Score: 4.5
From 634 Ratings

The Vanishing Half


  • Author: Brit Bennett
  • Release Date : 2020-06-02
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
  • File Size: 1457466 Bytes


#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! “Bennett’s tone and style recalls James Baldwin and Jacqueline Woodson, but it’s especially reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s 1970 debut novel, The Bluest Eye.” —Kiley Reid, Wall Street Journal “A story of absolute, universal timelessness …For any era, it's an accomplished, affecting novel. For this moment, it's piercing, subtly wending its way toward questions about who we are and who we want to be….” – Entertainment Weekly From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and o...

The Vanishing Half: A Novel by Brit Bennett: Conversation Starters


  • Author: DailysBooks
  • Release Date : 2020-06-10
  • Genre: Study Aids
  • File Size: Bytes


The Vanishing Half: A Novel by Brit Bennett: Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside:    EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive,  and the characters and its world still live on.  Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into the world that lives on.    These questions can be used to create hours of conversation:   • Foster a deeper understanding of the book • Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups • Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately • Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before   Disclaimer: This b...

The Vanishing Half
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

The Vanishing Half


  • Author : Brit Bennett
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2020-06-02
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525536970


The Vanishing Half Book Description :

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! “Bennett’s tone and style recalls James Baldwin and Jacqueline Woodson, but it’s especially reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s 1970 debut novel, The Bluest Eye.” —Kiley Reid, Wall Street Journal “This is sure to be one of 2020’s best and boldest . . . Bennett’s next masterpiece is a triumph of character-driven narrative.” —Elle From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white. The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just...

Ordinary People
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

Ordinary People


  • Author : Diana Evans
  • Publisher : Bond Street Books
  • Release Date : 2018-06-19
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385692137


Ordinary People Book Description :

Evoking the sharp insight of Little Fires Everywhere and the sweep of NW, an incisive portrait of the bliss and torment of domestic love. Hailed as "one of the most thrilling writers at work today" (Huffington Post), Diana Evans reaches new heights with her searing depiction of two couples struggling through a year of marital crisis. In a crooked house in South London, Melissa feels increasingly that she's defined solely by motherhood, while Michael mourns the former thrill of their romance. In the suburbs, Stephanie's aspirations for bliss on the commuter belt, coupled with her white middle-class upbringing, compound Damian's itch for a bigger life catalyzed by the death of his activist father. Longtime friends from the years when passion seemed per...

LaRose
Score: 4
From 31 Ratings

LaRose


  • Author : Louise Erdrich
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2016-05-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062277046


LaRose Book Description :

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction Finalist for the 2017 PEN Faulkner Award In this literary masterwork, Louise Erdrich, the bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning The Round House and the Pulitzer Prize nominee The Plague of Doves wields her breathtaking narrative magic in an emotionally haunting contemporary tale of a tragic accident, a demand for justice, and a profound act of atonement with ancient roots in Native American culture. North Dakota, late summer, 1999. Landreaux Iron stalks a deer along the edge of the property bordering his own. He shoots with easy confidence—but when the buck springs away, Landreaux realizes he’s hit something else, a blur he saw as he squeezed the trigger. When he staggers...

Future Home of the Living God
Score: 3.5
From 30 Ratings

Future Home of the Living God


  • Author : Louise Erdrich
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-11-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062694072


Future Home of the Living God Book Description :

A New York Times Notable Book of 2017 Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for her life and her unborn child against oppressive forces that manifest in the wake of a cataclysmic event. The world as we know it is ending. Evolution has reversed itself, affecting every living creature on earth. Science cannot stop the world from running backwards, as woman after woman gives birth to infants that appear to be primitive species of humans. Twenty-six-year-old Cedar Hawk Songmaker, adopted daughter of a pair of big-hearted, open-minded Minneapolis liberals, is as disturbed and uncertain as the rest of America around her. But for...

Fight of the Century
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Fight of the Century


  • Author : Viet Thanh Nguyen
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2020-01-21
  • Genre: Literary Collections
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501190421


Fight of the Century Book Description :

To mark its 100-year anniversary, the American Civil Liberties Union partners with award-winning authors Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman to bring together many of our greatest living writers, each contributing an original piece inspired by a historic ACLU case. On January 19, 1920, a small group of idealists and visionaries, including Helen Keller, Jane Addams, Roger Baldwin, and Crystal Eastman, founded the American Civil Liberties Union. A century after its creation, the ACLU remains the nation’s premier defender of the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Constitution. In collaboration with the ACLU, authors Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman have curated an anthology of essays about landmark cases in the organization’s one-hundred-year hist...

The Vanished Birds
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

The Vanished Birds


  • Author : Simon Jimenez
  • Publisher : Del Rey
  • Release Date : 2020-01-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780593128992


The Vanished Birds Book Description :

A mysterious child lands in the care of a solitary woman, changing both of their lives forever, in this captivating debut of connection across space and time. “The best of what science fiction can be: a thought-provoking, heartrending story about the choices that define our lives.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) A solitary ship captain, drifting through time. Nia Imani is a woman out of place. Traveling through the stars condenses decades into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for everyone she has ever known. Her friends and lovers have aged past her. She lives only for the next paycheck, until the day she meets a mysterious boy, fallen from the sky. A mute child, burdened with unimaginable power. The scar...

The Vanishing
Score: 3
From 1 Ratings

The Vanishing


  • Author : Sophia Tobin
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2017-01-12
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781471151637


The Vanishing Book Description :

'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing … as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on. One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night’ Stylist On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape. Already a Sunday Times...

The Dark Half

The Dark Half


  • Author : Stephen King
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2016-01-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501141140


The Dark Half Book Description :

Set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine A “wondrously frightening” (Publishers Weekly) tale of terror and #1 national bestseller about a writer’s pseudonym that comes alive and destroys everyone on the path that leads to the man who created him. Thad Beaumont is a writer, and for a dozen years he has secretly published violent bestsellers under the name of George Stark. But Thad is a healthier and happier man now, the father of infant twins, and starting to write as himself again. He no longer needs George Stark and so, with nationwide publicity, the pseudonym is retired. But George Stark won’t go willingly. And now Thad would like to say he is innocent. He’d like to say he has nothing to do with the twisted imagination that produce...

The Vanishing Season
Score: 3
From 6 Ratings

The Vanishing Season


  • Author : Jodi Lynn Anderson
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-07-01
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062239174


The Vanishing Season Book Description :

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a haunting and lovely small-town romance, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson. When Maggie’s parents move them from bustling Chicago to small, rundown Door County, Wisconsin, she thinks she’ll spend a year reading classics and killing time until college. That plan changes as soon as she meets Pauline and Liam. Soon the three are inseparable, stretching out the love between two childhood best friends to fit over all of them and all their grand dreams. But what starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from each new tragedy. And as the dynamics between Maggie, Pauline, and Liam shift and c...

The End of October
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

The End of October


  • Author : Lawrence Wright
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release Date : 2020
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525658658


The End of October Book Description :

"In this propulsive medical thriller--from the Pulitzer Prize winner and best-selling author--Dr. Henry Parsons, an unlikely but appealing hero, races to find the origins and cure of a mysterious new killer virus as it brings the world to its knees. At an internment camp in Indonesia, within one week, forty-seven people are pronounced dead with acute hemorrhagic fever. When the microbiologist and epidemiologist Henry Parsons travels there on behalf of the World Health Organization to investigate, what he finds will soon have staggering repercussions across the globe: an infected man is on his way to join the millions of worshippers in the annual Hajj to Mecca. Now, Henry joins forces with a Saudi doctor and prince in an attempt to quarantine the enti...