Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition

Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition


  • Author : Delia Owens
  • Publisher : G.P. Putnam's Sons
  • Release Date : 2019-10-22
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780593187982


Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition Book Description :

#1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick With over three million copies sold, "a painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature" (The New York Times Book Review), now available as a beautiful, deluxe edition that will make the perfect holiday gift--or treat for yourself. "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called ...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Score: 4
From 165 Ratings

Where the Crawdads Sing


  • Author : Delia Owens
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735219113


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Description :

#1 New York Times Bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick "I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon "Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review "Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved...

Whiskey in a Teacup
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Whiskey in a Teacup


  • Author : Reese Witherspoon
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2018-09-18
  • Genre: Cooking
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501166280


Whiskey in a Teacup Book Description :

Academy Award–winning actress, producer, and entrepreneur Reese Witherspoon invites you into her world, where she infuses the southern style, parties, and traditions she loves with contemporary flair and charm. Reese Witherspoon’s grandmother Dorothea always said that a combination of beauty and strength made southern women “whiskey in a teacup.” We may be delicate and ornamental on the outside, she said, but inside we’re strong and fiery. Reese’s southern heritage informs her whole life, and she loves sharing the joys of southern living with practically everyone she meets. She takes the South wherever she goes with bluegrass, big holiday parties, and plenty of Dorothea’s fried chicken. It’s reflected in how she entertains, decorates ...

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth
Score: 4
From 27 Ratings

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth


  • Author : Christopher Scotton
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release Date : 2015-01-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781455551934


The Secret Wisdom of the Earth Book Description :

"A marvelous debut...has everything a big, thick novel should have, and I hated to put it down." - John Grisham "A page-turner." - New York Times Book Review For readers of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, this is a dramatic and deeply moving novel about an act of violence in a small Appalachian town and the repercussions that will forever change a young man's view of human cruelty and compassion. After seeing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, fourteen-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this town of Medgar, Kentucky, a peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries an...

We the Animals
Score: 3.5
From 39 Ratings

We the Animals


  • Author : Justin Torres
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2011-08-30
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780547577005


We the Animals Book Description :

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE In this groundbreaking debut, Justin Torres plunges us into the chaotic heart of one family, the intense bonds of three brothers, and the mythic effects of this fierce love on the people we must become. "We the Animals is a dark jewel of a book. It’s heartbreaking. It’s beautiful. It resembles no other book I’ve read.”—Michael Cunningham "A miracle in concentrated pages, you are going to read it again and again." —Dorothy Allison "Rumbles with lyric dynamite . . . Torres is a savage new talent." —Benjamin Percy, Esquire "A fiery ode to boyhood . . . A welterweight champ of a book." —NPR, Weekend Edition "A tremendously gifted writer whose highly personal voice should excite us in much the same way that Raymo...

The Line That Held Us
Score: 4
From 7 Ratings

The Line That Held Us


  • Author : David Joy
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780399574238


The Line That Held Us Book Description :

From critically acclaimed author David Joy comes a remarkable novel about the cover-up of an accidental death, and the dark consequences that reverberate through the lives of four people who will never be the same again. When Darl Moody went hunting after a monster buck he's chased for years, he never expected he'd accidentally shoot a man digging ginseng. Worse yet, he's killed a Brewer, a family notorious for vengeance and violence. With nowhere to turn, Darl calls on the help of the only man he knows will answer, his best friend, Calvin Hooper. But when Dwayne Brewer comes looking for his missing brother and stumbles onto a blood trail leading straight back to Darl and Calvin, a nightmare of revenge rips apart their world. The Line That Held Us is...

Sounds Like Titanic  A Memoir
Score: 3.5
From 12 Ratings

Sounds Like Titanic A Memoir


  • Author : Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release Date : 2019-02-12
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780393651652


Sounds Like Titanic A Memoir Book Description :

A young woman leaves Appalachia for life as a classical musician—or so she thinks. When aspiring violinist Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman lands a job with a professional ensemble in New York City, she imagines she has achieved her lifelong dream. But the ensemble proves to be a sham. When the group “performs,” the microphones are never on. Instead, the music blares from a CD. The mastermind behind this scheme is a peculiar and mysterious figure known as The Composer, who is gaslighting his audiences with music that sounds suspiciously like the Titanic movie soundtrack. On tour with his chaotic ensemble, Hindman spirals into crises of identity and disillusionment as she “plays” for audiences genuinely moved by the performance, unable to differe...

Loving Frank
Score: 3.5
From 134 Ratings

Loving Frank


  • Author : Nancy Horan
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release Date : 2007-08-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0345502256


Loving Frank Book Description :

I have been standing on the side of life, watching it float by. I want to swim in the river. I want to feel the current. So writes Mamah Borthwick Cheney in her diary as she struggles to justify her clandestine love affair with Frank Lloyd Wright. Four years earlier, in 1903, Mamah and her husband, Edwin, had commissioned the renowned architect to design a new home for them. During the construction of the house, a powerful attraction developed between Mamah and Frank, and in time the lovers, each married with children, embarked on a course that would shock Chicago society and forever change their lives. In this ambitious debut novel, fact and fiction blend together brilliantly. While scholars have largely relegated Mamah to a footnote in the life of ...

The Age of Anxiety

The Age of Anxiety


  • Author : Pete Townshend
  • Publisher : Hachette Books
  • Release Date : 2019-11-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316398978


The Age of Anxiety Book Description :

In his debut novel, rock legend Pete Townshend explores the anxiety of modern life and madness in a story that stretches across two generations of a London family, their lovers, collaborators, and friends. A former rock star disappears on the Cumberland moors. When his wife finds him, she discovers he has become a hermit and a painter of apocalyptic visions. An art dealer has drug-induced visions of demonic faces swirling in a bedstead and soon his wife disappears, nowhere to be found. A beautiful Irish girl, who has stabbed her father to death is determined to seduce her best friend's husband. A young composer begins to experience aural hallucinations, expressions of the fear and anxiety of the people of London. He constructs a maze in his back gard...

Cry of the Kalahari
Score: 4
From 9 Ratings

Cry of the Kalahari


  • Author : Mark Owens
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 1984
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0395647800


Cry of the Kalahari Book Description :

This account of the author's seven-year stay in Africa's Kalahari wilderness covers their adventures of survival, their contact with curious and dangerous animals, and the establishment of their conservation research project...