Make It Stick
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Make It Stick


  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release Date : 2014-04-14
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780674729018


Make It Stick Book Description :

Discusses the best methods of learning, describing how rereading and rote repetition are counterproductive and how such techniques as self-testing, spaced retrieval, and finding additional layers of information in new material can enhance learning....

Make It Stick
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Make It Stick


  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release Date : 2014-04-14
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780674419384


Make It Stick Book Description :

Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement....

Make It Stick
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Make It Stick


  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Belknap Press
  • Release Date : 2018-08
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0674986571


Make It Stick Book Description :

A Chronicle of Higher Education "Top 10 Books on Teaching" Selection To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. "If you want to read a lively and engaging book on the science of learning, this is a must." --Hazel Christie, Times Higher Education "Many educators are interested in making use of recent findings about the human brain and how we learn....

Make It Stick
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Make It Stick


  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release Date : 2014-04-14
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780674419384


Make It Stick Book Description :

Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement....

Powerful Teaching

Powerful Teaching


  • Author : Pooja K. Agarwal
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release Date : 2019-05-13
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781119521839


Powerful Teaching Book Description :

Unleash powerful teaching and the science of learning in your classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning empowers educators to harness rigorous research on how students learn and unleash it in their classrooms. In this book, cognitive scientist Pooja K. Agarwal, Ph.D., and veteran K–12 teacher Patrice M. Bain, Ed.S., decipher cognitive science research and illustrate ways to successfully apply the science of learning in classrooms settings. This practical resource is filled with evidence-based strategies that are easily implemented in less than a minute—without additional prepping, grading, or funding! Research demonstrates that these powerful strategies raise student achievement by a letter grade or more; boost learning for div...

Making Learning Stick

Making Learning Stick


  • Author : Barbara Carnes
  • Publisher : American Society for Training and Development
  • Release Date : 2010
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781562866792


Making Learning Stick Book Description :

Make Learning Stick is a practical, easy-to-use resource aimed at helping trainers hit the sweet spot of training application on the job. Author Barbara Carnes offers a treasure trove of techniques based on 26 years of experience. The book contains detailed step-by-step instructions for each of the 20 techniques along with dozens of variations likely to suit any training situation. Additional examples are provided on an associated website and are available for downloading....

Teach Yourself How to Learn

Teach Yourself How to Learn


  • Author : Saundra Yancy McGuire
  • Publisher : Stylus Publishing, LLC
  • Release Date : 2018-01-31
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781620367582


Teach Yourself How to Learn Book Description :

Following up on her acclaimed Teach Students How to Learn, that describes teaching strategies to facilitate dramatic improvements in student learning and success, Saundra McGuire here presents these “secrets” direct to students. Her message is that “Any student can use simple, straightforward strategies to start making A’s in their courses and enjoy a lifetime of deep, effective learning.” Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners. This framework and the recommended strategies that support it a...

Make it Stick
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Make it Stick


  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2014
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : OCLC:1010507283


Make it Stick Book Description :

...

How We Learn
Score: 3.5
From 27 Ratings

How We Learn


  • Author : Benedict Carey
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2014-09-09
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812993899


How We Learn Book Description :

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital. But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort? In How We Learn, award-winning science repo...

Made to Stick
Score: 4
From 2,359 Ratings

Made to Stick


  • Author : Chip Heath
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2007-01-02
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781588365965


Made to Stick Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The instant classic about why some ideas thrive, why others die, and how to improve your idea’s chances—essential reading in the “fake news” era. Mark Twain once observed, “A lie can get halfway around the world before the truth can even get its boots on.” His observation rings true: Urban legends, conspiracy theories, and bogus news stories circulate effortlessly. Meanwhile, people with important ideas—entrepreneurs, teachers, politicians, and journalists—struggle to make them “stick.” In Made to Stick, Chip and Dan Heath reveal the anatomy of ideas that stick and explain ways to make ideas stickier, such as applying the human scale principle, using the Velcro Theory of Memory, and creating curiosity...