The Secrets of Saffron Hall
Score: 4.5
From 24 Ratings

The Secrets of Saffron Hall


  • Author: Clare Marchant
  • Release Date : 2020-08-06
  • Genre: Historical
  • File Size: 2367445 Bytes


Two women. Five centuries apart.One life-changing secret about to be unearthed…1538New bride Eleanor impresses her husband by growing saffron, a spice more valuable than gold. His reputation in Henry VIII’s court soars – but fame and fortune come at a price, for the king’s favor will not last forever…2019When Amber discovers an ancient book in her grandfather’s home at Saffron Hall, the contents reveal a dark secret from the past. As she investigates, so unravels a forgotten tragic story and a truth that lies much closer to home than she could have imagined…An enchanting historical novel about love and hope in dangerous times, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir.‘Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of ...

The Secrets of Saffron Hall

The Secrets of Saffron Hall


  • Author : Clare Marchant
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-08-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008406288


The Secrets of Saffron Hall Book Description :

Two women. Five centuries apart. One life-changing secret about to be unearthed......

Secrets of Saffron
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

Secrets of Saffron


  • Author : Pat Willard
  • Publisher : Beacon Press
  • Release Date : 2002-04-11
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0807050091


Secrets of Saffron Book Description :

There are few words as evocative as saffron. Over thousands of years it has perfumed the halls of Crete's palaces, made Cleopatra more alluring, and driven crusaders and German peasants to their deaths. While spices that drove adventurers to the ends of the earth, such as cinnamon, mace, and ginger, have become commonplace, saffron remains tantalizingly exotic. Nothing more than the dried stamens of the autumn-flowering purple crocus, it might as well be fairy dust. Resistant to modern horticultural technology, the fragile blossoms must still be gathered by hand from the ancient fields of Iran, Greece, Italy, southern France, and Spain. Secrets of Saffron is the story of this extravagant rover. Guided with wit and assurance by acclaimed food writer P...

The Secret Kiss of Darkness  Choc Lit
Score: 3
From 1 Ratings

The Secret Kiss of Darkness Choc Lit


  • Author : Christina Courtenay
  • Publisher : Choc Lit
  • Release Date : 2014-01-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781781890691


The Secret Kiss of Darkness Choc Lit Book Description :

Must forbidden love end in heartbreak? Kayla Sinclair knows she’s in big trouble when she almost bankrupts herself to buy a life-size portrait of a mysterious eighteenth century man at an auction. Jago Kerswell, innkeeper and smuggler, knows there is danger in those stolen moments with Lady Eliza Marcombe, but he’ll take any risk to be with her. Over two centuries separate Kayla and Jago, but, when Kayla’s jealous fiancé presents her with an ultimatum, and Jago and Eliza’s affair is tragically discovered, their lives become inextricably linked thanks to a gypsy’s spell. Kayla finds herself on a quest that could heal the past, but what she cannot foresee is the danger in her own future. Will Kayla find heartache or happiness? Christina Cour...

The Forgotten Sister
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Forgotten Sister


  • Author : Nicola Cornick
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release Date : 2020-11-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781488076527


The Forgotten Sister Book Description :

In the tradition of the spellbinding historical novels of Philippa Gregory and Kate Morton comes a stunning story based on a real-life Tudor mystery, of a curse that echoes through the centuries and shapes two women’s destinies… 1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape—one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries… Present Day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected...

Horace and the Haggis Hunter

Horace and the Haggis Hunter


  • Author : Sally Magnusson
  • Publisher : Black & White Pub Limited
  • Release Date : 2012
  • Genre: Haggis
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1845024362


Horace and the Haggis Hunter Book Description :

Horace the Haggis, homeless and hunted, finds refuge among the animals of Acre Valley. But Angus McPhee, chief of the haggis-hunters, and his deadly cat are out to trap him. Can a flower-eating fox, a loyal mouse, a gossipy rook, two magpies on Twitter and the bumbling efforts of the Mole Patrol help Horace escape?...

Tears of the Dragon

Tears of the Dragon


  • Author : Jean Moran
  • Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
  • Release Date : 2019-07-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781788542548


Tears of the Dragon Book Description :

A sweeping, exotic historical saga for fans of Dinah Jefferies. One sultry evening in Kowloon, Dr Rowena Rossiter and Sister Alice Huntley are off-duty and in search of fun – little knowing that their world is on the brink of collapse. That night, Rowena will meet two men who will fight for her heart for the next four years. Connor O'Connor, the rebellious Irish soldier, who will woo and then lose her, and Kim Pheloung. Immensely rich and the most beautiful man Rowena has ever seen, he is also the most ruthless, with a sinister need possess and control. When the Japanese invasion leaves this previously strong and independent woman raped and broken, who will succeed in claiming Rowena's body and soul? And will she ever learn to love the child born o...

The Secret of the Chateau
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Secret of the Chateau


  • Author : Kathleen McGurl
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release Date : 2020-05-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780008380472


The Secret of the Chateau Book Description :

The USA Today bestseller! Everything is about to change......

The Little Book of Calm

The Little Book of Calm


  • Author : Aaron Balick
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2018-01-18
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473552111


The Little Book of Calm Book Description :

The Little Book of Calm has the magic formula for anxiety This definitive book, written by a clinical psychotherapist, who regularly appears on CBBC and BBC Radio 1, offers techniques, advice and inspiration on the best and most effective ways to manage anxiety. From exercises to help you put your worries into perspective, to relaxation methods for when anxiety attacks, Dr Aaron Balick shows you how to feel more at ease and sustain a sense of calm...

Promise of Pleasure
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

Promise of Pleasure


  • Author : Cheryl Holt
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2010-04-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101404386


Promise of Pleasure Book Description :

Secret desires. Forbidden fruit. Untapped passion. No sooner does Mary Barnes, yet to be touched by a man, drink a secret elixir than a handsome and mysterious stranger walks into her life. But Mary wonders if the scoundrel's growing passion is the result of just a love tonic, or the real thing....

The Golden Maid

The Golden Maid


  • Author : Evie Grace
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2020-08-20
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473573567


The Golden Maid Book Description :

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE GRIPPING SMUGGLER'S DAUGHTERS TRILOGY! Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Poldark. ______________________ Deal, Kent, 1812 Eighteen-year-old Winnie Lennicker yearns for a peaceful life as a respectable married woman. However, when she becomes involved in her family's free-trading operations and caught by the Revenue, she is sent before the magistrates. Forced to confess that she is with child, now more than ever, Winnie is determined to give up smuggling. But the only way she can support herself and her unborn child is to carry on. An opportunity presents itself to carry despatches on behalf of British agents and spies, and gold for Wellington's army. Needing the money, Winnie can’t afford to refuse, but the journey across ...