Score: 4
From 7 Ratings

The Secrets of Saffron Hall


  • Author: Clare Marchant
  • Release Date : 2020-08-06
  • Genre: Historical
  • File Size: 2367445 Bytes


Two women. Five centuries apart.One life-changing secret about to be unearthed…1538New bride Eleanor impresses her husband by growing saffron, a spice more valuable than gold. His reputation in Henry VIII’s court soars – but fame and fortune come at a price, for the king’s favor will not last forever…2019When Amber discovers an ancient book in her grandfather’s home at Saffron Hall, the contents reveal a dark secret from the past. As she investigates, so unravels a forgotten tragic story and a truth that lies much closer to home than she could have imagined…An enchanting historical novel about love and hope in dangerous times, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir.‘Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of ...

The Secrets of Saffron Hall

The Secrets of Saffron Hall


  • Author : Clare Marchant
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-08-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008406288


The Secrets of Saffron Hall Book Description :

Two women. Five centuries apart. One life-changing secret about to be unearthed......

Secrets of Saffron
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

Secrets of Saffron


  • Author : Pat Willard
  • Publisher : Beacon Press
  • Release Date : 2002-04-11
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0807050091


Secrets of Saffron Book Description :

There are few words as evocative as saffron. Over thousands of years it has perfumed the halls of Crete's palaces, made Cleopatra more alluring, and driven crusaders and German peasants to their deaths. While spices that drove adventurers to the ends of the earth, such as cinnamon, mace, and ginger, have become commonplace, saffron remains tantalizingly exotic. Nothing more than the dried stamens of the autumn-flowering purple crocus, it might as well be fairy dust. Resistant to modern horticultural technology, the fragile blossoms must still be gathered by hand from the ancient fields of Iran, Greece, Italy, southern France, and Spain. Secrets of Saffron is the story of this extravagant rover. Guided with wit and assurance by acclaimed food writer P...

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker  The most heart warming book you   ll read this year

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker The most heart warming book you ll read this year


  • Author : Jenni Keer
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2019-01-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008309688


The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker The most heart warming book you ll read this year Book Description :

‘A charming read!’ Heidi Swain ‘A wonderful antidote to a harsh world.’ Bella Osborne ‘If there is one book that you read at the start of 2019, please promise me it will be this.’ Karen, Netgalley reviewer Meet Lucy, aged 25, and Brenda, aged 79. Neighbours, and unlikely friends....

The Love Child
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Love Child


  • Author : Rachel Hore
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2020-01-09
  • Genre: Adoptees
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1471157008


The Love Child Book Description :

The UNMISSABLE brand new novel from Rachel Hore, Sunday Times bestselling author of LAST LETTER HOME, a 2018 Richard and Judy Book club pick 'A gorgeous and deeply absorbing story' TRACY REES A young mother's sacrifice. A child's desperate search for the truth . . . London, 1917 When nineteen-year-old Alice Copeman becomes pregnant, she is forced by her father and stepmother to give up the baby. She simply cannot be allowed to bring shame upon her family. But all Alice can think about is the small, kitten-like child she gave away, and she mourns the father, a young soldier, so beloved, who will never have the chance to know his daughter. Edith and Philip Burns, a childless couple, yearn for a child of their own. When they secretly adopt a baby girl, ...

The Forgotten Sister
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Forgotten Sister


  • Author : Nicola Cornick
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release Date : 2020-11-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781488076527


The Forgotten Sister Book Description :

In the tradition of the spellbinding historical novels of Philippa Gregory and Kate Morton comes a stunning story based on a real-life Tudor mystery, of a curse that echoes through the centuries and shapes two women’s destinies… 1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape—one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries… Present Day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected...

East End Angels
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

East End Angels


  • Author : Rosie Hendry
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2017-07-13
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780751566802


East End Angels Book Description :

Only true friendship will see them through the Blitz . . . Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew Strong-willed Winnie loves being part of the crew at Station Seventy-Five, but her parents are less than happy. She has managed to avoid their pleas to join the WRENS so far, but when a tragedy hits too close to home she finds herself wondering if she's cut out for this life after all. Former housemaid Bella was forced to leave the place she loved and it's taken her a while to find somewhere else to call home. She's finally starting to build a new life, but when the air raids begin it seems she may have to start over once again. East-Ender Frankie's sense of loyalty keeps her tied to home so it's not easy fo...

Tears of the Dragon

Tears of the Dragon


  • Author : Jean Moran
  • Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
  • Release Date : 2019-07-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781788542548


Tears of the Dragon Book Description :

A sweeping, exotic historical saga for fans of Dinah Jefferies. One sultry evening in Kowloon, Dr Rowena Rossiter and Sister Alice Huntley are off-duty and in search of fun – little knowing that their world is on the brink of collapse. That night, Rowena will meet two men who will fight for her heart for the next four years. Connor O'Connor, the rebellious Irish soldier, who will woo and then lose her, and Kim Pheloung. Immensely rich and the most beautiful man Rowena has ever seen, he is also the most ruthless, with a sinister need possess and control. When the Japanese invasion leaves this previously strong and independent woman raped and broken, who will succeed in claiming Rowena's body and soul? And will she ever learn to love the child born o...

The Love Solution
Score: 1
From 3 Ratings

The Love Solution


  • Author : Ashley Croft
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2019-08-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008294878


The Love Solution Book Description :

Sometimes, you just have chemistry......

Horace and the Haggis Hunter

Horace and the Haggis Hunter


  • Author : Sally Magnusson
  • Publisher : Black & White Pub Limited
  • Release Date : 2012
  • Genre: Haggis
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1845024362


Horace and the Haggis Hunter Book Description :

Horace the Haggis, homeless and hunted, finds refuge among the animals of Acre Valley. But Angus McPhee, chief of the haggis-hunters, and his deadly cat are out to trap him. Can a flower-eating fox, a loyal mouse, a gossipy rook, two magpies on Twitter and the bumbling efforts of the Mole Patrol help Horace escape?...

The Secret of the Chateau
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Secret of the Chateau


  • Author : Kathleen McGurl
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-05-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008380472


The Secret of the Chateau Book Description :

The USA Today bestseller! Everything is about to change......