Lost in Shangri La
Score: 3.5
From 1,182 Ratings

Lost in Shangri La


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062087140


Lost in Shangri La Book Description :

“A lost world, man-eating tribesmen, lush andimpenetrable jungles, stranded American fliers (one of them a dame withgreat gams, for heaven's sake), a startling rescue mission. . . . This is atrue story made in heaven for a writer as talented as Mitchell Zuckoff. Whew—what an utterly compelling and deeplysatisfying read!" —Simon Winchester, author of Atlantic Award-winning former Boston Globe reporter Mitchell Zuckoffunleashes the exhilarating, untold story of an extraordinary World War IIrescue mission, where a plane crash in the South Pacific plunged a trio of U.S.military personnel into a land that time forgot. Fans of Hampton Sides’ Ghost Soldiers, Marcus Luttrell’s Lone Survivor, and David Grann’s The Lost Cityof Z will be captivated ...

Lost in Shangri La
Score: 4
From 64 Ratings

Lost in Shangri La


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2011
  • Genre: Aircraft accidents
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780007386635


Lost in Shangri La Book Description :

Three months before the end of World War II, a U.S. Army plane flying over New Guinea crashed in uncharted mountains inhabited by a Stone Age tribe. Nineteen passengers and crew were killed and two were mortally wounded. But somehow three survived: a lieutenant whose twin brother died in the crash, a sergeant who suffered terrible head wounds, and a beautiful member of the Women's Army Corps....

Frozen in Time
Score: 4
From 23 Ratings

Frozen in Time


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2013-04-23
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062133410


Frozen in Time Book Description :

#1 New York Times bestseller Frozen in Time is a gripping true story of survival, bravery, and honor in the vast Arctic wilderness during World War II, from the author of New York Times bestseller Lost in Shangri-La. On November 5, 1942, a US cargo plane slammed into the Greenland Ice Cap. Four days later, the B-17 assigned to the search-and-rescue mission became lost in a blinding storm and also crashed. Miraculously, all nine men on board survived, and the US military launched a daring rescue operation. But after picking up one man, the Grumman Duck amphibious plane flew into a severe storm and vanished. Frozen in Time tells the story of these crashes and the fate of the survivors, bringing vividly to life their battle to endure 148 days of the bru...

Vaguely Lost in Shangri La

Vaguely Lost in Shangri La


  • Author : Barry Lewis
  • Publisher : Flood Gallery
  • Release Date : 2017-06-18
  • Genre: Glastonbury Festival
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1911374036


Vaguely Lost in Shangri La Book Description :

Award winning Photographer Barry Lewis has, for more than a decade, captured the very essence of the Glastonbury experience. From Lost Vagueness, to Shangri-La, Barry's photography is a celebration of the more eccentric, colourful, weird and wonderful side of the iconic festival....

Lost in Shangri La  Escape from a Hidden World   A True Story

Lost in Shangri La Escape from a Hidden World A True Story


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2011-04-28
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780007432554


Lost in Shangri La Escape from a Hidden World A True Story Book Description :

An utterly gripping non-fiction adventure narrative, 'Lost in Shangri-La' is an untold true story of war, anthropology, survival, discovery, heroism, and a near-impossible rescue mission....

Lost Horizon
Score: 3.5
From 49 Ratings

Lost Horizon


  • Author : James Hilton
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019-01-03
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 179312423X


Lost Horizon Book Description :

While attempting to escape a civil war, four people are kidnapped and transported to the Tibetan mountains. After their plane crashes, they are found by a mysterious Chinese man. He leads them to a monastery hidden in "the valley of the blue moon" - a land of mystery and matchless beauty where life is lived in tranquil wonder, beyond the grasp of a doomed world. It is here, in Shangri-La, where destinies will be discovered and the meaning of paradise will be unveiled...

Lost in Shangri La  A True Story of Survival  Adventure  and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II

Lost in Shangri La A True Story of Survival Adventure and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 :


Lost in Shangri La A True Story of Survival Adventure and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II Book Description :

Amazon.com Review Lost in Shangri-La, Mitchell Zuckoff’s remarkable and inspiring narrative. Faced with the potential brutality of the Dani tribe, known throughout the valley for its violence, the trio’s lives were dependent on an unprecedented rescue mission--a dedicated group of paratroopers jumped into the jungle to provide aid and medical care, consequently leaving the survivors and paratroopers alike trapped on the jungle floor. A perilous rescue by plane became their only possible route to freedom. A riveting story of deliverance under the most unlikely circumstances, Lost in Shangri-La deserves its place among the great survival stories of World War II. --Lynette Mong Amazon Exclusive: Hampton Sides Reviews Lost in Shangri-La Outside magaz...

Lost in Shangri La  Enhanced Edition

Lost in Shangri La Enhanced Edition


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062091673


Lost in Shangri La Enhanced Edition Book Description :

A New York Times bestseller, the extraordinary World War II mission to rescue survivors of a U.S. military plane crash in an isolated corner of the South Pacific, and the ancient indigenous tribe members that aided those stranded on the ground in this "Shangri-La." Award-winning former Boston Globe reporter Mitchell Zuckoffunleashes the exhilarating, untold story of an extraordinary World War IIrescue mission, where a plane crash in the South Pacific plunged a trio of U.S.military personnel into a land that time forgot. Fans of Hampton Sides’ Ghost Soldiers, Marcus Luttrell’s Lone Survivor, and David Grann’s The Lost Cityof Z will be captivated by Zuckoff’s masterfullyrecounted, all-true story of danger, daring, determination, and discovery i...

Fall and Rise
Score: 4.5
From 5 Ratings

Fall and Rise


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2019-04-30
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062275660


Fall and Rise Book Description :

Years in the making, this spellbinding, heartbreaking, and ultimately uplifting narrative is an unforgettable portrait of 9/11 This is a 9/11 book like no other. Masterfully weaving together multiple strands of the events in New York, at the Pentagon, and in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, Fall and Rise is a mesmerizing, minute-by-minute account of that terrible day. In the days and months after 9/11, Mitchell Zuckoff, then a reporter for the Boston Globe, wrote about the attacks, the victims, and their families. After further years of meticulous reporting, Zuckoff has filled Fall and Rise with voices of the lost and the saved. The result is an utterly gripping book, filled with intimate stories of people most affected by the events of that sunny Tuesday ...

Lost Horizon
Score: 3.5
From 49 Ratings

Lost Horizon


  • Author : James Hilton
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 1960
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780671664275


Lost Horizon Book Description :

Four people are transported to the dream-like world of Shangri-La where life is eternal and civilization refined....