Patient H M
Score: 3.5
From 12 Ratings

Patient H M


  • Author : Luke Dittrich
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2016-08-09
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780679643807


Patient H M Book Description :

“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge. Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • New York Post • NPR • The Economist • New York • Wired • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison—who suffered from severe epilepsy—received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the m...

Permanent Present Tense

Permanent Present Tense


  • Author : Suzanne Corkin
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release Date : 2013-05-14
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780465033492


Permanent Present Tense Book Description :

In 1953, 27-year-old Henry Gustave Molaison underwent an experimental “psychosurgical” procedure—a targeted lobotomy—in an effort to alleviate his debilitating epilepsy. The outcome was unexpected—when Henry awoke, he could no longer form new memories, and for the rest of his life would be trapped in the moment. But Henry’s tragedy would prove a gift to humanity. As renowned neuroscientist Suzanne Corkin explains in Permanent Present Tense, she and her colleagues brought to light the sharp contrast between Henry’s crippling memory impairment and his preserved intellect. This new insight that the capacity for remembering is housed in a specific brain area revolutionized the science of memory. The case of Henry—known only by his initial...

Remembering

Remembering


  • Author : Donald G. MacKay
  • Publisher : Prometheus Books
  • Release Date : 2019-01-29
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781633884083


Remembering Book Description :

The psychologist who worked with a famous amnesiac patient for fifty years explains what his studies show about how memory functions and ways to keep the brain sharp. At age twenty-seven, Henry Molaison underwent brain surgery to remedy life-threatening epilepsy. This operation inadvertently destroyed his hippocampus, the engine in the brain for forming new memories. Henry--until recently, known only as Patient H.M.--suffered catastrophic memory failures for the rest of his life and he became the most studied amnesia patient in the history of the world. Dr. Donald MacKay's studies with Henry span fifty years. They reveal the profound importance of memory. Memory decline impacts everything that makes a normal human mind and brain worth having: creativ...

Patient H M
Score: 3.5
From 12 Ratings

Patient H M


  • Author : Luke Dittrich
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2016-08-09
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780679643807


Patient H M Book Description :

“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge. Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • New York Post • NPR • The Economist • New York • Wired • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison—who suffered from severe epilepsy—received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the m...

Summary and Analysis of Patient H M   A Story of Memory  Madness  and Family Secrets

Summary and Analysis of Patient H M A Story of Memory Madness and Family Secrets


  • Author : Worth Books
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release Date : 2017-05-16
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781504046466


Summary and Analysis of Patient H M A Story of Memory Madness and Family Secrets Book Description :

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of Patient H.M. tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Luke Dittrich’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Profiles of the main characters Detailed timeline of key events Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About Patient H.M. by Luke Dittrich: Patient H.M. tells the extraordinary true story of Henry Molaison, a young man who underwent a ...

The History of Neuroscience in Autobiography

The History of Neuroscience in Autobiography


  • Author : Larry R. Squire
  • Publisher : Elsevier
  • Release Date : 1998-10-16
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780080534053


The History of Neuroscience in Autobiography Book Description :

This book is the second volume of autobiographical essays by distinguished senior neuroscientists; it is part of the first collection of neuroscience writing that is primarily autobiographical. As neuroscience is a young discipline, the contributors to this volume are truly pioneers of scientific research on the brain and spinal cord. This collection of fascinating essays should inform and inspire students and working scientists alike. The general reader interested in science may also find the essays absorbing, as they are essentially human stories about commitment and the pursuit of knowledge. The contributors included in this volume are: Lloyd M. Beidler, Arvid Carlsson, Donald R. Griffin, Roger Guillemin, Ray Guillery, Masao Ito. Martin G. Larrabe...

The Perpetual Now
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Perpetual Now


  • Author : Michael D. Lemonick
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2018-01-16
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101872536


The Perpetual Now Book Description :

"The story of Lonni Sue Johnson, a talented artist, musician and amateur pilot who lost all capacity for short term memory when she suffered encephalitis and the amazing scientific discoveries her condition has inspired"--...

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat  And Other Clinical Tales
Score: 3.5
From 3,416 Ratings

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat And Other Clinical Tales


  • Author : Oliver Sacks
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780684853949


The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat And Other Clinical Tales Book Description :

Presents a series of stories about men and women who, representing both medical and literary oddities, raise fundamental questions about the nature of reality...

The Telling Room
Score: 3.5
From 36 Ratings

The Telling Room


  • Author : Michael Paterniti
  • Publisher : Dial Press
  • Release Date : 2013-07-30
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812994544


The Telling Room Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • Entertainment Weekly • Kirkus Reviews • The Christian Science Monitor In the picturesque village of Guzmán, Spain, in a cave dug into a hillside on the edge of town, an ancient door leads to a cramped limestone chamber known as “the telling room.” Containing nothing but a wooden table and two benches, this is where villagers have gathered for centuries to share their stories and secrets—usually accompanied by copious amounts of wine. It was here, in the summer of 2000, that Michael Paterniti found himself listening to a larger-than-life Spanish cheesemaker named Ambrosio Molinos de las Heras as he spun an odd and compelling tale about a piece of cheese. An unu...

Dignity Therapy

Dignity Therapy


  • Author : Harvey Max Chochinov
  • Publisher : OUP USA
  • Release Date : 2012-01-04
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780195176216


Dignity Therapy Book Description :

Maintaining dignity for patients approaching death is a core principle of palliative care. Dignity therapy, a psychological intervention developed by Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov and his internationally lauded research group, has been designed specifically to address many of the psychological, existential, and spiritual challenges that patients and their families face as they grapple with the reality of life drawing to a close. In the first book to lay out the blueprint for this unique and meaningful intervention, Chochinov addresses one of the most important dimensions of being human. Being alive means being vulnerable and mortal; he argues that dignity therapy offers a way to preserve meaning and hope for patients approaching death. With history and fo...