Sapiens
Score: 4.5
From 2,080 Ratings

Sapiens


  • Author: Yuval Noah Harari
  • Release Date : 2015-02-10
  • Genre: Life Sciences
  • File Size: 29896099 Bytes


New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one—homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us?Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ...

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind  Summary and Analysis
Score: 3.5
From 14 Ratings

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind Summary and Analysis


  • Author: Summary Station
  • Release Date : 2015-10-28
  • Genre: Social Science
  • File Size: 83677 Bytes


The human race developed from a complex background. Different types of Homo evolved depending on the area that they lived in. Neanderthals developed in the hotter climates of earth and are adapted best for this climate, and other Homos are best suited for the places they are found the most. After millions of years, Homo sapiens started to expand over the globe, mating and killing the local Homo species until it was Homo sapiens that dominated the earth. This can be seen in those native to different areas of the earth now, who possess around 1-5% of the genes of those Homos from that area.Once Homo sapiens were spread around the earth, a variety of changes happened over many thousands of years so they became adapted to finding food and functioning as ...

Sapiens
Score: 4
From 90 Ratings

Sapiens


  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release Date : 2014-10-28
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771038525


Sapiens Book Description :

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- a...

Sapiens
Score: 4
From 97 Ratings

Sapiens


  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2015-02-10
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062316103


Sapiens Book Description :

New York Times Bestseller A Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.” One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one—homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us? Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 yea...

Sapiens
Score: 4
From 94 Ratings

Sapiens


  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2014-09-04
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781448190690


Sapiens Book Description :

**THE MILLION COPY BESTSELLER** What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? Yuval Noah Harari challenges everything we know about being human in the perfect read for these unprecedented times. Earth is 4.5 billion years old. In just a fraction of that time, one species among countless others has conquered it: us. In this bold and provocative book, Yuval Noah Harari explores who we are, how we got here and where we’re going. ‘I would recommend Sapiens to anyone who’s interested in the history and future of our species’ Bill Gates ‘Interesting and provocative... It gives you a sense of how briefly we’ve been on this Earth’ Barack Obama **ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE 21st CENTURY**...

Summary   Study Guide   Sapiens

Summary Study Guide Sapiens


  • Author : Lee Tang
  • Publisher : LMT Press
  • Release Date : 2018-06-15
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781988970110


Summary Study Guide Sapiens Book Description :

How Humans Evolve from Insignificant Apes to Become the Rulers of the World This book is a summary of “Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind,” by Yuval Noah Harari. In Sapiens, Professor Yuval Noah Harari focuses on the three great revolutions of human history: Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific. He presents a hypothesis about how Homo sapiens transforms from an animal of no significance 70,000 years ago to become the rulers of the Earth. Earlier human species such as Homo neanderthalensis in Europe and Homo erectus in Asia had climate and environmental adaptations that sapiens did not have. The Cognitive Revolution between 70,000 and 30,000 years ago enabled the sapiens to form elaborate cultures and communicate in fiction. Myths, religions...

Summary   Sapiens

Summary Sapiens


  • Author : The Summary
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release Date : 2017-06-19
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1548233129


Summary Sapiens Book Description :

Sapiens: A Brief History of Mankind - A Complete Summary Seventy thousand years ago, there were at least six different human species on earth. They were insignificant animals whose ecological impact was less than that of fireflies or jellyfish. Today, there is only one human species left: Us. Homo sapiens. But we rule this planet. Sapiens, the book, takes us on a breath-taking ride through our entire human history, from its evolutionary roots to the age of capitalism and genetic engineering, to uncover why we are the way we are. Sapiens focuses on key processes that shaped humankind and the world around it, such as the advent or agriculture, the creation of money, the spread of religion and the rise of the nation state. Unlike other books of its kind...

Summary of Sapiens

Summary of Sapiens


  • Author : Summareads Media
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2020-03-02
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9798620464036


Summary of Sapiens Book Description :

Imagine Another Species of Human Standing Right In Front of You... Weird, right? Did you know that we are called Homo Sapiens... ... and there were many more species of human in the past? Ever wondered why we own Earth as we know it today? We're not the best swimmer, runner & we can't even fly. Interesting, isn't it? When did we begin to learn how to speak? When did we begin to believe in religion? What ACTUALLY happened to us? Sapiens is written by Yuval Noah Harari and first published in 2011. Since publication, it has been highly acclaimed and heavily criticized at the same time. Afterall, we're going back 70,000 years ago. Here's what you'll discover... --- Chapter 5: Why the Agricultural Revolution Wasn't the Book We Think It Was --- Chapter 7: ...

Summary and Analysis of Sapiens  A Brief History of Humankind

Summary and Analysis of Sapiens A Brief History of Humankind


  • Author : Worth Books
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release Date : 2017-03-07
  • Genre: Study Aids
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781504044721


Summary and Analysis of Sapiens A Brief History of Humankind Book Description :

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Yuval Noah Harari’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of Sapiens includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Character profiles Detailed timeline of key events Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari: Sapiens is a wide-ranging account of human history that upends the conventional wisdom about our specie...

Summary Of  Sapiens  A Brief History Of Humankind   By Yuval Noah Harari

Summary Of Sapiens A Brief History Of Humankind By Yuval Noah Harari


  • Author : Sapiens Editorial
  • Publisher : Sapiens Editorial
  • Release Date : 2017-09-28
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9783962554828


Summary Of Sapiens A Brief History Of Humankind By Yuval Noah Harari Book Description :

ABOUT THE ORIGINAL BOOK: "Sapiens" presents a pleasant and simple narrative about the extraordinary story of the evolution of mankind. In this work, it shows a detailed vision that everything we learn in school about history doesn't teach us anything about how our species spread throughout the world. How big cities and empires occurred, what made us believe in Gods, why did money arise? From that curious and interesting past, we are also presented with a projection into the future, towards the millenniums to come. It is a well narrated chronical of life. From the first humans that inhabited the earth, all the way to the considerable progress like the great cognitive, agricultural and scientific revolutions. This work has drawn interest from universit...

Summary

Summary


  • Author : Dean's Library
  • Publisher : Independently Published
  • Release Date : 2019-08-19
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1687374821


Summary Book Description :

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari (Book Summary) Important note: This is not the original book. This is a book summary of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari About: Our species, Homo sapiens, started as just another, biologically insignificant, animal among countless others, but at some point made a very quick "jump" to domination over other species that has left man anxious, destructive, and often miserable despite all our efforts to be happy. Yuval Noah Harari's book, 'Sapiens, ' traces the origins, mechanisms, and effects of what we think of as "human progress" from small bands of hunter-gatherers 100,000 years ago to the present-day global network through which our species has come to dominate the e...