Newspaper Blackout
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

Newspaper Blackout


  • Author : Austin Kleon
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-03-18
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061989940


Newspaper Blackout Book Description :

“Some of the results are hilarious, some are profound and even unsettling, but they are never bland or boring.” — Ephermerist Newspaper article + sharpie = Newspaper Blackout Poetry: Instead of starting with a blank page, poet Austin Kleon grabs a newspaper and a permanent marker and eliminates the words he doesn’t need. Fans of Not Quite What I Was Planning and Post Secret will love these unique and compelling poems culled from Austin’s popular website....

A Little White Shadow
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

A Little White Shadow


  • Author : Mary Ruefle
  • Publisher : Wave Books
  • Release Date : 2006-05-01
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781933517032


A Little White Shadow Book Description :

An exquisite art book of gentle and elegant found poetry....

Learning by Heart

Learning by Heart


  • Author : Corita Kent
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2008-10-14
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781621535904


Learning by Heart Book Description :

Tap into your natural ability to create! Engaging, proven exercises for developing creativity Priceless resource for teachers, artists, actors, everyone Artist and educator Corita Kent inspired generations of artists, and the truth of her words "We can all talk, we can all write, and if the blocks are removed, we can all draw and paint and make things" still shines through. This revised edition of her classic work Learning by Heart features a new foreword and a chart of curriculum standards. Kent's original projects and exercises, developed through more than 30 years as an art teacher and richly illustrated with 300 thought-provoking images, are as inspiring and as freeing today as they were during her lifetime. Learn how to challenge fears, be open ...

Wounded Writers Ask  Am I Doing it Write

Wounded Writers Ask Am I Doing it Write


  • Author : S. Rebecca Leigh
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2014-09-24
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9789462097131


Wounded Writers Ask Am I Doing it Write Book Description :

This book addresses (and aims to dismantle) writer woundedness, a state of being that prevents students from trusting themselves as capable of writing something they can feel good about. Wounded Writers Ask: Am I Doing it Write? invites students to begin a new writing history through a collection of 48 free-writes that explore list writing, aesthetic writing, word craft, and writing that delves into personal life stories. These free-writes are invitations to develop a lead or improve a story title, to discover a character’s name or replace one word for another that is more vivid, to locate a story idea or revise a story’s focus. More than this, Wounded Writers Ask: Am I Doing it Write? emphasizes creative consciousness over correctness, where wri...

Failing Newspaper Act

Failing Newspaper Act


  • Author : United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Antitrust and Monopoly
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1967
  • Genre: Antitrust law
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : MINN:31951D02113484Z


Failing Newspaper Act Book Description :

Considers S. 1312, to exempt from the antitrust laws certain combinations and arrangements necessary for the survival of failing newspapers. Includes report "Newspaper Monopolies and the Antitrust Laws, a Study of the Failing Newspaper Act;" by International Typographical Union, 1967 (p. 125-172)....

Make Blackout Poetry
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Make Blackout Poetry


  • Author : John Carroll
  • Publisher : Harry N. Abrams
  • Release Date : 2018-09-04
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1419732498


Make Blackout Poetry Book Description :

A collection of texts that you can repurpose for your own poems. Make your own ingenious remix of words by Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, and Victor Hugo. Find hidden gems in vintage etiquette manuals, slang dictionaries, newspapers, and more...

Blackout
Score: 4
From 529 Ratings

Blackout


  • Author : Sarah Hepola
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release Date : 2015-06-23
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781455554577


Blackout Book Description :

*A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* For Sarah Hepola, alcohol was "the gasoline of all adventure." She spent her evenings at cocktail parties and dark bars where she proudly stayed till last call. Drinking felt like freedom, part of her birthright as a strong, enlightened twenty-first-century woman. But there was a price. She often blacked out, waking up with a blank space where four hours should be. Mornings became detective work on her own life. What did I say last night? How did I meet that guy? She apologized for things she couldn't remember doing, as though she were cleaning up after an evil twin. Publicly, she covered her shame with self-deprecating jokes, and her career flourished, but as the blackouts accumulated, she could no longer avoid a sinkin...

Cultural Meanings of News

Cultural Meanings of News


  • Author : Daniel A. Berkowitz
  • Publisher : SAGE
  • Release Date : 2010-03-30
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781412967655


Cultural Meanings of News Book Description :

What is news? Why does news turn out like it does? What factors influence the creation, production, and dissemination of news? Cultural Meanings of News takes on these deceptively simple questions through an essential collection of seminal and contemporary studies by leaders in the fields of mass communication and media studies. Similar in format and purpose to editor Dan Berkowitz's award-winning Social Meanings of News, this new volume represents a conceptual update, a continuation of the discourse about the nature of news and how it comes to be, moving ideas ahead from the earlier tradition of sociological approaches to the more pervasive cultural perspectives that inform understandings about news. Cultural Meanings of News provides a carefully se...

Law and order News

Law and order News


  • Author : Steve Chibnall
  • Publisher : Psychology Press
  • Release Date : 2003
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0415264081


Law and order News Book Description :

Tavistock Press was established as a co-operative venture between the Tavistock Institute and Routledge & Kegan Paul (RKP) in the 1950s to produce a series of major contributions across the social sciences. This volume is part of a 2001 reissue of a selection of those important works which have since gone out of print, or are difficult to locate. Published by Routledge, 112 volumes in total are being brought together under the name The International Behavioural and Social Sciences Library: Classics from the Tavistock Press. Reproduced here in facsimile, this volume was originally published in 1977 and is available individually. The collection is also available in a number of themed mini-sets of between 5 and 13 volumes, or as a complete collection....