The Great British Book of Baking

The Great British Book of Baking


  • Author: Linda Collister
  • Release Date : 2010-09-09
  • Genre: Methods
  • File Size: 149704687 Bytes


Wooden spoons at the ready for Linda Collister's The Great British Book of Baking.This is the official book to accompany the hit BBC2 TV series The Great British Bake-off, presented by Sue Perkins and Mel Giedroyc. This book takes us on a tour of the very best in baking our nation has to offer -- from Eccles cakes to Cornish pasties, Chelsea buns to Scottish gingerbread. With trips to notable landmarks from baking history -- Melton Mowbray and Sandwich among the more famous, as well as locally loved secrets from towns and villages around the country -- the book highlights the importance of baking as part of our national heritage.Over 120 recipes, as well as numerous adaptations and suggestions, cover the whole range of baking skills from sweet jam ta...

The Liverpool Nightingales

The Liverpool Nightingales


  • Author: Kate Eastham
  • Release Date : 2019-02-21
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
  • File Size: 10302590 Bytes


A heart-warming and moving tale of courage and friendship set in Victorian Liverpool, for fans of Call the Midwife, Daisy Styles and Nadine Dorries. 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own__________Liverpool, 1870One act of kindness will change a young woman's life forever . . .On the dirty backstreets of Liverpool, housemaid Maud Linklater witnesses an appalling accident. Rushing young chimney-sweep Alfie to hospital, she helps nurse the boy on the overcrowded ward - and finds herself with a new job. Maud cannot believe her luck at joining trainees Alice and Eddy at the new Nurses' Training School and they form the closest of bonds. Then one day Alfie is abducted. Maud and the girls know the alleyways and slums of Liverpool are no place for a lost l...

Story of a New Name
Score: 4
From 2,423 Ratings

Story of a New Name


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions UK
  • Release Date : 2013-09-12
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609451479


Story of a New Name Book Description :

"Elena Ferrante may be the best contemporary novelist you have never heard of... If the best prose is like glass communicating without calling attention to itself Ms Ferrante's is crystal, and her storytelling both visceral and compelling" --The Economist 'While this trilogy is providing a captivating social history of mid-20th Neapolitan life it is primarily the story of a friendship.' --Lizzy's Literary Life...

My Brilliant Friend
Score: 3.5
From 98 Ratings

My Brilliant Friend


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2020-03-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609456405


My Brilliant Friend Book Description :

Now an HBO series: the first volume in the New York Times–bestselling “enduring masterpiece” about a lifelong friendship between two women from Naples (The Atlantic). Beginning in the 1950s in a poor but vibrant neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples, Elena Ferrante’s four-volume story spans almost sixty years, as its main characters, the fiery and unforgettable Lila and the bookish narrator, Elena, become women, wives, mothers, and leaders, all the while maintaining a complex and at times conflicted friendship. This first novel in the series follows Lila and Elena from their fateful meeting as ten-year-olds through their school years and adolescence. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, a...

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2014-09-02
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609452230


Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay Book Description :

Part of the bestselling saga about childhood friends following different paths by “one of the great novelists of our time” (The New York Times). In the third book in the New York Times–bestselling Neapolitan quartet that inspired the HBO series My Brilliant Friend, Elena and Lila have grown into womanhood. Lila married at sixteen and has a young son; she has left her husband and the comforts her marriage brought and now works as a common laborer. Elena has left the neighborhood, earned her college degree, and published a successful novel, all of which has opened the doors to a world of learned interlocutors and richly furnished salons. Both women are pushing against the walls of a prison that would have seen them living a life of misery, ignora...

The Lost Daughter
Score: 3.5
From 7 Ratings

The Lost Daughter


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2008-03-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609451035


The Lost Daughter Book Description :

Basis for the upcoming Maggie Gyllenhaal film starring Olivia Colman: An edgy tale of mixed feelings and motherhood by the author of My Brilliant Friend. Leda, a middle-aged divorcée, is alone for the first time in years after her two adult daughters leave home to live with their father in Toronto. Enjoying an unexpected sense of liberty, she heads to the Ionian coast for a vacation. But she soon finds herself intrigued by Nina, a young mother on the beach, eventually striking up a conversation with her. After Nina confides a dark secret, one seemingly trivial occurrence leads to events that could destroy Nina’s family in this “arresting” novel by the author of the New York Times–bestselling Neapolitan Novels, which have sold millions of cop...

My Brilliant Friend  tv Tie in
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

My Brilliant Friend tv Tie in


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2018-11-29
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1787701743


My Brilliant Friend tv Tie in Book Description :

A modern masterpiece from one of Italy's most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense and generous hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante's inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature of friendship. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighbourhood, a city and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her two protagonists....

After Electra

After Electra


  • Author : April De Angelis
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release Date : 2015-04-23
  • Genre: Drama
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780571326167


After Electra Book Description :

I blame the books they learned to read with. Daddy at the office. Mummy looking out of the window while she's washing up. I should have burnt them. It's Virgie's eighty-fourth birthday and she is bucking convention. But, always more committed as an artist than a mother, Virgie has not reckoned on her family and friends' determination to thwart her plans. A moving black comedy that reimagines the meaning of family, April De Angelis' After Electra premiered at the Theatre Royal Plymouth, in April 2015 before transferring to the Tricycle Theatre, London....

The Days of Abandonment
Score: 3.5
From 16 Ratings

The Days of Abandonment


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2005-09-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609450298


The Days of Abandonment Book Description :

From the New York Times–bestselling author of My Brilliant Friend, this novel of a deserted wife’s descent into despair—and rage—is “a masterpiece” (The Philadelphia Inquirer). The Days of Abandonment is the gripping story of an Italian woman’s experiences after being suddenly left by her husband after fifteen years of marriage. With two young children to care for, Olga finds it more and more difficult to do the things she used to: keep a spotless house, cook meals with creativity and passion, refrain from using obscenities. After running into her husband with his much-younger new lover in public, she cannot even refrain from assaulting him physically. In a “raging, torrential voice” (The New York Times), Olga conveys her journey fr...

The Beach at Night

The Beach at Night


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2016-11-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609453718


The Beach at Night Book Description :

A “beautifully written” dark fable from a doll’s point of view—by the New York Times–bestselling author of The Lost Daughter and the Neapolitan Novels (The Washington Post). One of NPR’s Best Books of the Year. Readers of Elena Ferrante’s The Lost Daughter may recall the little doll—lost or stolen—around which that novel revolves. Here, Ferrante retells the tale from the doll’s perspective. Celina is having a terrible night, one full of jealousy for the new kitten, Minù; feelings of abandonment and sadness; misadventures at the hands of the beach attendant; and dark dreams. But she will be happily found by Mati, her child, once the sun rises . . . “Everyone should read anything with Ferrante’s name on it.” —The Boston Glo...

Frantumaglia
Score: 2
From 1 Ratings

Frantumaglia


  • Author : Elena Ferrante
  • Publisher : Europa Editions
  • Release Date : 2016-11-01
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609453046


Frantumaglia Book Description :

One of The Guardian’s Best Books of the Year: Personal writings by the anonymous author who became a literary phenomenon with My Brilliant Friend. The writer known as Elena Ferrante has taken pains to hide her identity in the hope that readers would focus on her body of work. But in this volume, she invites us into Elena Ferrante’s workshop and offers a glimpse into the drawers of her writing desk—those drawers from which emerged her three early standalone novels and the four installments of the Neapolitan Novels, the New York Times–bestselling “enduring masterpiece” (The Atlantic). Consisting of over twenty years of letters, essays, reflections, and interviews, it is a unique depiction of an author who embodies a consummate passion for w...

Girl s Best Friend
Score: 5
From 3 Ratings

Girl s Best Friend


  • Author : Leslie Margolis
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2010-10-12
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 159990649X


Girl s Best Friend Book Description :

Nancy Drew fans will fall for the first title in Leslie Margolis's pitch-perfect middle-grade series, The Maggie Brooklyn Mysteries. Dogs are disappearing in her neighborhood, and Maggie Brooklyn Sinclair knows all about it. After all, she has a semi-secret after-school gig as a professional (ok, amateur) dog-walker. Maggie hates to see a pup in trouble, so she's even willing to help her ex-best friend Ivy recover her rescue-dog, Kermit. Kermit's being held for ransom, and Maggie has noticed some suspicious behavior lately. But she never suspected her crush Milo could be involved . . . Don't miss these other stories by Leslie Margolis: The Maggie Brooklyn Mysteries Girl's Best Friend Vanishing Acts Secrets at the Chocolate Mansion The Annabelle Unlea...