stakes Is High is the book we need to guide us past crisis mode and through an uncertain future. The events of the past decade, in particular the election of Donald Trump, have forced us to reckon with who we are as a country and who we want to be. We have been invested in a set of beliefs about our American identity: our exceptionalism, the inevitable rightness of our path, and the promise that hard work and determination will carry us to freedom. But in Stakes Is High, Mychal Denzel Smith confronts the shortcomings of these stories -- and with the American Dream itself -- and calls on us to live up to the principles we profess but fail to realize. Smith exposes the stark contradictions at the heart of American lif...

Stop Telling Women to Smile

Stop Telling Women to Smile


  • Author : Tatyana Fazlalizadeh
  • Publisher : Seal Press
  • Release Date : 2020-02-04
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781580058476


Stop Telling Women to Smile Book Description :

The debut book from a celebrated artist on the urgent topic of street harassment Every day, all over the world, women are catcalled and denigrated simply for walking down the street. Boys will be boys, women have been told for generations, ignore it, shrug it off, take it as a compliment. But the harassment has real consequences for women: in the fear it instills and the shame they are made to feel. In Stop Telling Women to Smile, Tatyana Fazlalizadeh uses her arresting street art portraits to explore how women experience hostility in communities that are supposed to be homes. She addresses the pervasiveness of street harassment, its effects, and the kinds of activism that can serve to counter it. The result is a cathartic reckoning with the aggressi...

Nobody
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Nobody


  • Author : Marc Lamont Hill
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2016-07-26
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501124945


Nobody Book Description :

An "analysis of deeper meaning behind the string of deaths of unarmed citizens like Michael Brown, Eric Garner, and Freddie Gray, providing ... [commentary] on the intersection of race and class in America today"--...

No Ashes in the Fire
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

No Ashes in the Fire


  • Author : Darnell L Moore
  • Publisher : Bold Type Books
  • Release Date : 2018-05-29
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781568589497


No Ashes in the Fire Book Description :

From a leading journalist and activist comes a brave, beautifully wrought memoir. When Darnell Moore was fourteen, three boys from his neighborhood tried to set him on fire. They cornered him while he was walking home from school, harassed him because they thought he was gay, and poured a jug of gasoline on him. He escaped, but just barely. It wasn't the last time he would face death. Three decades later, Moore is an award-winning writer, a leading Black Lives Matter activist, and an advocate for justice and liberation. In No Ashes in the Fire, he shares the journey taken by that scared, bullied teenager who not only survived, but found his calling. Moore's transcendence over the myriad forces of repression that faced him is a testament to the grace ...

Home Baked

Home Baked


  • Author : Alia Volz
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
  • Release Date : 2020
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780358006091


Home Baked Book Description :

A blazingly funny, heartfelt memoir from the daughter of the larger-than-life woman who ran Sticky Fingers Brownies, an underground bakery that distributed thousands of marijuana brownies per month and helped provide medical marijuana to AIDS patients in San Francisco--for fans of Armistead Maupin and Patricia Lockwood During the '70s in San Francisco, Alia's mother ran the underground Sticky Fingers Brownies, delivering upwards of 10,000 illegal marijuana edibles per month throughout the circus-like atmosphere of a city in the throes of major change. She exchanged psychic readings with Alia's future father, and thereafter had a partner in business and life. Decades before cannabusiness went mainstream, when marijuana was as illicit as heroin, they i...

When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost


  • Author : Joan Morgan
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2017-04-25
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781439127407


When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost Book Description :

“Morgan has given an entire generation of black feminists space and language to center their pleasures alongside their politics.” —Janet Mock, New York Times bestselling author of Redefining Realness “All that and then some, Chickenheads informs and educates, confronts and charms, raises the bar high by getting down low, and, to steal my favorite Joan Morgan phrase, bounced me out of the room.” —Marlon James, Man Booker Prize–winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings Still fresh, funny, and irreverent after eighteen years, When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost gives voice to the most intimate thoughts of the post-Civil Rights, post-feminist, post-soul generation. Joan Morgan offers a provocative and powerful look into the life ...

We Own the Future

We Own the Future


  • Author : Kate Aronoff
  • Publisher : The New Press
  • Release Date : 2020-01-14
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781620975220


We Own the Future Book Description :

A stunningly original and timely collection that makes the case for “socialism, American style” It’s a strange day when a New York Times conservative columnist is forced to admit that the left is winning, but as David Brooks wrote recently, “the American left is on the cusp of a great victory.” Among Americans under thirty, 43 percent had a favorable view of socialism, while only 32 percent had a favorable view of capitalism. Not since the Great Depression have so many Americans questioned the fundamental tenets of capitalism and expressed openness to a socialist alternative. We Own the Future: Democratic Socialism—American Style offers a road map to making this alternative a reality, giving readers a practical vision of a future that is ...

Invisible Men

Invisible Men


  • Author : Becky Pettit
  • Publisher : Russell Sage Foundation
  • Release Date : 2012-06-01
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781610447782


Invisible Men Book Description :

For African American men without a high school diploma, being in prison or jail is more common than being employed—a sobering reality that calls into question post-Civil Rights era social gains. Nearly 70 percent of young black men will be imprisoned at some point in their lives, and poor black men with low levels of education make up a disproportionate share of incarcerated Americans. In Invisible Men, sociologist Becky Pettit demonstrates another vexing fact of mass incarceration: most national surveys do not account for prison inmates, a fact that results in a misrepresentation of U.S. political, economic, and social conditions in general and black progress in particular. Invisible Men provides an eye-opening examination of how mass incarceratio...