Score: 4.5
From 31 Ratings

Sister Outsider


  • Author: Audre Lorde
  • Release Date : 2007-08-01
  • Genre: Social Science
  • File Size: 2449295 Bytes


Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. “[Lorde's] works will be important to those truly interested in growing up sensitive, intelligent, and aware.”—The New York Times In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde-scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophie...

Sister Outsider


  • Author: BookRags.com
  • Release Date : 2011-11-30
  • Genre: Education
  • File Size: 263577 Bytes


Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches Study Guide consists of approx. 43 pages of summaries and analysis on Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Audre Lorde....

Sister Outsider

Sister Outsider


  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : Crossing Press
  • Release Date : 2012-01-04
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307809049


Sister Outsider Book Description :

Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, SISTER OUTSIDER celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to “never close our...

The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde


  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release Date : 2000-02-17
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780393254402


The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde Book Description :

A complete collection—over 300 poems—from one of this country's most influential poets. "These are poems which blaze and pulse on the page."—Adrienne Rich "The first declaration of a black, lesbian feminist identity took place in these poems, and set the terms—beautifully, forcefully—for contemporary multicultural and pluralist debate."—Publishers Weekly "This is an amazing collection of poetry by . . . one of our best contemporary poets. . . . Her poems are powerful, often political, always lyrical and profoundly moving."—Chuckanut Reader Magazine "What a deep pleasure to encounter Audre Lorde's most potent genius . . . you will welcome the sheer accessibility and the force and beauty of this volume."—Out Magazine...

I Am Your Sister

I Am Your Sister


  • Author : Rudolph P. Byrd
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 2009-04-21
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780199887743


I Am Your Sister Book Description :

Audre Lorde was not only a famous poet; she was also one of the most important radical black feminists of the past century. Her writings and speeches grappled with an impressive broad list of topics, including sexuality, race, gender, class, disease, the arts, parenting, and resistance, and they have served as a transformative and important foundation for theorists and activists in considering questions of power and social justice. Lorde embraced difference, and at each turn she emphasized the importance of using it to build shared strength among marginalized communities. I Am Your Sister is a collection of Lorde's non-fiction prose, written between 1976 and 1990, and it introduces new perspectives on the depth and range of Lorde's intellectual inter...

Uses of the Erotic

Uses of the Erotic


  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : Crossing Press
  • Release Date : 1978
  • Genre: African American women
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UCSC:32106008466028


Uses of the Erotic Book Description :

...

Undersong

Undersong


  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton
  • Release Date : 1992
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0393309754


Undersong Book Description :

Features poems that affirm the conflicts, fears, and hopes of the poet in words conveying vision and courage...

Poetry Is Not a Luxury

Poetry Is Not a Luxury


  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019-07-18
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1951163001


Poetry Is Not a Luxury Book Description :

Poetry is Not a Luxury is an exhibition catalog for the 2019 exhibition of the same name. It considers how book arts have contributed to the recording of oppositional subjectivities in the U.S. The exhibition is titled after Audre Lorde's 1977 essay on the intersections of creativity and activism that were not only essential to her own work but to a diverse group of feminist thinkers at the time. Recognizing that both creative work and activism are driven by subjectivity, Lorde argues that for women poetry is not a luxury but a vital necessity, as it provides a framework through which survival and the desire for change can be articulated, conceptualized, and transformed into meaningful action.Featured artists:Aurora De Armendi with Adriana Mendez Rod...

The Awakening and Selected Short Stories
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

The Awakening and Selected Short Stories


  • Author : Kate Chopin
  • Publisher : GENERAL PRESS
  • Release Date : 2018-06-28
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9788180320293


The Awakening and Selected Short Stories Book Description :

The Awakening, originally titled A Solitary Soul, is a novel by Kate Chopin, first published in 1899. Set in New Orleans and the Southern Louisiana coast at the end of the nineteenth century, the plot centers on Edna Pontellier and her struggle to reconcile her increasingly unorthodox views on femininity and motherhood with the prevailing social attitudes of the turn-of-the-century American South. It is one of the earliest American novels that focuses on women's issues without condescension. It is also widely seen as a landmark work of early feminism, generating mixed reaction from contemporary readers and criticism. The novel's blend of realistic narrative, incisive social commentary, and psychological complexity makes The Awakening a precursor of A...

Juliet Takes a Breath
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

Juliet Takes a Breath


  • Author : Gabby Rivera
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2019-09-17
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780593108185


Juliet Takes a Breath Book Description :

A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo. Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she's not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite feminist writer--what's sure to be a life-changing experience. And when Juliet's coming out crashes and burns, she's not sure her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan--sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women's bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff, is sure to help her figure out this whole "Puerto Rican lesbian" thing. Except Har...