Score: 4
From 93 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author: Shalini Boland
  • Release Date : 2020-09-09
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 3837605 Bytes


Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what… It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. Then, there was a blank. They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterwards. Did something happen in that missing time? Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their ten-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel whe...

Score: 4
From 848 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author: Alafair Burke
  • Release Date : 2018-01-23
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • File Size: 1799285 Bytes


"This year's Gone Girl."—Harlan CobenA Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018His ScandalHer SecretFrom New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned...

The Wife
Score: 3.5
From 25 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Meg Wolitzer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2007-11-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1416584889


The Wife Book Description :

Now a major motion picture starring Glenn Close in her Golden Globe–winning role! One of bestselling author Meg Wolitzer’s most beloved books—an “acerbically funny” (Entertainment Weekly) and “intelligent…portrait of deception” (The New York Times). The Wife is the story of the long and stormy marriage between a world-famous novelist, Joe Castleman, and his wife Joan, and the secret they’ve kept for decades. The novel opens just as Joe is about to receive a prestigious international award, The Helsinki Prize, to honor his career as one of America’s preeminent novelists. Joan, who has spent forty years subjugating her own literary talents to fan the flames of his career, finally decides to stop. Important and ambitious, The Wife is...

The Wife
Score: 4
From 17 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Alafair Burke
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2018-01-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062390530


The Wife Book Description :

"This year's Gone Girl."—Harlan Coben A Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018 His Scandal Her Secret From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself. When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage t...

The Wife and the Widow
Score: 4
From 8 Ratings

The Wife and the Widow


  • Author : Christian White
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release Date : 2020-01-21
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250194381


The Wife and the Widow Book Description :

The second standalone thriller from the award-winning author of The Nowhere Child, Christian White. Set against the backdrop of an eerie island town in the dead of winter, The Wife and The Widow is an unsettling thriller told from two perspectives: Kate, a widow whose grief is compounded by what she learns about her dead husband’s secret life; and Abby, an island local whose world is turned upside when she’s forced to confront the evidence of her husband’s guilt. But nothing on this island is quite as it seems, and only when these women come together can they discover the whole story about the men in their lives. Brilliant and beguiling, The Wife and The Widow takes you to a cliff edge and asks the question: how well do we really know the peopl...

The Wife
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Sigrid Undset
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 1999
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0141181281


The Wife Book Description :

'There you can see Husaby, Kristin. May God grant you many happy days there, my wife!' The wife continues the story of a passionate and wilful woman in medieval Norway. Kristin Lavransdatter is now married to Erlend Nikulausson, a man whose single-minded determination to become an influential social and political figure forces Kristin to take over the management of Erlend's estate, Husaby, while raising their seven sons. Once again, Sigrid Undset presents the rich historical detail and compelling characters that make her Norway's most beloved author. Award-winning translator Tiina Nunnally not only captures the modern beauty of this historical epic, but she also restores passages omitted from the original English translation. 'A masterpiece . . . wri...

The Wives
Score: 3
From 14 Ratings

The Wives


  • Author : Tarryn Fisher
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release Date : 2019-12-30
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781488054358


The Wives Book Description :

An Instant Bestseller! -The New York Times -USA Today -The Globe and Mail -The Toronto Star New York Times bestselling author Tarryn Fisher delivers a pulse-pounding, fast-paced suspense novel that will leave you breathless. A thriller you won’t be able to put down! “You’ll have whiplash until the very end.”—New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover Thursday’s husband, Seth, has two other wives. She’s never met them, and she doesn’t know anything about them. She agreed to this unusual arrangement because she’s so crazy about him. But one day, she finds something. Something that tells a very different—and horrifying—story about the man she married. What follows is one of the most twisted, shocking thrillers you’ll ever r...

Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath

Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath


  • Author : Marilynn Desmond
  • Publisher : Cornell University Press
  • Release Date : 2006
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0801443792


Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath Book Description :

Ovid's Art and the Wife of Bath examines how Ovid's Ars amatoria shaped the erotic discourses of the medieval West. The Ars amatoria circulated in medieval France and England as an authoritative treatise on desire; consequently, the sexualities of the medieval West are haunted by the imperial Roman constructions of desire that emerge from Ovid's text. The Ars amatoria ironically proposes the erotic potential of violence, and this aspect of the Ars proved to be enormously influential. Ovid's discourse on erotic violence provides a script for Heloise's epistolary expression of desire for Abelard. The Roman de la Rose extends the directives of the Ars with a rhetorical flourish and poetic excess that tests the limits of Ovidian irony. While Christine de...

Chaucer  The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual

Chaucer The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual


  • Author : Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 1996-06-27
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0521565952


Chaucer The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual Book Description :

The Wife of Bath's Prologue on CD-ROM is the initial release in The Canterbury Tales on CD-ROM from Cambridge. The disk presents transcriptions, collations and digitized images of all 58 pre-1500 manuscript and print versions of Geoffrey Chaucer's famous poem - an important section of The Canterbury Tales. We provide on a single disk the material which Chaucer scholars have until now had to travel around the world to view in different libraries. The software allows sophisticated searches of all the witnesses of The Wife of Bath's Prologue simultaneously, giving scholars rapid access to a large archive of information of a kind never before realised....

The Wife

The Wife


  • Author : Anton Pavlovich Chekhov
  • Publisher : 1st World Publishing
  • Release Date : 2004-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1595400044


The Wife Book Description :

Purchase one of 1st World Library's Classic Books and help support our free internet library of downloadable eBooks. 1st World Library-Literary Society is a non-profit educational organization. Visit us online at www.1stWorldLibrary.ORG The author is well aware that whosoever discusses historical mysteries pleases the public best by being quite sure, and offering a definite and certain solution. Unluckily Science forbids, and conscience is on the same side. We verily do not know how the false Pucelle arrived at her success with the family of the true Maid; we do not know, or pretend to know, who killed Sir Edmund Berry Godfrey; or how Amy Robsart came by her death; or why the Valet was so important a prisoner. It is only possible to restate the cases...

The wife

The wife


  • Author : Wife
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1835
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : OXFORD:600002295


The wife Book Description :

...

The Wife
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Anne O. Nimmus
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release Date : 2014-12-09
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781499045550


The Wife Book Description :

This is my memoir. I know what you're thinking--what kind of an unexceptional egocentric thirty-something-year-old writes a memoir? I'll tell you--someone that had life figured out by kindergarten and, by college, was destined to take on the world with a certifiably impenetrable heart. I was religiously raised thinking that I would never ever screw things up the way my parents had, and unlike most marriages, mine really was meant to be happily forever after, that's until I realized I am really just one in six billion. We aren't so different. I am no stranger to love and fear....