The Glass Castle
Score: 4.5
From 3,166 Ratings

The Glass Castle


  • Author: Jeannette Walls
  • Release Date : 2006-12-15
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • File Size: 10937711 Bytes


Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts. MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world’s most gifted storytellers.The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea ...

Full Dark, No Stars
Score: 4.5
From 1,927 Ratings

Full Dark, No Stars


  • Author: Stephen King
  • Release Date : 2010-11-09
  • Genre: Short Stories
  • File Size: 9689896 Bytes


From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, four “disturbing, fascinating” (The Washington Post) novellas—including the story “1922,” a Netflix original film—that explore the dark side of human nature.“The pages practically turn themselves” (USA TODAY) in Full Dark, No Stars, an unforgettable collection centered around the theme of retribution.In “1922,” a violence awakens inside a man when his wife proposes selling off the family homestead, setting in motion a grisly train of murder and madness.In “Big Driver”, a mystery writer is brutally assaulted by a stranger along a Massachusetts back road and plots a revenge that will bring her face-to-face with another stranger: the one inside herself.In “Fair Extensi...

The Glass Castle
Score: 4.5
From 151 Ratings

The Glass Castle


  • Author : Jeannette Walls
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2006-01-02
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416544661


The Glass Castle Book Description :

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents w...

The Glass Castle
Score: 4
From 710 Ratings

The Glass Castle


  • Author : Jeannette Walls
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2006-12-15
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1416550607


The Glass Castle Book Description :

Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts. MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world’s most gifted storytellers. The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea...

The Glass Castle
Score: 4.5
From 141 Ratings

The Glass Castle


  • Author : Jeannette Walls
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2005-03-01
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780743247535


The Glass Castle Book Description :

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family....

The Glass Castle
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

The Glass Castle


  • Author : Trisha Priebe
  • Publisher : Barbour Publishing
  • Release Date : 2016-03-01
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781634097628


The Glass Castle Book Description :

You'll love joining Avery in the adventures of The Glass Castle where the setting from The Chronicles of Narnia meets the action from Alice in Wonderland. Avery dragged her three-year-old brother behind a boxwood bush and listened for footsteps in the brittle leaves. She couldn’t be sure which was louder—the person on their trail or her own heart, galloping like a stallion in her ears. With one hand over Henry’s mouth, Avery looked down at the nicest dress she owned. Not only had she torn the ruffles and destroyed the hem, but the white linen stood out in the shadowy woods, making her an easy target. If she survived this afternoon and made it home tonight—and that felt like a giant if—her father would demand to know why her dress was staine...

The Silver Star
Score: 4
From 54 Ratings

The Silver Star


  • Author : Jeannette Walls
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2013-06-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781471129100


The Silver Star Book Description :

A stunning, heartbreaking novel about an intrepid girl who challenges the injustice of the adult world - a triumph of imagination and storytelling. It is 1970. 'Bean' Holladay is twelve and her sister Liz fifteen when their artistic mother Charlotte, a woman who 'flees every place she's ever lived at the first sign of trouble', takes off to 'find herself'. She leaves the girls enough money for food to last a month or two. But when Bean gets home from school one day and sees a police car outside the house, she and Liz board a bus from California to Virginia, where their widowed Uncle Tinsley lives in the decaying antebellum mansion that has been in the family for generations. An impetuous optimist, Bean discovers who her father was and learns many sto...

The Glass Castle Sparknotes Literature Guide

The Glass Castle Sparknotes Literature Guide


  • Author : Sparknotes
  • Publisher : Spark Notes
  • Release Date : 2020-10-06
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1411480368


The Glass Castle Sparknotes Literature Guide Book Description :

Created by Harvard students for students everywhere, SparkNotes give you just what you need to succeed in school: Complete Plot Summary and Analysis Key Facts About the Work Analysis of Major Characters Themes, Motifs, and Symbols Explanation of Important Quotations Author's Historical Context Suggested Essay Topics 25-Question Review Quiz The Glass Castle features explanations of key themes, motifs, and symbols including: strength from hardship; abuse; fire; compassion vs. boundaries; the glass castle; Joshua tree. It also includes detailed analysis of these important characters: Jeannette Walls; Dad (Rex Walls); Mom (Rose Mary Walls)....

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle


  • Author : Violet Winspear
  • Publisher : Ulverscroft
  • Release Date : 1985
  • Genre: Large type books
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0708961142


The Glass Castle Book Description :

...

Half Broke Horses
Score: 4
From 30 Ratings

Half Broke Horses


  • Author : Jeannette Walls
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2009-10-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416586289


Half Broke Horses Book Description :

The author offers a novel based on the life of her grandmother, Lily Casey Smith, who learned to break horses in childhood, journeyed 500 miles on a pony as a teen to become a teacher, and ran a vast ranch in Arizona with her husband while raising two children, including Rosemary Smith Walls, portrayed in the author's acclaimed The Glass Castle....