Score: 4.5
From 2,801 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author: Daniel James Brown
  • Release Date : 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Sports & Outdoors
  • File Size: 19441611 Bytes


The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.”For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet t...

Score: 4
From 60 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author: Instaread
  • Release Date : 2014-05-12
  • Genre: Study Aids
  • File Size: 619894 Bytes


Summary of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown | Includes Analysis   Preview: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown, is a non-fiction account of the remarkable life story of Joe Rantz. Rantz was a determined young man who overcame personal tragedy and hardship to win a gold medal at the 1936 Olympics as a member of the US rowing team. When Joe was four, his mother, Nellie, died of throat cancer. His father, Harry, went to Canada. He sent Joe to Pennsylvania to live with his Aunt Alma while his older brother, Fred, returned to college. A year later, Fred had graduated college and married Thelma. He sent for Joe to live with him and his new wife. Joe’s father r...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,754 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Sports & Recreation
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101622742


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going o...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Viking Books for Young Readers
  • Release Date : 2015
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780451475923


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

Describes the American rowing team's triumphant and unlikely win during the 1936 Olympics....

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 2 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Thorndike Press Large Print
  • Release Date : 2018-01-03
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1432850288


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

...

The Boy in the Boat

The Boy in the Boat


  • Author : Brian O'Raleigh
  • Publisher : CreateSpace
  • Release Date : 2013-10-09
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1480058904


The Boy in the Boat Book Description :

Growing up in his parent's hotel in Blackpool, Brian never knew why his family fled Ireland but he learned early to escape his father's demonic rages by slipping away from the Alexandra Private Hotel to the beach and the Kathleen R, the fishing boat that was to become his refuge and his sanctuary. At 18 years of age, running from the law in England, Brian arrives in Australia seeking to overcome a growing dependency on alcohol and the subsequent damage he is wreaking on his own life and the lives of those he loves. In a style that is both raw and compelling, The Boy in the Boat tells the riveting story of Brian's childhood, his triumph over alcoholism, his inspirational journey towards recovery, and eventually to the profound realization that he was ...

Under a Flaming Sky
Score: 4
From 11 Ratings

Under a Flaming Sky


  • Author : Daniel Brown
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2016-02-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781493022014


Under a Flaming Sky Book Description :

On September 1, 1894 two forest fires converged on the town of Hinckley, Minnesota, trapping over 2,000 people. Daniel J. Brown recounts the events surrounding the fire in the first and only book on to chronicle the dramatic story that unfolded. Whereas Oregon's famous "Biscuit" fire in 2002 burned 350,000 acres in one week, the Hinckley fire did the same damage in five hours. The fire created its own weather, including hurricane-strength winds, bubbles of plasma-like glowing gas, and 200-foot-tall flames. In some instances, "fire whirls," or tornadoes of fire, danced out from the main body of the fire to knock down buildings and carry flaming debris into the sky. Temperatures reached 1,600 degrees Fahrenheit--the melting point of steel. As the fire ...

Summary of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

Summary of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown


  • Author : Instaread
  • Publisher : Instaread
  • Release Date : 2015-09-29
  • Genre: Sports & Recreation
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 :


Summary of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown Book Description :

Summary of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown PLEASE NOTE: This is a summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. Preview: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown, is a non-fiction account of the remarkable life story of Joe Rantz. Rantz was a determined young man who overcame personal tragedy and hardship to win a gold medal at the 1936 Olympics as a member of the US rowing team. When Joe was four, his mother, Nellie, died of throat cancer. His father, Harry, went to Canada. He sent Joe to Pennsylvania to live with his Aunt Alma while his older brother, Fred, returned to college. A year later, Fred had graduated college and married Thelma. He sent for...

The Boys in the Boat
Score: 4.5
From 3,747 Ratings

The Boys in the Boat


  • Author : Daniel James Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2014-05-27
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143125471


The Boys in the Boat Book Description :

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint....

A Boy and a Bear in a Boat
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

A Boy and a Bear in a Boat


  • Author : Dave Shelton
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2013-06-06
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781448173297


A Boy and a Bear in a Boat Book Description :

A boy and a bear go to sea, equipped with a suitcase, a comic book and a ukulele. They are only travelling a short distance and it really shouldn't take long. But their journey doesn't quite go to plan . . . Faced with turbulent storms, a terrifying sea monster and the rank remains of a very dangerous sandwich, the odds are against our unlikely heroes. Will the Harriet, their trusted vessel, withstand the violent lashings of the salty waves? And will anyone ever answer their message in a bottle? Brilliantly funny and tender, this beautiful book maps the growth of a truly memorable friendship and explores how, when all else is lost, the most unexpected joys can be found....

Men of Kent

Men of Kent


  • Author : Rick Rinehart
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release Date : 2010-09-14
  • Genre: Sports & Recreation
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780762766673


Men of Kent Book Description :

Men of Kent is, first and foremost, an archetypical sports tale—a story of the improbable happening to the unlikely, unfolding against the backdrop of a turbulent era. Both an homage and a unique inside look at the fast-growing sport of rowing, it embraces the sport's history, traditions, and culture as it tells the story of ten ordinary boys and their coach from Kent, Connecticut, who found themselves in extraordinary circumstances during the spring and summer of 1972. The Kent School's 1972 crew, of which the author was a part, had a 46-0 winning streak, broke three course records, and claimed a national championship. In its final race, at the fabled Henley Royal Regatta in England—a race broadcast on television worldwide—it barely edged the ...