Warriors Don t Cry
Score: 4
From 31 Ratings

Warriors Don t Cry


  • Author : Melba Beals
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2007-07-24
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416948827


Warriors Don t Cry Book Description :

The author describes the threats and emotional abuse she endured from white student and adults along with her fears of endangering her family as she commited to being one of the first African American students to integrate Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1957....

Warriors Don t Cry
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

Warriors Don t Cry


  • Author : Melba Pattillo Beals
  • Publisher : Tantor eBooks
  • Release Date : 2011-10-03
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781618030429


Warriors Don t Cry Book Description :

The landmark 1954 Supreme Court ruling, Brown v. Board of Education, brought the promise of integration to Little Rock, Arkansas, but it was hard-won for the nine black teenagers chosen to integrate Central High School in 1957. They ran a gauntlet flanked by a rampaging mob and a heavily armed Arkansas National Guard—opposition so intense that soldiers from the elite 101st Airborne Division were called in to restore order. For Melba Beals and her eight friends those steps marked their transformation into reluctant warriors—on a battlefield that helped shape the civil rights movement. Warriors Don't Cry, drawn from Melba Beals's personal diaries, is a riveting true account of her junior year at Central High—one filled with telephone threats, bri...

Melba Pattillo Beals   Warriors don t cry

Melba Pattillo Beals Warriors don t cry


  • Author : Elisabeth Kuster
  • Publisher : GRIN Verlag
  • Release Date : 2011-11-29
  • Genre: Foreign Language Study
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9783656070467


Melba Pattillo Beals Warriors don t cry Book Description :

Seminar paper from the year 2008 in the subject English - Pedagogy, Didactics, Literature Studies, grade: 2, University of Innsbruck, language: English, abstract: I am writing this paper for a course at university, which is called “The Struggle is Always There: The Tradition of Black American Protest”. My paper focuses on one particular event of the American Civil Rights Movement (1955 – 1968), which is the school integration in Little Rock, Arkansas, after the Brown vs. Board of Education decision. Besides some minor sources, this paper is mainly based on the book by Melba Pattillo Beals Warriors don’t cry, which is a true story of a 15 year old black girl from Little Rock, who was among the first Afro-American students to integrate the city...

White is a State of Mind

White is a State of Mind


  • Author : Melba Beals
  • Publisher : Putnam Publishing Group
  • Release Date : 1999
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015053398502


White is a State of Mind Book Description :

The author continues her story of the events following the integration of the Little Rock schools and describes her journey toward forgiveness...

March Forward  Girl
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

March Forward Girl


  • Author : Melba Pattillo Beals
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2018-01-02
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781328919151


March Forward Girl Book Description :

From the legendary civil rights activist and author of the million-copy selling Warriors Don't Cry comes an ardent and profound childhood memoir of growing up while facing adversity in the Jim Crow South. Long before she was one of the Little Rock Nine, Melba Pattillo Beals was a warrior. Frustrated by the laws that kept African-Americans separate but very much unequal to whites, she had questions. Why couldn’t she drink from a "whites only" fountain? Why couldn’t she feel safe beyond home—or even within the walls of church? Adults all told her: Hold your tongue. Be patient. Know your place. But Beals had the heart of a fighter—and the knowledge that her true place was a free one. Combined with emotive drawings and photos, this memoir paints ...

Warriors Dont Cry
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

Warriors Dont Cry


  • Author : Ian Campbell
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2004-01-01
  • Genre: Jacobite Rebellion, 1745-1746
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 1904754473


Warriors Dont Cry Book Description :

...

The Long Shadow of Little Rock
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Long Shadow of Little Rock


  • Author : Daisy Bates
  • Publisher : University of Arkansas Press
  • Release Date : 2014-08-01
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781610752473


The Long Shadow of Little Rock Book Description :

At an event honoring Daisy Bates as 1990’s Distinguished Citizen then-governor Bill Clinton called her "the most distinguished Arkansas citizen of all time." Her classic account of the 1957 Little Rock School Crisis, The Long Shadow of Little Rock, couldn't be found on most bookstore shelves in 1962 and was banned throughout the South. In 1988, after the University of Arkansas Press reprinted it, it won an American Book Award. On September 3, 1957, Gov. Orval Faubus called out the National Guard to surround all-white Central High School and prevent the entry of nine black students, challenging the Supreme Court's 1954 order to integrate all public schools. On September 25, Daisy Bates, an official of the NAACP in Arkansas, led the nine children int...

Way of the Peaceful Warrior
Score: 3.5
From 31 Ratings

Way of the Peaceful Warrior


  • Author : Dan Millman
  • Publisher : H J Kramer
  • Release Date : 2000
  • Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780915811892


Way of the Peaceful Warrior Book Description :

Presents the author's personal account of his spiritual quest to unite the diverse realms of body, mind, and spirit by combining Eastern philosophy with Western fitness routines to become an example of the peaceful warrior....

Children Of The City
Score: 3
From 1 Ratings

Children Of The City


  • Author : David Nasaw
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2012-05-16
  • Genre: History
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307816627


Children Of The City Book Description :

The turn of the twentieth century was a time of explosive growth for American cities, a time of nascent hopes and apparently limitless possibilities. In Children of the City, David Nasaw re-creates this period in our social history from the vantage point of the children who grew up then. Drawing on hundreds of memoirs, autobiographies, oral histories and unpublished—and until now unexamined—primary source materials from cities across the country, he provides us with a warm and eloquent portrait of these children, their families, their daily lives, their fears, and their dreams. Illustrated with 68 photographs from the period, many never before published, Children of the City offers a vibrant portrait of a time when our cities and our grandparents...

I ve Been Meaning to Tell You
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

I ve Been Meaning to Tell You


  • Author : David Chariandy
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release Date : 2018-05-29
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771018084


I ve Been Meaning to Tell You Book Description :

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. David is the son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, and he draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indentu...