The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
Score: 4.5
From 57 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)


  • Author: Daniel James Brown
  • Release Date : 2015-09-08
  • Genre: History
  • File Size: 18449354 Bytes


The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation.  For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.   At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his gen...

The Boys in the Boat  Young Readers Adaptation
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat Young Readers Adaptation


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2015-09-08
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780698197596


The Boys in the Boat Young Readers Adaptation Book Description :

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler. At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation—the generation that woul...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,754 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Sports & Recreation
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101622742


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going o...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,747 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2014-05-27
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143125471


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint....

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,749 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2013-06-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781743512593


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler's Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others - and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures inst...

Unbroken
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

Unbroken


  • Author : Laura Hillenbrand
  • Publisher : Ember
  • Release Date : 2017-04-25
  • Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385742528


Unbroken Book Description :

Louis Zamperini, a clever young delinquent turned Olympic runner, became an airman when the war came. In 1943 his plane crashed into the Pacific Ocean, where sharks, a sinking raft, thirst, starvation, and enemy aircraft, tested his will and endurance....

Under a Flaming Sky
Score: 4
From 11 Ratings

Under a Flaming Sky


  • Author : Daniel Brown
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2016-02-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781493022014


Under a Flaming Sky Book Description :

On September 1, 1894 two forest fires converged on the town of Hinckley, Minnesota, trapping over 2,000 people. Daniel J. Brown recounts the events surrounding the fire in the first and only book on to chronicle the dramatic story that unfolded. Whereas Oregon's famous "Biscuit" fire in 2002 burned 350,000 acres in one week, the Hinckley fire did the same damage in five hours. The fire created its own weather, including hurricane-strength winds, bubbles of plasma-like glowing gas, and 200-foot-tall flames. In some instances, "fire whirls," or tornadoes of fire, danced out from the main body of the fire to knock down buildings and carry flaming debris into the sky. Temperatures reached 1,600 degrees Fahrenheit--the melting point of steel. As the fire ...

The Indifferent Stars Above LP
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Indifferent Stars Above LP


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2009-05-19
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061774737


The Indifferent Stars Above LP Book Description :

In April of 1846, Sarah Graves was twenty-one and in love with a young man who played the violin. But she was torn. Her mother, father, and eight siblings were about to disappear over the western horizon forever, bound for California. Sarah could not bear to see them go out of her life, and so days before the planned departure she married the young man with the violin, and the two of them threw their lot in with the rest of Sarah's family. On April 12, they rolled out of the yard of their homestead in three ox-drawn wagons. Seven months later, after joining a party of emigrants led by George Donner, Sarah and her family arrived at Truckee Lake in the Sierra Nevada Mountains just as the first heavy snows of the season closed the pass ahead of them. Af...

The Last Mission
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

The Last Mission


  • Author : Harry Mazer
  • Publisher : Laurel Leaf
  • Release Date : 2008-12-30
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307536600


The Last Mission Book Description :

In 1944, as World War II is raging across Europe, fifteen-year-old Jack Raab dreams of being a hero. Leaving New York City, his family, and his boyhood behind, Jack uses a false I.D. and lies his way into the U.S. Air Force. From their base in England, he and his crew fly twenty-four treacherous bombing missions over occupied Europe. The war is almost over and Hitler near defeat when they fly their last mission -- a mission destined for disaster. Shot down far behind enemy lines, Jack is taken prisoner and sent to a German POW camp, where his experiences are more terrifying than anything he'd ever imagined....

The Digital Divide
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

The Digital Divide


  • Author : Mark Bauerlein
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2011-09-08
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101547526


The Digital Divide Book Description :

This definitive work on the perils and promise of the social- media revolution collects writings by today's best thinkers and cultural commentators, with an all-new introduction by Bauerlein. Twitter, Facebook, e-publishing, blogs, distance-learning and other social media raise some of the most divisive cultural questions of our time. Some see the technological breakthroughs we live with as hopeful and democratic new steps in education, information gathering, and human progress. But others are deeply concerned by the eroding of civility online, declining reading habits, withering attention spans, and the treacherous effects of 24/7 peer pressure on our young. With The Dumbest Generation, Mark Bauerlein emerged as the foremost voice against the develo...

Kensuke s Kingdom
Score: 4
From 18 Ratings

Kensuke s Kingdom


  • Author : Michael Morpurgo
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2014-04-29
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780545300131


Kensuke s Kingdom Book Description :

A spellbinding tale of survival and self-discovery from award-winning author Michael Morpurgo, who is poised for breakthrough U.S. success. When Michael's father loses his job, he buys a boat and convinces Michael and his mother to sail around the world. It's an ideal trip - even Michael's sheepdog can come along. It starts out as the perfect family adventure - until Michael is swept overboard. He's washed up on an island, where he struggles to survive. Then he discovers that he's not alone. His fellow-castaway, Kensuke, is wary of him. But when Michael's life is threatened, Kensuke slowly lets the boy into his world. The two develop a close understanding in this remote place, but the question of rescue continues to divide them....