The Lightness

The Lightness


  • Author : Emily Temple
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2020-06-16
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062905345


The Lightness Book Description :

"The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French, but its savage, glittering magic is all Emily Temple’s own." —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists A Most Anticipated Novel by Elle • WSJ. Magazine • Glamour • Bustle • Buzzfeed • The Millions • The Philadelphia Inquirer • Publishers Weekly • Literary Hub • Electric Literature • and more! A stylish, stunningly precise, and suspenseful meditation on adolescent desire, female friendship, and the female body that shimmers with rage, wit, and fierce longing—an audacious, darkly observant, and mordantly funny literary debut for fans of Emma Cline, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Jenny Offill. One year ago, the person Olivia adores most i...

The Lightness

The Lightness


  • Author : Emily Temple
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-06-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008332709


The Lightness Book Description :

‘Funny, whip-smart and transcendently wise about friendship, family, lust and love’ Jenny Offill, author of Dept. of Speculation and Weather ‘The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French’ Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists...

The Lightness

The Lightness


  • Author : Emily Temple
  • Publisher : William Morrow
  • Release Date : 2020-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0062905325


The Lightness Book Description :

"A bold, smart, hilarious new voice." -- MARY KARR "The Lightness could be the love child of Donna Tartt and Tana French, but its savage, glittering magic is all Emily Temple's own." --CHLOE BENJAMIN A stylish, stunningly precise, and suspenseful meditation on adolescent desire, female friendship, and the female body that shimmers with rage, wit, and fierce longing--an audacious, darkly observant, and mordantly funny literary debut for fans of Emma Cline, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Jenny Offill. One year ago, the person Olivia adores most in the world, her father, left home for a meditation retreat in the mountains and never returned. Yearning to make sense of his shocking departure and to escape her overbearing mother--a woman as grounded as her father i...

The Lightness of Hands

The Lightness of Hands


  • Author : Jeff Garvin
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2020-04-14
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062382917


The Lightness of Hands Book Description :

A quirky and heartfelt coming-of-age story about a teen girl with bipolar II who signs her failed magician father up to perform his legendary but failed illusion on live TV in order to make enough money to pay for the medications they need—from the author of Symptoms of Being Human. Perfect for fans of Adi Alsaid, David Arnold, and Arvin Ahmadi. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Dante is desperate for something in her life to finally go right. Her father was a famous stage magician until he attempted an epic illusion on live TV—and failed. Now Ellie lives with her dad in a beat-up RV, attending high school online and performing with him at birthday parties and bars across the Midwest to make ends meet. But when the gigs dry up, their insurance lapses, leavi...

Unbearable Lightness
Score: 4
From 38 Ratings

Unbearable Lightness


  • Author : Portia de Rossi
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2011-03-03
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781849835275


Unbearable Lightness Book Description :

"I didn't decide to become anorexic. It snuck up on me disguised as a healthy diet, a professional attitude. Although there was a certain glamour to anorexics, I didn't want to be one. I just wanted to excel in dieting. And weighing in at 80 pounds on 300 calories a day, I was the best little dieter there ever was." In scalding prose, Portia de Rossi reveals the pain and illness that haunted her for decades. She alternately starved herself and binged, putting her life in danger and lying to herself and everyone around her about the depth of her illness. From her lowest point, Portia began the painful climb back to health and happiness, ultimately falling head over heels in love with Ellen DeGeneres. In this remarkable and landmark book, she tells a s...

The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Score: 3.5
From 97 Ratings

The Unbearable Lightness of Being


  • Author : Milan Kundera
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2004-05-04
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780060597184


The Unbearable Lightness of Being Book Description :

When The Unbearable Lightness of Being was first published in English, it was hailed as "a work of the boldest mastery, originality, and richness" by critic Elizabeth Hardwick and named one of the best books of 1984 by the New York Times Book Review. It went on to win the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Fiction and quickly became an international bestseller. Twenty years later, the novel has established itself as a modern classic. To commemorate the anniversary of its first English-language publication, HarperCollins is proud to offer a special hardcover edition. A young woman in love with a man torn between his love for her and his incorrigible womanizing; one of his mistresses and her humbly faithful lover -- these are the two couples whose story ...

Unbearable Lightness
Score: 4
From 38 Ratings

Unbearable Lightness


  • Author : Portia de Rossi
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2011-03-03
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781849835275


Unbearable Lightness Book Description :

"I didn't decide to become anorexic. It snuck up on me disguised as a healthy diet, a professional attitude. Although there was a certain glamour to anorexics, I didn't want to be one. I just wanted to excel in dieting. And weighing in at 80 pounds on 300 calories a day, I was the best little dieter there ever was." In scalding prose, Portia de Rossi reveals the pain and illness that haunted her for decades. She alternately starved herself and binged, putting her life in danger and lying to herself and everyone around her about the depth of her illness. From her lowest point, Portia began the painful climb back to health and happiness, ultimately falling head over heels in love with Ellen DeGeneres. In this remarkable and landmark book, she tells a s...

The Lightness of Water and Other Stories

The Lightness of Water and Other Stories


  • Author : Rhonda Browning White
  • Publisher : Press 53
  • Release Date : 2019-10-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1950413071


The Lightness of Water and Other Stories Book Description :

Winner of the 2019 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction...

The Lightness of Being

The Lightness of Being


  • Author : Frank Wilczek
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release Date : 2009-03-25
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780786731688


The Lightness of Being Book Description :

Our understanding of nature's deepest reality has changed radically, but almost without our noticing, over the past twenty-five years. Transcending the clash of older ideas about matter and space, acclaimed physicist Frank Wilczek explains a remarkable new discovery: matter is built from almost weightless units, and pure energy is the ultimate source of mass. He calls it “The Lightness of Being.” Space is no mere container, empty and passive. It is a dynamic Grid—a modern ether— and its spontaneous activity creates and destroys particles. This new understanding of mass explains the puzzling feebleness of gravity, and a gorgeous unification of all the forces comes sharply into focus. The Lightness of Being is the first book to explore the impl...

The Unbearable Lightness of Scones
Score: 4
From 18 Ratings

The Unbearable Lightness of Scones


  • Author : Alexander McCall Smith
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2010-01-12
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 030747674X


The Unbearable Lightness of Scones Book Description :

44 SCOTLAND STREET - Book 5 The residents and neighbors of 44 Scotland Street and the city of Edinburgh come to vivid life in these gently satirical, wonderfully perceptive serial novels, featuring six-year-old Bertie, a remarkably precocious boy—just ask his mother. Featuring all the quirky characters we have come to know and love, The Unbearable Lightness of Scones, finds Bertie, the precocious six-year-old, still troubled by his rather overbearing mother, Irene, but seeking his escape in the Cub Scouts. Matthew is rising to the challenge of married life with newfound strength and resolve, while Domenica epitomizes the loneliness of the long-distance intellectual. Cyril, the gold-toothed star of the whole show, succumbs to the kind of romantic te...