Code Name: Lise
Score: 4
From 83 Ratings

Code Name: Lise


  • Author: Larry Loftis
  • Release Date : 2019-01-15
  • Genre: Military
  • File Size: 12522834 Bytes


NATIONAL BESTSELLER A Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist Florida Book Awards Silver Medalist Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today! Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub “A nonfiction thriller.”—The Wall Street Journal From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in ...

The Princess Spy

The Princess Spy


  • Author: Larry Loftis
  • Release Date : 2021-02-09
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: Bytes


The international bestselling author of the “exciting, suspenseful, inspirational” (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS’s most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live “a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious” (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young...

The Devil in the White City
Score: 4
From 510 Ratings

The Devil in the White City


  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2004
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780375725609


The Devil in the White City Book Description :

An account of the Chicago World's Fair of 1893 relates the stories of two men who shaped the history of the event--architect Daniel H. Burnham, who coordinated its construction, and serial killer Herman Mudgett....

The Devil In The White City
Score: 3.5
From 6 Ratings

The Devil In The White City


  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2010-09-30
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781409044604


The Devil In The White City Book Description :

'An irresistible page-turner that reads like the most compelling, sleep defying fiction' TIME OUT One was an architect. The other a serial killer. This is the incredible story of these two men and their realization of the Chicago World's Fair of 1893, and its amazing 'White City'; one of the wonders of the world. The architect was Daniel H. Burnham, the driving force behind the White City, the massive, visionary landscape of white buildings set in a wonderland of canals and gardens. The killer was H. H. Holmes, a handsome doctor with striking blue eyes. He used the attraction of the great fair - and his own devilish charms - to lure scores of young women to their deaths. While Burnham overcame politics, infighting, personality clashes and Chicago's i...

H  H  Holmes
Score: 3.5
From 7 Ratings

H H Holmes


  • Author : Adam Selzer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2019-04-02
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781510740853


H H Holmes Book Description :

America's first and most notorious serial killer and his diabolical killing spree during the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago, now updated with a new afterword discussing Holmes' exhumation on American Ripper. H. H. Holmes: The True History of the White City Devil is the first truly comprehensive book examining the life and career of a murderer who has become one of America’s great supervillains. It reveals not only the true story but how the legend evolved, taking advantage of hundreds of primary sources that have never been examined before, including legal documents, letters, articles, and records that have been buried in archives for more than a century. Though Holmes has become just as famous now as he was in 1895, a deep analysis of contemporary m...

The Making of Zombie Wars
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

The Making of Zombie Wars


  • Author : Aleksandar Hemon
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release Date : 2015-05-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780374712532


The Making of Zombie Wars Book Description :

The seriously, seriously funny roller-coaster ride of sex and violence that Aleksandar Hemon has long promised Script idea #142: Aliens undercover as cabbies abduct the fiancée of the main character, who has to find a way to a remote planet to save her. Title: Love Trek. Script idea #185: Teenager discovers his girlfriend's beloved grandfather was a guard in a Nazi death camp. The boy's grandparents are survivors, but he's tantalizingly close to achieving deflowerment, so when a Nazi hunter arrives in town in pursuit of Grandpa, he has to distract him long enough to get laid. A riotous Holocaust comedy. Title: The Righteous Love. Script idea #196: Rock star high out of his mind freaks out during a show, runs offstage, and is lost in streets crowded ...

Dead Wake
Score: 4
From 3,889 Ratings

Dead Wake


  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Broadway Books
  • Release Date : 2015-03-10
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780553446753


Dead Wake Book Description :

#1 New York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants. The passengers were surprisingly at ease, even though Germany had declared the seas around Britain to be a war zone. For months, German U-boats had brought terror to the North Atlantic. But the Lusitania was one of the era’s great transatlantic “Greyhounds”—the fastest liner then in service—and her captain, William Thomas Turner, placed tremendous faith in the gentlemanly strictur...

Isaac s Storm
Score: 4
From 73 Ratings

Isaac s Storm


  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2011-10-19
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307874092


Isaac s Storm Book Description :

At the dawn of the twentieth century, a great confidence suffused America. Isaac Cline was one of the era's new men, a scientist who believed he knew all there was to know about the motion of clouds and the behavior of storms. The idea that a hurricane could damage the city of Galveston, Texas, where he was based, was to him preposterous, "an absurd delusion." It was 1900, a year when America felt bigger and stronger than ever before. Nothing in nature could hobble the gleaming city of Galveston, then a magical place that seemed destined to become the New York of the Gulf. That August, a strange, prolonged heat wave gripped the nation and killed scores of people in New York and Chicago. Odd things seemed to happen everywhere: A plague of crickets eng...

Thunderstruck
Score: 3
From 114 Ratings

Thunderstruck


  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Broadway Books
  • Release Date : 2006-10-24
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307351920


Thunderstruck Book Description :

A true story of love, murder, and the end of the world’s “great hush.” In Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men—Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication—whose lives intersect during one of the greatest criminal chases of all time. Set in Edwardian London and on the stormy coasts of Cornwall, Cape Cod, and Nova Scotia, Thunderstruck evokes the dynamism of those years when great shipping companies competed to build the biggest, fastest ocean liners; scientific advances dazzled the public with visions of a world transformed; and the rich outdid one another with ostentatious displays of wealth. Against this background, M...

The Content of the Form
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

The Content of the Form


  • Author : Hayden White
  • Publisher : JHU Press
  • Release Date : 1990-08-01
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0801896142


The Content of the Form Book Description :

The secret of the process by which consciousness invests history with meaning resides in "the content of the form,in the way our narrative capacities transform the present into a fulfillment of a past from which we would wish to have descended....

Death in the City of Light
Score: 3.5
From 33 Ratings

Death in the City of Light


  • Author : David King
  • Publisher : Broadway Books
  • Release Date : 2011-09-20
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307452917


Death in the City of Light Book Description :

The gripping, true story of a brutal serial killer who unleashed his own reign of terror in Nazi-Occupied Paris. As decapitated heads and dismembered body parts surfaced in the Seine, Commissaire Georges-Victor Massu, head of the Brigade Criminelle, was tasked with tracking down the elusive murderer in a twilight world of Gestapo, gangsters, resistance fighters, pimps, prostitutes, spies, and other shadowy figures of the Parisian underworld. But while trying to solve the many mysteries of the case, Massu would unravel a plot of unspeakable deviousness. The main suspect, Dr. Marcel Petiot, was a handsome, charming physician with remarkable charisma. He was the “People’s Doctor,” known for his many acts of kindness and generosity, not least in pr...

The White City
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The White City


  • Author : Alec Michod
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release Date : 2014-03-18
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781466866447


The White City Book Description :

It is the year of our lord, 1893. The crackle of electricity's first sparks, the mechanical whine of Ferris's wheel, the tinkling of crystal from the majestic city atop the hill--the sounds of a new era pervade the air as the century's last World's Fair commences in Chicago. But darkness lurks beneath the metropolis so austere it has been dubbed the White City. Strikes loom on the horizon, racism runs rampant, and a murderer unlike any America has ever seen before is on the loose, terrorizing the city. His crimes are so brutal, newspapers have christened him the Husker. Hiding behind the cloak of a city in chaos, he taunts his pursuers, littering the grounds of the fair with the corpses of children as he slips through the shadows. Dr. Elizabeth Handl...