Score: 5
From 7 Ratings

Iron Man


  • Author: Tony Iommi
  • Release Date : 2012-12-11
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: 4060453 Bytes


Black Sabbath is currently on “The End Tour,” which they have proclaimed as their final concert tour. Iron Man chronicles the story of both pioneering guitarist Tony Iommi and legendary band Black Sabbath, dubbed “The Beatles of heavy metal” by Rolling Stone. Iron Man reveals the man behind the icon yet still captures Iommi's humor, intelligence, and warmth. He speaks honestly and unflinchingly about his rough-and-tumble childhood, the accident that almost ended his career, his failed marriages, personal tragedies, battles with addiction, band mates, famous friends, newfound daughter, and the ups and downs of his life as an artist. Everything associated with hard rock happened to Black Sabbath first: the drugs, the debauchery, the drinking, ...

On Painting


  • Author: Leon Alberti & Cecil Grayson
  • Release Date : 2005-03-31
  • Genre: Art History
  • File Size: 6470558 Bytes


Artist, architect, poet and philosopher, Leon Battista Alberti revolutionized the history of art with his theories of perspective in On Painting (1435). Inspired by the order and beauty inherent in nature, his groundbreaking work sets out the principles of distance, dimension and proportion; instructs the painter on how to use the rules of composition, representation, light and colour to create work that is graceful and pleasing to the eye; and stipulates the moral and artistic pre-requisites of the successful painter. On Painting had an immediate and profound influence on Italian Renaissance artists including Ghiberti, Fra Angelico and Veneziano and on later figures such as Leonardo da Vinci, and remains a compelling theory of art....

Reality Through the Arts

Reality Through the Arts


  • Author : Dennis J. Sporre
  • Publisher : Prentice Hall
  • Release Date : 2013
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0205858228


Reality Through the Arts Book Description :

" ... provides both a topical and chronological approach to the humanities. Part I, "The Media of the Arts," offers independent chapters on two dimensional art (drawing, painting, printmaking, and photography), sculpture, architecture, music, literature, theatre, cinema, and dance. Part II, "The Styles of the Arts," is a chronological history of the arts of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, organized by artistic discipline and focusing on styles rather than encyclopedic detail."--Publisher....

The Artist s Reality
Score: 2.5
From 3 Ratings

The Artist s Reality


  • Author : Mark Rothko
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release Date : 2006-03-23
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780300115857


The Artist s Reality Book Description :

This recently discovered manuscript by the celebrated artist Mark Rothko offers a landmark discussion of his views on topics ranging from the Renaissance to contemporary art, criticism, and the role of art and artists in society....

The A to Z of Arts Management

The A to Z of Arts Management


  • Author : Ann Tonks
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2020-03-17
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781000032635


The A to Z of Arts Management Book Description :

The A to Z of Arts Management, Second Edition covers 97 topics about the management of arts and cultural organisations. Each section offers a theoretical and conceptual introduction to the topic, as well as storytelling and reflections about the meaning and application of such theories in the real world. Drawing on the author’s past as a manager running media and performing arts companies and her present as a consultant helping Boards and managers, this book covers a wide range of topics, from leadership, motivation and cultural policy to passion, coffee and laughter. This second edition includes even more coverage and stories about the challenges of arts management, and new topics such as harassment, philanthropy and venues. Written for arts manag...

The Reality Bubble

The Reality Bubble


  • Author : Ziya Tong
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release Date : 2019-10-03
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781838850500


The Reality Bubble Book Description :

What are we not seeing? Our naked eyes see only a thin sliver of reality. We are blind in comparison to the X-rays that peer through skin, and the animals that can see in infrared or ultraviolet or with 360-degree vision. In The Reality Bubble, Ziya Tong illuminates this hidden world and takes us on a journey to examine ten of humanity’s biggest blind spots. What she reveals is not on the things we didn’t evolve to see but, more dangerously, the blindness of modern society. Fast-paced, utterly fascinating and deeply humane, this vitally important book gives voice to the sense we’ve all had – that there is more to the world than meets the eye....

Real Presences
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

Real Presences


  • Author : George Steiner
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release Date : 2013-04-16
  • Genre: Philosophy
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781480411845


Real Presences Book Description :

Distinguished essayist and literary critic George Steiner explores the power and presence of the unseen in art There is a philosophical school of thought that believes the presence of God in art, literature, and music—in creativity in general—is a vacant metaphor, an eroded figure of speech, a ghost in humanity’s common parlance. George Steiner posits the opposite—that any coherent understanding of language and art, any capacity to communicate meaning and feeling, is premised on God. In doing so, he argues against the kind of criticism that obscures, instead of elucidates, meaning. From the power of language to vital philosophical tenets, Real Presences examines the role of meaning and of the spiritual in art throughout history and across cul...

The Changing Concept of Reality in Art

The Changing Concept of Reality in Art


  • Author : Deborah Rosenthal
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2013-01-28
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781611458602


The Changing Concept of Reality in Art Book Description :

"The transmutation of artistic form," writes Erwin Rosenthal, "depends on individual decisions and cultural development. But there are basic laws of self-expression which do not change, which are perpetual because they accord with the structure of the human mind and soul." These penetrating studies explore the deep psychological and formal affinities between defining figures of their epochs—from Giotto and Dante through Picasso—and illuminate ways that artists and thinkers encounter the world and translate it through the unique language of imagination. The principal sections of this important book are: ·Giotto and Dante ·Picasso, Painter and Engraver ·Giotto and Picasso ·The Condition of Modern Art and Thought...

Life the Movie

Life the Movie


  • Author : Neal Gabler
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2000
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780375706530


Life the Movie Book Description :

Examining such diverse topics as O. J. Simpson, Martha Stewart, Court TV, and Clinton vs. Kenneth Starr, an awardwinning writer explores the transformation of modern life into an entertainment medium, explaining how everything from religion to politics has become a form of show business. Reprint. 17,500 first printing....

Arts   Entertainments
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

Arts Entertainments


  • Author : Christopher Beha
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-07-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062322470


Arts Entertainments Book Description :

Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity—a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter. A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys’ prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many. Weighted down with debt, his wife’s mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impre...

Augmented Reality Art

Augmented Reality Art


  • Author : Vladimir Geroimenko
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2014-06-17
  • Genre: Computers
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9783319062037


Augmented Reality Art Book Description :

Written by a team of world-renowned artists, researchers and practitioners - all pioneers in using augmented reality based creative works and installations as a new form of art - this is the first book to explore the exciting new field of augmented reality art and its enabling technologies. As well as investigating augmented reality as a novel artistic medium the book covers cultural, social, spatial and cognitive facets of augmented reality art. Intended as a starting point for exploring this new fascinating area of research and creative practice it will be essential reading not only for artists, researchers and technology developers, but also for students (graduates and undergraduates) and all those interested in emerging augmented reality technolo...