To Survive on this Shore

To Survive on this Shore


  • Author : Jess T. Dugan
  • Publisher : Kehrer Verlag
  • Release Date : 2018-05
  • Genre: Gender-nonconforming people
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 3868288546


To Survive on this Shore Book Description :

Nuanced view into the complexities of aging as a transgender person...

Kafka on the Shore
Score: 4
From 196 Ratings

Kafka on the Shore


  • Author : Haruki Murakami
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2005-01-18
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1400044812


Kafka on the Shore Book Description :

Kafka on the Shore displays one of the world’s great storytellers at the peak of his powers. Here we meet a teenage boy, Kafka Tamura, who is on the run, and Nakata, an aging simpleton who is drawn to Kafka for reasons that he cannot fathom. As their paths converge, acclaimed author Haruki Murakami enfolds readers in a world where cats talk, fish fall from the sky, and spirits slip out of their bodies to make love or commit murder, in what is a truly remarkable journey....

A Gift Upon the Shore
Score: 3.5
From 15 Ratings

A Gift Upon the Shore


  • Author : M.K. Wren
  • Publisher : Diversion Books
  • Release Date : 2013-12-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781626811003


A Gift Upon the Shore Book Description :

“A poignant expression of the durability, grace, and potential of the human spirit” set in a post-nuclear dystopia where words are worth killing for (Jean M. Auel, author of the Earth’s Children series). By the late twenty-first century, civilization has nearly been destroyed by overpopulation, economic chaos, horrific disease, and a global war that brought a devastating nuclear winter. On the Oregon coast, two women—writer Mary Hope and painter Rachel Morrow—embark on an audacious project to help save future generations: the preservation of books, both their own and any they can find at nearby abandoned houses. For years, they labor in solitude. Then they encounter a young man who comes from a group of survivors in the South. They call the...

Far From Shore
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Far From Shore


  • Author : Kevin Major
  • Publisher : Groundwood Books Ltd
  • Release Date : 2004-03-01
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781554980604


Far From Shore Book Description :

Faced with instability on many sides, and living in an outport community in Newfoundland, fifteen-year-old Chris gropes for direction in a family broken apart by unemployment. Even his easy-going, humorous attitude fails to steady him as he stumbles through the summer after grade ten. He's failed his year, he can't find a summer job, and he's incredibly bored. So the first thing he heads for is trouble -- trouble that ends in a confrontation with the law. Work as a counselor at a summer camp offers the challenge of a fresh start, but it is here, amid new responsibilities, that he encounters his toughest test as a young man. Winner of the first Canadian Young Adult Book Award and named a Best Book of the Year by School Library Journal, Far from Shore ...

Close to Shore
Score: 4
From 24 Ratings

Close to Shore


  • Author : Michael Capuzzo
  • Publisher : Broadway Books
  • Release Date : 2002-06-25
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0767912543


Close to Shore Book Description :

Combining rich historical detail and a harrowing, pulse-pounding narrative, Close to Shore brilliantly re-creates the summer of 1916, when a rogue Great White shark attacked swimmers along the New Jersey shore, triggering mass hysteria and launching the most extensive shark hunt in history. In July 1916 a lone Great White left its usual deep-ocean habitat and headed in the direction of the New Jersey shoreline. There, near the towns of Beach Haven and Spring Lake--and, incredibly, a farming community eleven miles inland--the most ferocious and unpredictable of predators began a deadly rampage: the first shark attacks on swimmers in U.S. history. For Americans celebrating an astoundingly prosperous epoch, fueled by the wizardry of revolutionary invent...

Far from Shore
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Far from Shore


  • Author : Sophie Webb
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2011
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780618597291


Far from Shore Book Description :

A young field biologist on a scientific sea voyage over deep water documents the variety of sea life she encounters, observing and counting such creatures as dolphins, sea birds, whales, squid, and flying fish....

The Mercies
Score: 3
From 3 Ratings

The Mercies


  • Author : Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2020-02-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316529228


The Mercies Book Description :

After the men in an Arctic village are wiped out, the women must survive a sinister threat in this "modern day parable, perfectly told" (Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author). Finnmark, Norway, 1617. Twenty-year-old Maren Magnusdatter stands on the craggy coast, watching the sea break into a sudden and reckless storm. Forty fishermen, including her brother and father, are drowned and left broken on the rocks below. With the menfolk wiped out, the women of the tiny Arctic town of Vardø must fend for themselves. Three years later, a stranger arrives on their shore. Absalom Cornet comes from Scotland, where he burned witches in the northern isles. He brings with him his young Norwegian wife, Ursa, who is both heady with her husband's aut...

Reaching The Shore

Reaching The Shore


  • Author : Bonnie Jane Hall
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2019
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0578540444


Reaching The Shore Book Description :

Story about a young man's journey through prison and his extraordinary heroism of using his difficult circumstances to propel him into a quest for personal growth and personal enlightenment. Readers come away realizing no matter how hard life is, they can overcome the obstacles and be transformed in the process....

The Shooting of Nancy Howard

The Shooting of Nancy Howard


  • Author : Alice Mathews
  • Publisher : Dog Ear Publishing
  • Release Date : 2017-05-15
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781457554605


The Shooting of Nancy Howard Book Description :

Nancy Howard’s story combines love, betrayal, conspiracy, suffering, and survival with a cast of improbable characters: a respected church-going husband and his mistress, a group of unsavory criminals, and a millionaire businessman. The story opens with Nancy’s returning home from a church function on a Saturday night in 2012, and pulling into her garage. As she walks toward the door to her house, she suddenly faces an attacker who demands her purse and then shoots her in the head. Investigation of the shooting first reveals that Nancy’s husband, Frank, has been having a three-year affair. A few days later, detectives uncover links between her CPA husband and an unsavory criminal in East Texas, Billie Earl Johnson. The story becomes increasingl...

Something in the Water
Score: 3.5
From 56 Ratings

Something in the Water


  • Author : Catherine Steadman
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release Date : 2020-06-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781984820532


Something in the Water Book Description :

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. "A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It's the perfect beach read!"--Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick) NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY GLAMOUR AND NEWSWEEK * FINALIST FOR THE ITW THRILLER AWARD If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately i...