God's Shadow: Sultan Selim, His Ottoman Empire, and the Making of the Modern World
Score: 4.5
From 8 Ratings

God's Shadow: Sultan Selim, His Ottoman Empire, and the Making of the Modern World


  • Author: Alan Mikhail
  • Release Date : 2020-08-18
  • Genre: Middle East
  • File Size: 61696168 Bytes


“A stunning work of global history. . . . Alan Mikhail offers a bold and thoroughly convincing new way to think about the origins of the modern world. . . . A tour de force.” —Greg GrandinLong neglected in world history, the Ottoman Empire was a hub of intellectual fervor, geopolitical power, and enlightened pluralistic rule. At the height of their authority in the sixteenth century, the Ottomans, with extraordinary military dominance and unparalleled monopolies over trade routes, controlled more territory and ruled over more people than any world power, forcing Europeans out of the Mediterranean and to the New World.Yet, despite its towering influence and centrality to the rise of our modern world, the Ottoman Empire’s history has for centur...

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things


  • Author: Jacqueline Firkins
  • Release Date : 2019-12-17
  • Genre: Romance
  • File Size: 6434158 Bytes


In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.    Mansfield, Massachusetts, is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburban mothers and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. She’s got her own plans, and they don’t include any prince charming.   But as she dives into schoolwork and getting a scholarship for college, Edie finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys strumming for her attention: First, there’s Sebas...

The Making of the West  Combined Volume

The Making of the West Combined Volume


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2012-01-04
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780312672683


The Making of the West Combined Volume Book Description :

Students of Western civilization need more than facts. They need to understand the cross-cultural, global exchanges that shaped Western history; to be able to draw connections between the social, cultural, political, economic, and intellectual happenings in a given era; and to see the West not as a fixed region, but a living, evolving construct. These needs have long been central to The Making of the West. The book’s chronological narrative emphasizes the wide variety of peoples and cultures that created Western civilization and places them together in a common context, enabling students to witness the unfolding of Western history, understand change over time, and recognize fundamental relationships. Read the preface....

The Making of the West

The Making of the West


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Bedford/st Martins
  • Release Date : 2009-11-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0312620985


The Making of the West Book Description :

...

The Making of the West  Volume C  Since 1740

The Making of the West Volume C Since 1740


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Bedford/St. Martin's
  • Release Date : 2008-02-20
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0312465106


The Making of the West Volume C Since 1740 Book Description :

The Making of the West offers a geographically and culturally expansive conception of the West that prepares students to understand today’s globalized world. Its integrated chronological narrative makes the impact of historical developments clear by highlighting the interconnections among the politics, people, and ideas of a specific period. From the book’s conception, the authors — a team of renowned scholars and expert teachers — have worked to provide a new vision of the West based on cutting-edge scholarship. The narrative — enhanced by a rich and informative art and map program — distills the latest research and consistently treats topics underserved in other books: the West in global perspective, high and popular art and culture, an...

Making of the West  A Concise History  Volume I

Making of the West A Concise History Volume I


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Bedford/St. Martin's
  • Release Date : 2013-01-17
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 031267273X


Making of the West A Concise History Volume I Book Description :

With a chronological narrative that offers a truly global context, The Making of the West: A Concise History tells the story of the cross-cultural exchanges that have shaped Western history. This author-abridged version of the parent text offers the flexibility of a brief book along with a full-color map and art program and comprehensive supplement options, including a free sourcebook. The result is a brief book that, in addition to being an excellent price, is an excellent value....

The Making of the West  A Concise History  Volume II

The Making of the West A Concise History Volume II


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2010-07-26
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780312585785


The Making of the West A Concise History Volume II Book Description :

The Making of the West is a story of interactions — cross-cultural exchanges that span the globe, as well as the ongoing interactions between societies, cultures, governments, economies, religions, and ideas. To highlight these interactions and help students grasp the vital connections between political, social, and cultural events, The Making of the West: A Concise History presents a comprehensive picture of each historical era within a brief chronological narrative. The book also situates Europe within a truly global context, facilitating students’ understanding of the events that have shaped their own times. A full-color map and art program deepen students’ understanding of the narrative....

Making of the West  Volume II  Since 1500

Making of the West Volume II Since 1500


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2012-01-04
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780312672713


Making of the West Volume II Since 1500 Book Description :

Students of Western civilization need more than facts. They need to understand the cross-cultural, global exchanges that shaped Western history; to be able to draw connections between the social, cultural, political, economic, and intellectual happenings in a given era; and to see the West not as a fixed region, but a living, evolving construct. These needs have long been central to The Making of the West. The book’s chronological narrative emphasizes the wide variety of peoples and cultures that created Western civilization and places them together in a common context, enabling students to witness the unfolding of Western history, understand change over time, and recognize fundamental relationships....

The Making of the West  Volume 1

The Making of the West Volume 1


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan Higher Education
  • Release Date : 2015-09-23
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781319021535


The Making of the West Volume 1 Book Description :

The Making of the West features a chronological narrative that offers a truly global context and tells the story of the cross-cultural exchanges that have shaped western history. This brief book includes a full-color map and art program and comprehensive supplement options. The result is a brief book that is an excellent price and an outstanding value....

The Making of the West

The Making of the West


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Bedford/st Martins
  • Release Date : 2008-02-22
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0312482388


The Making of the West Book Description :

...

Making of the West  Volume I  To 1750

Making of the West Volume I To 1750


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan Higher Education
  • Release Date : 2012-02-01
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781457605482


Making of the West Volume I To 1750 Book Description :

Students of Western civilization need more than facts. They need to understand the cross-cultural, global exchanges that shaped Western history; to be able to draw connections between the social, cultural, political, economic, and intellectual happenings in a given era; and to see the West not as a fixed region, but a living, evolving construct. These needs have long been central to The Making of the West. The book’s chronological narrative emphasizes the wide variety of peoples and cultures that created Western civilization and places them together in a common context, enabling students to witness the unfolding of Western history, understand change over time, and recognize fundamental relationships....

The Making of the West  Combined Volume

The Making of the West Combined Volume


  • Author : Lynn Hunt
  • Publisher : Macmillan Higher Education
  • Release Date : 2018-09-21
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781319103699


The Making of the West Combined Volume Book Description :

The Making of the West features a chronological narrative that offers a truly global context and tells the story of the cross-cultural exchanges that have shaped western history. This brief book includes a full-color map and art program and comprehensive supplement options. The result is a brief book that is an excellent price and an outstanding value....