Score: 4.5
From 2,846 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author: Daniel James Brown
  • Release Date : 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Sports & Outdoors
  • File Size: 19441611 Bytes


The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.”For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet t...

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author: Alexander Cooper
  • Release Date : 2018-02-15
  • Genre: Study Aids
  • File Size: 3031215 Bytes


A Complete Summary - The Boys in the Boat The Boys in the Boat is a novel written by Daniel James Brown. It is a story about a determined young man who was able to successfully overcome every hardship in order to become successful. The author’s style of writing is inviting and he successfully connects events from the past with those from the present. Brown catches the reader’s attention by using parallel narrative speech.   Joe Rantz is the book’s main protagonist. Throughout his life, Joe suffered a lot. Despite his previous bad experiences, Joe is a perfect example of human determination, persistence and resolution. Joe earned a gold medal at the 1936 Olympic games, which were held in Nazi Germany.   This book is also a book of less...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,754 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Sports & Recreation
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101622742


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going o...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Thorndike Press Large Print
  • Release Date : 2018-01-03
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1432850288


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

...

The Boys In The Boat
Score: 5
From 3 Ratings

The Boys In The Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2013-06-06
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781447247944


The Boys In The Boat Book Description :

Shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year, this is the bestselling story about a rowing team's quest for Olympic gold in Nazi Germany. Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler’s Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others – and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, Daniel James Brown's The Boys ...

The Boys in the Boat  Young Readers Adaptation
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat Young Readers Adaptation


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2015-09-08
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780698197596


The Boys in the Boat Young Readers Adaptation Book Description :

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler. At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation—the generation that woul...

Under a Flaming Sky
Score: 4
From 11 Ratings

Under a Flaming Sky


  • Author : Daniel Brown
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2016-02-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781493022014


Under a Flaming Sky Book Description :

On September 1, 1894 two forest fires converged on the town of Hinckley, Minnesota, trapping over 2,000 people. Daniel J. Brown recounts the events surrounding the fire in the first and only book on to chronicle the dramatic story that unfolded. Whereas Oregon's famous "Biscuit" fire in 2002 burned 350,000 acres in one week, the Hinckley fire did the same damage in five hours. The fire created its own weather, including hurricane-strength winds, bubbles of plasma-like glowing gas, and 200-foot-tall flames. In some instances, "fire whirls," or tornadoes of fire, danced out from the main body of the fire to knock down buildings and carry flaming debris into the sky. Temperatures reached 1,600 degrees Fahrenheit--the melting point of steel. As the fire ...

The Boy in the Boat

The Boy in the Boat


  • Author : Brian O'Raleigh
  • Publisher : CreateSpace
  • Release Date : 2013-10-09
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1480058904


The Boy in the Boat Book Description :

Growing up in his parent's hotel in Blackpool, Brian never knew why his family fled Ireland but he learned early to escape his father's demonic rages by slipping away from the Alexandra Private Hotel to the beach and the Kathleen R, the fishing boat that was to become his refuge and his sanctuary. At 18 years of age, running from the law in England, Brian arrives in Australia seeking to overcome a growing dependency on alcohol and the subsequent damage he is wreaking on his own life and the lives of those he loves. In a style that is both raw and compelling, The Boy in the Boat tells the riveting story of Brian's childhood, his triumph over alcoholism, his inspirational journey towards recovery, and eventually to the profound realization that he was ...

The Boy  the Boat  and the Beast

The Boy the Boat and the Beast


  • Author : Samantha M. Clark
  • Publisher : Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
  • Release Date : 2019-06-25
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781534412569


The Boy the Boat and the Beast Book Description :

“A poignant story.” —School Library Journal “An unforgettable, life-affirming tale.” —Booklist The Graveyard Book meets Hatchet in this eerie novel about a boy who is stranded on a mysterious beach, from debut author Samantha M. Clark. A boy washes up on a mysterious, seemingly uninhabited beach. Who is he? How did he get there? The boy can’t remember. When he sees a light shining over the foreboding wall of trees that surrounds the shore, he decides to follow it, in the hopes that it will lead him to answers. The boy’s journey is a struggle for survival and a search for the truth—a terrifying truth that once uncovered, will force him to face his greatest fear of all if he is to go home. This gripping adventure will have readers hoo...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,747 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2014-05-27
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143125471


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint....

Flyboys
Score: 4
From 29 Ratings

Flyboys


  • Author : James Bradley
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2003-09-30
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0759508321


Flyboys Book Description :

The classic New York Times bestselling story of heroism and sacrifice--by the author of Flags of Our Fathers, The Imperial Cruise, and The China Mirage. This acclaimed bestseller brilliantly illuminates a hidden piece of World War II history as it tells the harrowing true story of nine American airmen shot down in the Pacific. One of them, George H. W. Bush, was miraculously rescued. What happened to the other eight remained a secret for almost 60 years. After the war, the American and Japanese governments conspired to cover up the shocking truth, and not even the families of the airmen were informed of what happened to their sons. Their fate remained a mystery--until now. FLYBOYS is a tale of courage and daring, of war and death, of men and hope. It...