The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon  Escape to the Riviera for this summer s most irresistible read

The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon Escape to the Riviera for this summer s most irresistible read


  • Author : Sarah Steele
  • Publisher : Headline
  • Release Date : 2020-08-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781472270085


The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon Escape to the Riviera for this summer s most irresistible read Book Description :

'I was gripped, desperate to solve the mystery of Nancy Moon' Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author of THE CACTUS 'Wonderful. This book is a joy' Katie Fforde, Sunday Times bestselling author 'A gorgeous, tender debut' Kate Riordan, author of THE HEATWAVE 'Moving, hopeful and heartfelt' Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of THE LIBRARY AT THE EDGE OF THE WORLD To unravel that long-lost summer, she had to follow the thread... Florence Connelly is broken hearted. Her marriage has collapsed under the weight of the loss she shares with her husband, and her beloved grandmother has just died. Even the joy she found in dressmaking is gone. But things change when Flo opens a box of vintage 1960s dress patterns found inside her grandmother's wardrobe. In...

An Absolute Scandal
Score: 4
From 4 Ratings

An Absolute Scandal


  • Author : Penny Vincenzi
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2008-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385526968


An Absolute Scandal Book Description :

An inside view of the greed and social power plays behind the closed doors of upper-crust society, An Absolute Scandal looks at a world where money isn't everything . . . sometimes, it's the only thing. And when the money disappears in the thick of a financial crisis, the real story begins.For Nigel Cowper, this means the destruction of his family business; his wife, Lucinda, is willing to do everything she can to help him—except give up her irresistible lover. The powerful, charismatic banker Simon Beaumont and his equally successful wife Elizabeth lose everything they've worked so hard to acquire; but the ultimate tragedy is something that neither one could have anticipated. Yet the well-to-do are not the only ones whose lives are upended: a self...

The Tiger in the House
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Tiger in the House


  • Author : Jacqueline Sheehan
  • Publisher : Kensington Books
  • Release Date : 2017-03-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781617738999


The Tiger in the House Book Description :

“The Tiger in the House is teeming with excitement and heart-stirring emotion. A natural storyteller, Sheehan will draw you in with her finely crafted characters and hold you tight until the very end.” —Heather Gudenkauf Love and resentment, fear and hope intersect for two sisters as their desire to help an abandoned child forces them to face their past and decide their future . . . Delia Lamont has had it. Though she loves her job at Portland, Maine’s child services agency, its frustrations have left her feeling burned out and restless. She’s ready to join her carefree sister Juniper and start a seaside bakery, celebrating and serving life’s sweetness for a change. Then the call comes: a five-year-old girl has been found at the side of t...

Death of an Avid Reader
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

Death of an Avid Reader


  • Author : Frances Brody
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2016-09-13
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781466875708


Death of an Avid Reader Book Description :

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make Death of an Avid Reader an absorbing 6th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. The Search for a Daughter Lady Coulton gave up the baby that would have ruined her marriage, born when Lord Coulton was abroad. Now that her husband is dying, she asks Kate to find Sophia. A Haunted Library It is forty years since the ghost of a dead librarian haunted the old library, yet the stories have begun again. Kate does not believe in ghosts but obligingly takes part in a ceremony to expel the restless spirit. Shockingly, there is a body in the basement, strangled, and covered in ...

C est La Folie
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

C est La Folie


  • Author : Michael Wright
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2011-02-28
  • Genre: Travel
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781446422052


C est La Folie Book Description :

One day in late summer, Michael Wright gave up his comfortable South London existence and, with only his long-suffering cat for company, set out to begin a new life. His destination was 'La Folie', a dilapidated 15th century farmhouse in need of love and renovation in the heart of rural France... Inspired by the success of his column in the Daily Telegraph about La Folie, this book is his winningly honest account of his struggle to fulfil a childhood dream and become a Real Man - to make the journey from social townie to rugged, solitary paysan. And in chronicling his enthusiastic attempts at looking after livestock and coming to terms with the concept of living Abroad Alone, the author discovers what it takes to be a man at the beginning of the 21st...

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free
Score: 4
From 4 Ratings

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free


  • Author : Andrew Miller
  • Publisher : Sceptre
  • Release Date : 2018-08-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781444784671


Now We Shall Be Entirely Free Book Description :

* WINNER OF THE HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE * * SHORTLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE * The rapturously acclaimed new novel by the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, hailed as 'excellent', 'gripping', 'as suspenseful as any thriller', 'engrossing', 'moving' and 'magnificent'. One rainswept winter's night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain. Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind. He will not - cannot - talk about the war or face the memory of what took place on the retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he lights out instead for the Hebrides, unaware that he has far wor...

The Library at the Edge of the World
Score: 3
From 14 Ratings

The Library at the Edge of the World


  • Author : Felicity Hayes-McCoy
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-11-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062663733


The Library at the Edge of the World Book Description :

November 2017 LibraryReads Pick In the bestselling tradition of Fannie Flagg and Jenny Colgan comes Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s U.S. debut about a local librarian who must find a way to rebuild her community and her own life in this touching, enchanting novel set on Ireland’s stunning West Coast. As she drives her mobile library van between villages of Ireland’s West Coast, Hanna Casey tries not to think about a lot of things. Like the sophisticated lifestyle she abandoned after finding her English barrister husband in bed with another woman. Or that she’s back in Lissbeg, the rural Irish town she walked away from in her teens, living in the back bedroom of her overbearing mother’s retirement bungalow. Or, worse yet, her nagging fear that, as th...

Summer at Hope Haven

Summer at Hope Haven


  • Author : Kristin Harper
  • Publisher : Bookouture
  • Release Date : 2020-08-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781838887223


Summer at Hope Haven Book Description :

Making her way up the cedar-lined driveway, tears fill her eyes at the sight of the cottage’s faded trim and peeling turquoise shutters. Taking a deep breath, she grasps the heart-shaped iron door handle and steps inside the once-happy childhood home she’s been avoiding. It is time to face up to the past… When Emily’s fiancé walks out on her while she’s still grieving the loss of her family in a terrible accident, she escapes back to Hope Haven on the remote Dune Island, where her family vacationed every summer. Emily hopes that fixing up the house will also mend her broken heart, but the cottage holds more than just bittersweet childhood memories. Emptying her father’s antique writing desk, Emily finds a letter that reveals a devastatin...

The Spring Madness of Mr Sermon
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Spring Madness of Mr Sermon


  • Author : R. F. Delderfield
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2012-09-13
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781444739978


The Spring Madness of Mr Sermon Book Description :

It happened on the second day of the summer term. Was it caused by the smell of lilac, the droning of the bees, or the French incense which Lane-Perkins had set alight? Nobody knew, but that spring afternoon following a heated exchange with a pupil, Sebastian Sermon, a forty-nine-year-old schoolmaster, experiences a brainstorm. Dissatisfied with his life, he leaves his job, wife and children, and takes to the road. In the months that follow, Sebastian discovers that excitement and romance are not only for the young. He does things he has never done before and finds that he has talents which no one, least of all himself, had ever suspected . . ....

The Lake
Score: 2
From 6 Ratings

The Lake


  • Author : Richard Laymon
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2012-06-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780755391806


The Lake Book Description :

Don't go down to the lake, where the past and the present threaten to collide... In Richard Laymon's riveting horror The Lake, a mother and daughter are united in a nightmare of danger and terror. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. 'White-hot pacing (with) rivers of blood... memorable evocation of the fathomless mystery of the moonlit hours' - Publishers Weekly Leigh is young, rebellious and beautiful - and she yearns for a summer of excitement by the lake. Maybe she'll find it in the arms of the handsome boy who rows her out to the abandoned beach house. Or maybe she'll stumble into a legacy of terror which will shatter her life... Eighteen years on, Deana has no knowledge of her mother's troubled past and not that much interest. She ...