Lost in Shangri-La
Score: 4
From 2,988 Ratings

Lost in Shangri-La


  • Author: Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre: Military
  • File Size: 14969567 Bytes


A New York Times bestseller and the winner of the Winship/PEN New England Award, Lost in Shangri-La is “a truly incredible adventure” (New York Times Book Review) about three brave survivors of a WWII plane crash in the jungle.   On May 13, 1945, twenty-four American servicemen and WACs boarded a transport plane for a sightseeing trip over “Shangri-La,” a beautiful and mysterious valley deep within the jungle-covered mountains of Dutch New Guinea. Unlike the peaceful Tibetan monks of James Hilton’s bestselling novel Lost Horizon, this Shangri-La was home to spear-carrying tribesmen, warriors rumored to be cannibals.   But the pleasure tour became an unforgettable battle for survival when the plane crashed. Miraculously, three pass...

Lost in Shangri-La (Enhanced Edition) (Enhanced Edition)
Score: 4
From 182 Ratings

Lost in Shangri-La (Enhanced Edition) (Enhanced Edition)


  • Author: Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre: Military
  • File Size: 285635233 Bytes


“A lost world, man-eating tribesmen, lush andimpenetrable jungles, stranded American fliers (one of them a dame withgreat gams, for heaven's sake), a startling rescue mission. . . . This is atrue story made in heaven for a writer as talented as Mitchell Zuckoff. Whew—what an utterly compelling and deeplysatisfying read!" —Simon Winchester, author of Atlantic Award-winning former Boston Globe reporter Mitchell Zuckoffunleashes the exhilarating, untold story of an extraordinary World War IIrescue mission, where a plane crash in the South Pacific plunged a trio of U.S.military personnel into a land that time forgot. Fans of Hampton Sides’ Ghost Soldiers, Marcus Luttrell’s Lone Survivor, and David Grann’s The Lost Cityof Z will be captiv...

Lost in Shangri La
Score: 3.5
From 1,189 Ratings

Lost in Shangri La


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061988349


Lost in Shangri La Book Description :

On May 13, 1945, twenty-four American servicemen and WACs boarded a transport plane for a sightseeing trip over “Shangri-La,” a beautiful and mysterious valley deep within the jungle-covered mountains of Dutch New Guinea. Unlike the peaceful Tibetan monks of James Hilton’s bestselling novel Lost Horizon, this Shangri-La was home to spear-carrying tribesmen, warriors rumored to be cannibals. But the pleasure tour became an unforgettable battle for survival when the plane crashed. Miraculously, three passengers pulled through. Margaret Hastings, barefoot and burned, had no choice but to wear her dead best friend’s shoes. John McCollom, grieving the death of his twin brother also aboard the plane, masked his grief with stoicism. Kenneth Decker, ...

Lost in Shangri La  Escape from a Hidden World   A True Story

Lost in Shangri La Escape from a Hidden World A True Story


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2011-04-28
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780007432554


Lost in Shangri La Escape from a Hidden World A True Story Book Description :

An utterly gripping non-fiction adventure narrative, 'Lost in Shangri-La' is an untold true story of war, anthropology, survival, discovery, heroism, and a near-impossible rescue mission....

Vaguely Lost in Shangri La

Vaguely Lost in Shangri La


  • Author : Barry Lewis
  • Publisher : Flood Gallery
  • Release Date : 2017-06-18
  • Genre: Glastonbury Festival
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1911374036


Vaguely Lost in Shangri La Book Description :

Award winning Photographer Barry Lewis has, for more than a decade, captured the very essence of the Glastonbury experience. From Lost Vagueness, to Shangri-La, Barry's photography is a celebration of the more eccentric, colourful, weird and wonderful side of the iconic festival....

Frozen in Time
Score: 4
From 23 Ratings

Frozen in Time


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2013-04-23
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062133410


Frozen in Time Book Description :

#1 New York Times bestseller Frozen in Time is a gripping true story of survival, bravery, and honor in the vast Arctic wilderness during World War II, from the author of New York Times bestseller Lost in Shangri-La. On November 5, 1942, a US cargo plane slammed into the Greenland Ice Cap. Four days later, the B-17 assigned to the search-and-rescue mission became lost in a blinding storm and also crashed. Miraculously, all nine men on board survived, and the US military launched a daring rescue operation. But after picking up one man, the Grumman Duck amphibious plane flew into a severe storm and vanished. Frozen in Time tells the story of these crashes and the fate of the survivors, bringing vividly to life their battle to endure 148 days of the bru...

Lost Horizon
Score: 3.5
From 49 Ratings

Lost Horizon


  • Author : James Hilton
  • Publisher : Librorium Editions
  • Release Date : 2019-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9783966105477


Lost Horizon Book Description :

In 1931, four people, including Glory Conway, escape the political unrest in Baskul, China by boarding a plane, bound for Peshawar. The plane, however, much to their dismay, has been hijacked and eventually crash lands deep in the far reaches of the Tibetan Himalayas. Seeking shelter, the group soon finds themselves in the valley of the blue moon, guests at a lamasery, called Shangri-La....

Lost in Shangri La  A True Story of Survival  Adventure  and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II

Lost in Shangri La A True Story of Survival Adventure and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Harper
  • Release Date : 2011-04-26
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 :


Lost in Shangri La A True Story of Survival Adventure and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II Book Description :

Amazon.com Review Lost in Shangri-La, Mitchell Zuckoff’s remarkable and inspiring narrative. Faced with the potential brutality of the Dani tribe, known throughout the valley for its violence, the trio’s lives were dependent on an unprecedented rescue mission--a dedicated group of paratroopers jumped into the jungle to provide aid and medical care, consequently leaving the survivors and paratroopers alike trapped on the jungle floor. A perilous rescue by plane became their only possible route to freedom. A riveting story of deliverance under the most unlikely circumstances, Lost in Shangri-La deserves its place among the great survival stories of World War II. --Lynette Mong Amazon Exclusive: Hampton Sides Reviews Lost in Shangri-La Outside magaz...

Shangri la

Shangri la


  • Author : Eleanor Cooney
  • Publisher : William Morrow & Company
  • Release Date : 1996
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015037762724


Shangri la Book Description :

An epic sequel to James Hilton's classic 1933 novel finds Hugh Conway back in Tibet during China's Cultural Revolution, marshalling his forces to forestall a Chinese general who is determined to plunder the riches of Shangri-La. By the authors of Court of the Lion....

Ponzi s Scheme
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

Ponzi s Scheme


  • Author : Mitchell Zuckoff
  • Publisher : Random House Trade Paperbacks
  • Release Date : 2006
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812968361


Ponzi s Scheme Book Description :

A look at the career of the man who developed the most famous scheme in American finance explains how, in 1920, Charles Ponzi raked in millions of dollars from investors by promising them he could double their investments in three months....

The Shangri La Diet
Score: 3.5
From 9 Ratings

The Shangri La Diet


  • Author : Seth Roberts
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2007-04-24
  • Genre: Health & Fitness
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1101042869


The Shangri La Diet Book Description :

As seen in the New York Times and on Good Morning America-now updated by the author. Imagine a diet that's as easy as "a spoonful of sugar" (or extra-light olive oil) twice a day. A diet that actually reduces appetite and cravings. A diet that's based on a wealth of scientific findings but is simple enough for anyone to stick to. A diet with results that amaze almost everyone who tries it. Psychology professor Seth Roberts asks a simple question most weight-loss experts haven't thought to tackle: What makes people hungry? Based on a new understanding of how the human body regulates hunger, The Shangri-La Diet presents a strikingly simple and surprisingly effective way to lose weight-without giving up favorite foods. Simple and counterintuitive, this ...

Death in Shangri La
Score: 4
From 4 Ratings

Death in Shangri La


  • Author : Yigal Zur
  • Publisher : Oceanview Publishing
  • Release Date : 2018-08-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781608093007


Death in Shangri La Book Description :

Perfect for fans of Nelson DeMille and Daniel Silva Ex-Israeli operative turned private investigator, Dotan Naor—to settle a bet—agrees to locate the missing son of former acquaintance, now ruthless Israeli arms merchant, Willy Mizrachi. Willy, who does not hesitate to sell killing machines to the most heinous players in the world, is desperate to find his only son, Itiel, who has headed to an ashram in the Himalayas. The Himalayas are also host to groups of young Israelis who have completed their mandatory military service—a sort of rite of passage. Now, those innocent kids are being hunted down by violent terrorists. India and the disputed Kashmir region between India and Pakistan is familiar territory to Dotan, as he searches for Itiel and f...